We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning rooms and location”
Review of Ca' Sagredo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We booked this hotel following a trip on the Orient Express for my mum's 60th birthday.
A challenge for it to live up to but it perfectly continued the themes of amazing ambience, careful attention and perfect location. Could not be better, right on the Grand Canal opposite the market so you really experience the heart of Venice from your room.
Drinks on the terrace in the March sun were a treat.
Rooms are expensive but are even better than expected with everything you need and want.
The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and attentive. The concierge recommended a great "back street, non touristy" restaurant. My Italian was not quite fluent enough for some of the newer reception staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday-doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our trip on the Orient Express from London to Venice.
We unreservedly recommend it.

Reception staff are really friendly and gave good advice on sensibly priced 'real italian' places to eat. They held our cases whilst we had a 2 day trip to Rome and when we returned they were already placed back in our room waiting for us. Very efficient.

The location is excellent, right on the Grand Canal and the rooms we had had glorious views along the canal. It is right by the Ca Doro vaporetti (Water bus) pontoon stop, so its very convenient to get to the railway station and other parts of Venice and the lagoon without paying water taxi prices.
There were small balconies where we could stand to watch all the vibrant canal traffic with gondolas crossing the canal right below us for a half a Euros and all the boats delivering to the colourful fish & veg market on the otherside of the canal.

The rooms were amazing (We had suite 203 and rooms 104, 105) all with great views along the canal, large modern showers... lots of space, flat screen TV's, safe, trays of chocolate strawberries to welcome us...
The hotel is beautiful classic italian architecture and decor inside but nicely, newly refurbished to a very high spec. and sparkling clean, gorgeous staircases and painted murals and ceilings, a real pleasure to stay in.
Breakfast was good with a big selection of cereals, juices, pastries, bacon, scrambled egg and smoked salmon. Breakfast service staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We had lunch at the Hotel on the boardwalk patio by the canal, it catches the sunshine and you can sit outside and really enjoy the canal side atmosphere, the service and food were brilliant. But be careful about ordering the 'cold coffee'... its just 'cold coffee'.

This was a super choice to stay in Venice and we would definitely stay here again.. and again.. and again

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Live-Life-To-The-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I went to Venice for my 40th birthday. It was very cold and raining but a sight to behold.I stayed at this Hotel and the booking was easy.All the female reception staff were charming but the men indifferent.The male concierge on duty at night couldn't recommend us a restauarant ! We found an amazingly charming wine bar about 5 mins walk in the street behind the hotel near the biggish supermarket , he had never head of it.We had a suite which was nice but not reallya suite and nothing special for the price.The hotel is like a museum sure but an empty one with no atmosphere.The reception hall is unwelcoming.Their restaurant for the middle aged in search of a heavy meal , no bar,lounge etc. Breakfast in a high ceilinged room ...food nothing special and taped classical music. Not much fun really ! Very expensive.Quiet but they are really missing out on a great opportunity with this lovely building which they must have renovated at high cost.It needs to develop a heart and soul .It could deliver a bit more on the breakfast front all a bit amateur.I wouldn't recommend it and I am not sure who would like it maybe on my 60th birthday ! Well situated in a nice quiet part of town with some lovely views.Beds comfy but it does pertain to be 5 star !

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank HonorBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ca Sagredo last October, from the 14th to the 16th, booked as a surprise for my Birthday, and immediately fell in love with its palatial splendour and location. We had never been to Venice before and my husband found the hotel on Tripadvisor and was impressed with most of the reviews.

The hotel was totally in keeping with what we wanted for a special, romantic short break and could not have been better situated - right on the Grand Canal, opposite the Rialto Market, next to the Ca D'Oro and around the corner from the Rialto Bridge, but away from the crowds around St Mark's Square. Having arrived by private water taxi from the airport - the BEST way to travel, James Bond style! - we were warmly met at Ca Sagredo's own landing stage. The staff were very professional and courteous and as we had arrived before 2pm, we were shown to the outside Terrace for morning coffee. The sun duly emerged from behind the clouds and the view of the Canal, market and passing boats of all descriptions, was fabulous.

We had booked a Grand Canal Passage two night package directly with the hotel, which included a Prestige Double Room with Grand Canal view, a half hour Gondola Ride and Afternoon Tea. You can imagine our faces when we were shown to our room, which turned out to be an upgrade to one of their top two Suites - Suite Count Sagredo. The room was huge, beautiful decorated with period furnishings and antiques, its own hallway and massive marble bathroom with twin sinks and separate bath and power shower cubicle. There was also not one, but THREE stone balconies overlooking the Grand Canal! I don't think I stopped squealing with delight for half an hour and could have kissed the Bell Boy! Drawing the heavy drapes at the windows, throwing open the shutters and standing on each of the three balconies in turn in the sunshine, listening to the church bells literally bought tears of wonder to my eyes!

The hotel has both a grand and intimate feel, with palatial public rooms and breathtaking paintings and frescos. We enjoyed a wonderful first night dinner in the Hotel's own Restaurant, with highly attentive staff. The Soave wine was like nectar and, just before dessert, the lights suddenly went out and the waiter appeared with a candelit Birthday cake and complimentary pastries, which was a lovely, personal touch. Breakfast was more than adequate, with an array of tempting hot and cold dishes to choose from, and lovely staff.

As with previous reviews, our only complaints were minor and did not ruin our stay in any way. There was some confusion and delay over the delivery of our welcoming bottle of prosecco and chocolate dipped strawberries, together with our Gondola voucher; we were not given a preliminary guided tour of the public rooms before we were shown to our room (which so many reviewers seem to have had), and the Restaurant was a little lacking in atmosphere. With the curtains drawn, it was slightly too brightly lit and the adjoining "Lounge Bar", is small and more like an extension of the Restaurant, rather than a welcoming and casual place to sit, with fine views. In contrast, the Breakfast Room and adjoining rooms on the first floor are more impressive and have a wonderful Venetian feel about them.

Overall, we could not have stayed in a more luxurious room, and even the sound of the passing vaporettos at night through the open shutters added to the experience of staying on a working Canal in the middle of a magical City. The sun shone for us during our entire stay, the proximity of the Traghetto stop right next to the hotel was wonderful, as we could zip back and forth across the Canal for 50 cents each way, and our Gondola ride at sunset was the icing on the cake. Contrary to some reviews, we found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful at all times and I can't wait to return one day. Ca Sagredo is not cheap but is worth every penny and, compared with its larger five star competitors, I would choose Ca Sagredo every time. Not only for its history and location, but also for its stunning beauty and warmth.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlisonFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have just returned from 5 magical days in Venice staying at Ca'Segrado Hotel on the Grand Canal. This relatively new hotel (only 11 months old) is really a 15th century palazzo that had previously been used as office space. From the courteous, helpful and enthusiastic staff to the incredible rooms with original stone and decor to the sumptious breakfasts served beneath master original murals and frescoes this place is FANTASTIC. You truly feel like you are the honored guest of Venetian nobility. You are dwarfed by the amazing artwork and enormous public rooms. The hotel is located right next to a Vaporetto stop and the Tragetto(probably the best kept secret to an inexpensive gondola ride across the canal..how does 50 cents sound?) The first night there we awoke at 3AM, wide awake from the time change. We were hungry and called down to the front desk for a suggestion. The front desk staff opened the restaurant just for us, brewed us tea and served us with a plate of cookies and pastries and did it all with a smile and graciousness. I have never had that experience in any other 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in.
Of course a place like this has wonderful linens and amenities.
I hestitate to write this review for fear the Ca' Segrado will become so popular that I won't be able to book a reservation in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I spent a few weeks researching where to stay during our first visit to Venice (5 nights in March). We wanted to stay somewhere memorable – luxurious and prototypically Venice. I began with what most of thef guidebooks considered to be the best hotels (Gritti, Danieli, Luna) but the reviews here on Tripadvisor were very critical of these properties. Luckily an auction package through Luxurylink.com or the Ca’Sagredo caught my attention; it seemed to fit the bill perfectly. I bid on the package, was the only bidder, and purchased 4 nights in a “Water View Prestige Double” (including breakfast, and a welcome bottle of prosecco & strawberries) for $972 US. This was an absolute steal given that the hotel’s website rate for this room was 450 Euros per night, and the best rate I could find elsewhere was through Expedia for $525 US per night!

Since we were arriving late we didn’t want to spend an additional 450 Euros for an extra night at the Ca’Sagredo, so we stayed at the Hilton Molino Stucky (another bargain through Priceline, and a fine hotel as well). The next day we took the Hilton's shuttle to San Marco, then a short vaporetto ride to the Ca D'Oro stop to check in at the Ca'Sagredo. I was impressed by how "democratic" the vaporetto is. It was filled with backpacking students, businessmen, tourists, and designer-clad fashionistas alike. My best experience with public transportation ever!

The hotel is in the Cannaregio neighbourhood, which apparently is the most residential area in Venice proper. There are lots of terrific restaurants patronized by Venetians (and not tourists being offered “tourist menus” at exorbitant prices). It may seem removed from the hustle and bustle (and that’s probably a good thing), but we walked everywhere. After a day or two the area becomes familiar and you can find your way to San Marco, the Rialto or wherever in no time at all!

Upon our arrival, the Ca'Sagredo took our breath away; it's unlike any other placed we've ever stayed (very much like a boutique hotel dropped, seamlessly, into a museum!) Our bags were taken from us as soon as we entered the lobby (the bellman politely insisted on taking even our handheld bags), and the check-in process was handled quickly and efficiently.

The office manager gave us a detailed guided tour of the building. His commentary was very informed and interesting, and we were immediately impressed by the sheer scale and grandeur of the place. The murals by Tiepolo and the trompe l’oeil in the ballroom are particularly noteworthy. I think it’s a great thing that the hotel obviously tried very hard not to tread on the “footprint” of the original building too much. There were fresh flowers in all the public rooms, and any staff we passed smiled and offered a polite “Buongiorno” -a terrific introduction to our home for the week!

We were then shown to our room – 106, with a view down the Grand Canal. The first thing we did was pull back the curtains and open the leaded casement windows to drink in the view. Breathtaking! The room was very luxuriously appointed, and there was a bottle of prosecco and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us (along with a "welcome" note from the manager). This was exactly the type of accommodation we'd been hoping for. It felt very "Venetian," but unlike the criticisms we'd read of the Gritti & Danieli, everything was in pristine condition. The Frette linens on the bed were a delight to slip between each night.

The bathroom was not as large as the one in our room at the Hilton, but it was encased in marble and very well appointed. The towels and bathrobes were fluffy, and the toiletries were of a high quality (Gilchrist & Soames). It was nice to have CNN on the flat screen television while shaving and brushing our teeth each morning.

Turndown service was a nice touch each night. The maid would leave chocolates and a room service breakfast menu on the pillow, replace any used towels in the bathroom, close the exterior shutters and draw the curtains. Because the room is on the canal you can hear some noise in the morning as the area comes to life, but it was not a problem for us. The shutters, three layers of drapery and upholstered walls worked quite well at muffling the sounds.

We ate breakfast each morning under a Tiepolo ceiling, and sometimes took our cappuccino (delicious) out onto the stone balcony overlooking the Grand Canal. How much more atmosphere could one ask for? It was the same buffet each day, and while not as varied as those at other 5 star hotels we’ve stayed at, it was still satisfying. The only disappointment was the lack of freshly squeezed orange juice. The juices offered were obviously from a concentrate. Service was pleasant and efficient.

On our last night we had drinks in the small lounge and dinner at L’Alcova, the hotel’s restaurant. I imagine in the summer these rooms would be very appealing with the windows open to allow the sounds of the canal to float in. There is also a terrace on which tables are set up during the warmer weather. On that particular night, however, it was quite cold out, so the windows were closed and the draperies drawn to keep the patrons comfortable and the attention focused on the food and your company. We enjoyed traditional Venetian spritzes, which were served with complimentary hors d’oeuvres. Then we moved to our table in the intimate dining room, where we were served complimentary prosecco. We both ordered the four course chef’s menu, and it was an excellent choice: an amuse bouche of succulent shrimp wrapped with the most delicate rice pasta; a delicious pasta course of baby shrimp in a tomato and basil sauce; grilled sea bass; and a gorgeous dessert platter. The meal included a bottle of Venetian wine, and when we finished that, the waiter brought us another complimentary half-bottle of another variety. I can’t say enough about the service during that meal – truly outstanding. Don’t be put off by the dining room’s small size or a lack of patrons - that dinner was a highlight of our trip!

The next morning we had a 7 AM flight to catch, so they arranged for us to have a light breakfast in the restaurant at 4:30 AM before catching a 5 AM vaporetto to the airport. I just assumed we would eat after we got to the departure lounge – how nice that the hotel offered to cater to our schedule without our even having to ask!

The staff could not do enough for us during our stay, and it was a joy to return to the hotel after a day of sightseeing. Everyone we dealt with was warm, friendly, efficient and extremely professional. I must make special mention of Sylvia, who went above and beyond in assisting us in a variety of situations: arranging for tickets to a Vivaldi concert, booking us on the Doge’s Palace secret itinerary tour, helping locate a suitcase left on the vaporetto, translating when there was a problem using a bank card at a local instant teller. She is a terrific asset to the hotel!

So if you are searching for a very special hotel in Venice, one that captures all the romance and history of the city but does not compromise on quality of accommodations or service, the Ca’Sagredo is the perfect choice. Rest assured, there was no smell of “sewage” the week we were there; there most definitely is an elegant, refined, subdued atmosphere throughout the hotel; there ARE vantage points from which to view the Grand Canal (both from inside and from terraces and balconies outside); and there’s nothing “haunted” about a hotel that so lovingly and meticulously embraces its past role as a palazzo home to Venetian nobility.

What a privilege to stay in such a special place! The Ca’Sagredo deserves every one of its five stars. We are already looking forward to planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Beyond_YXU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

After reading such wonderful reviews about this hotel I have to wonder if I stayed at the right place. I was terribly disappointed with our stay here - maybe because I had such high expectations. Yes the hotel is housed in an old palace but thats where the romanticsm ends. We found the hotel to be so cold, uninviing with just big empty rooms that have so much potential but are simply wasted. We were there in the middle of carnival and there was never a soul to be seen. I felt like I was in a haunted house. You wouldnt know you were on the Grand Canal as there are no decent viewing points or doors leading out onto any balcony. I envisaged a sumptuous breakfast being served on a balcony somewhere but it was in a cold, too-brightly-lit back-room with no atmospehere whatsoever. There was never anyone in the downstairs "restaurant" - a white-walled, brightly-lit, closed-in, square room with the ambience of...I dont know what. Our room was a corner "Suite" - isnt a suite meant to have more than just a room with a bed in it? The fake floorboards with a large mat thrown over the top nearly killed us each day as everything was so slippery and we kept tripping on the mat. There were 2 single-standing chairs in the room that were always in the way and completely unneccesary - I nearly threw them out the window just to make some space. The bathroom was really very small with the (totally unecessary) bidet right as you walk in such that the door wouldnt open all the way. What little bench space there was, was taken up with a TV screen - who's going to watch TV on the loo? It was all very disappointing and not what I was expecting. On the up-side it has its own water-taxi landing right at the front door which helped getting to and from the balls in big costumes but that was about it. And no-one seems to have the guts to say it so I'll be the first. The entire building reeks of the usual Venice sewerage stench. I know its a problem too hard to fix but you cant consider yourself 5-star when the smell hits you every time you walk in the door. If you want luxury, dont stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,701 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,625 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 387 in Venice
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#68 of 387 in Venice
963 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Sagredo Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 | Ca' D'Oro, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $224 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca' Sagredo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing