We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot in Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceano Mare B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceano Mare B&B
Ranked #64 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great Spot in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

we stayed in this fabulous B&B for 2 nights. It was great. the best part of the B&B was the service provided by the host Giovanni, very helpful and very kind. He picked us from the stop and gave us many tips on travlling around the place. He kept enquiring about our stay, if we are comfortable etc, which was not the case when we stayed at a rome B&B.
This B&B is in a quite area, comfortable and clean.
Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    38
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
98
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The B&B is located in a very quiet area of Venice and only 5minutes from San Marco square. The building is a real Venetian house and the owner, Nicola, was very helpful: he also provided tips and guidances for the best places to be in the city. The breakfast is good and we felt very safe and confortable since the very first second we step in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monicamasRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in this B&B which is located away from the horrendous crowds of S.Marco next to the Arsenale in a charismatic quiet residential area & convenient for the ferries to the southern islands & Bienale gardens. It was a real pleasure to hang out in the neighbourhood & wander through the labarynthine narrow streets of Castello, & a great pleasure to meet Nicola, who takes obvious pride in providing a very high level of customer care for a modest operation. As mentioned in other reviews coffee is available all day as is a selection of useful guide books and maps, all of which Nicola will make time to talk you through. Our room was small, but well furnished & kept clean & proved a welcome break from the high temperatures. Nicola is a great host & genuinely hysterical conversationalist who makes you feel like you're visiting an old friend. All is all it was sad to have to leave & I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPawlowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

it is only B+B but it was realy good, clean and very obliging. i would recommend it to all tourist. and also Nicola, the owner, is very helpful and a good guide. it was a fantastic experience to live in a typical Venetian house. nice nice nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank nael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last minute decision to vist Venice for 4 nights(back 2 days ago), can't believe our luck in finding this great little B&B. First, Nicola the owner is a wonderful host. he sent clear instructions and regular communications about travelling from the airport( Alilaguna Blue Line) then met us at the stop and showed us to the B&B, pointing out landmarks to help us find our way through a maze of tiny streets.He made sure we had a drink and a map before leaving us to settle in. Our room was at the back and quite small but was spotlessly clean and quiet with very comfortable beds and plentiful clean towels(changed regularly).The air conditioning was effective and the mini bar basic but the cheapest we've ever had. The location is approx 10-15mins walk from St Marks square,in a very old part of Venice,it had a very local feel. Breakfast was simple, plentiful and fresh, typical continental with unlimited access to tea/coffee at all times. Nicola was very helpful with advice on getting around,places to visit and eat, all in all it felt like staying with a friend rather than in a hotel. We had a great stay and would certainly return.If you like local, simple and homely this is for you but you will need toilettries/own hairdryer might be a bonus if you use it lots.After reading other comments, we also visited the Lido and enjoyed a relaxing, different side of Venice for an afternoon but were advised that the water isn't very clean in August. We recommend taking the waterbus no.1 along the Grand Canal early morningfor a great view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Close to the centre of Venice, but far enough away from tourists. Good value for money, and a nice modern looking B&B. A warm, friendly host, who was keen to give advice on where to go.
A nice spread was laid out for breakfast, with a coffee machine available all day.
There are some church bells that go off frequently, which might annoy some. Personally didn't bother me.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibbytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I would give this B&B a 4.5 rating if I could. My husband and I stayed in the Occhi di Mare room on the third floor for 6 nights: double bed, ensuite bath (shower only), facing away from the main street. Bed was comfortable, A/C worked well, great shower, room cleaned daily and good simple breakfast daily (with fruit) provided. We loved having the tea/coffee/hot cocoa machine at our disposable at all times! Nicola was a funny and hospitable host with lots of great stories and recommendations to share. The bar at the nearby campo had refreshing spritz for 1,80 euros (vs. 2-4 euros elsewhere). Location-wise, not the most central area but we preferred to be away from the main tourist drags. Note: wifi signal in our room was a little spotty and bathrooms don't include any toiletries. Over all, we had a comfortable stay at Oceano Mare and would not hesitate to make it our "home" when we return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor may have stronger wifi signal. Family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ememef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
San Marco
Morettino
Morettino
#87 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#71 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#170 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#65 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Al Doge Beato
Residenza Al Doge Beato
#216 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Mare B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Mare B&B

Property: Oceano Mare B&B
Address: Castello - Calle Dona 2703, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceano Mare B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceano Mare B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing