We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Oceano Mare B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceano Mare B&B
Ranked #55 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Nicola made our stay very delightful! He was very helpful by meeting us at the Vaporetto, providing information about Venice, recommending excellent restaurants, and answering our MANY questions. The breakfast was very good and later in the day the coffee machine was available and some snacks. We would recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelers4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Oceano Mare B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent three nights at Oceano Mare in October with our two children (9 and 12 y.o.) and had a lovely time. Nicola came to pick us from the boat stop. He recommended various sites, routes and resturants. We stayed in a two-room suite, very clean, comfortable and quite. The brekfast was good. The recommended resturants were also very good. It was nice to see another side of Venice, while still close to the main sites. We warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in September with another couple. We can't say enough about our helpful host, Nicola. Like the other reviewers have stated, he met us near the Vaporetto stop to guide us back to his B&B. He was always there for us with our many questions about restaurants and directions. The B&B is very clean and the rooms are quite large. The bathrooms are small and tight, but this is not unusual in European accommodations. We were served a nice continental breakfast each morning in the downstairs, and we especially appreciated the excellent coffee machine which brewed many varieties including cappuccinos. The location is in a residential area, and we enjoyed some of the recommended restaurants in this area.

For Venice, this B&B was an excellent value. Thank you, Nicola, for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great value. Large rooms. Great host, Nicola.
We wil go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed with 2 other couples at Oceano Mare for 3 nights in May. We all thought that the B&B was great. Nicola really looked after us meeting us at the Vaporetto stop and making sure we found the best places to eat and go. The rooms are very clean and a good size. The location is away from the crowds and lets you see how the real locals live.
The breakfasts are really good with Nicola always bringing a cake as well as other goodies.
This is a very good B&B and for the price, is excellent for the Venice island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanWBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Me and my husband spend a weekend in May in this B&B. we celebrated our 20th anniversary. Nicola left a bottle of bellini on our room which was very nice. the location is great and quiet. breakfast is nice, the rooms are clean and very nice. Also nice with a fridge in the room. overall we would definately recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaHasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you are looking for a reasonably priced B & B with nice spacious rooms that is tucked away from the noise and tourists of Venice, but still only about a 10-15 minute walk to Saint Mark's Square, then this is the place for you! My husband spent three nights here and found it was a welcome oasis every afternoon to take a quiet nap so that we could re-charge our batteries before heading-out in the evening. We were on the top floor facing the front of the building, so we did have one of the nicest rooms. The view was of red rooftops and there was a lot of light. You could hear the church bells throughout the day, but as we were napping, it was great as you didn't have to keep checking your watch as you could just count the number of gongs to figure out if it was getting close to the time to wake-up again. The sheets and bedding were very clean and the closet and hangers were all new so there was no fear of your clothes smelling of old wood. The bathroom is small (only large enough for one person at a time), and we often showered with the door of the shower slightly open to allow for some elbow space, but it was just fine and the water pressure was perfect with nice hot water. The only con in the bathroom was that there was no shampoo or soap (only a hand soap dispenser by the sink) and no place to put your shampoo in the shower even if you had some! Breakfast was nothing out of this world, but it was sufficient. There were always at least two fresh cakes to choose from as well as yogurt, corn flakes with milk, coffee, pre-packaged croissants, and some assorted apples and apricots. A fresh pastry assortment might be nicer as well as some melon or other fresh chopped fruits, but we always had enough to eat and were satisfied when we left in the morning. I think there was Wi-Fi in the hotel, but you have to have your own computer to use it. Nicola is very nice, but make sure you pay close attention to his directions when you arrive as you might easily get lost later when you try to get back! It's not a big deal though as it's easy to get back on track and the area where this B & B is located is very beautiful and peaceful. We hardly saw any tourists in this part of Venice (which is amazing considering how close it is to the main tourist attractions), and actually saw some locals playing cards by the water. If you want a very nice, quiet spot and want to experience the "real" Venice, then this B & B is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
#92 of 471 in Venice
129 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#39 of 471 in Venice
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#110 of 471 in Venice
182 reviews
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#207 of 471 in Venice
12 reviews
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#200 of 471 in Venice
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Mare B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Mare B&B

Address: Castello - Calle Dona 2703, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceano Mare B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceano Mare B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing