We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tiny room, no air conditioning, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #101 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“tiny room, no air conditioning, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are looking for something in a perfect location, then this is the hotel for you. It was very close to almost everything including restaurants and tourist sites. Other than that, this hotel is downhill. The rooms are tiny, we had no space on the floor to put our luggage, let alone open it. We were placed on the 2nd floor, which is underground, and had a tiny window high up on the wall. The air conditioning was "broken" and we were told that the mechanic was coming to fix it (surprise!! he never did come!). It was very hot and uncomfortable to sleep in. The shower was tiny, but it did its job. The breakfast was very minimal, not much selection and in a tiny little room on the first floor. The staff is very nice.
Other than the location, this hotel doesn't have much going for it. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: the higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmAyJayAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    237
    64
    19
    8
See reviews for
108
270
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have just got back from a 2 night break in Venice and can highly recommend this little hotel. It's clean and tidy and all the staff were so warm and welcoming. I had contacted the hotel prior to our visit as it was a birthday treat for my husband and Sarah and Amber were quick with their responses and more than happy to arrange for a bottle of Prosecco to be in the room on arrival. We stayed in Room 108 which is a corner room so great view over the little bridge and canal below. Yes it was noisy in the morning because of the daily deliveries which are unloaded outside but to us it was all part of the experience of being in a city. If you want peace and quiet stay in the country! Plus we spent 99% of our time exploring Venice rather than being in our room. As other reviewers have mentioned it is 5 minutes from the Rialto bridge and 10 minutes from St Mark's square so in a perfect location. The breakfast was great (all self service) and we had no problems getting a table although the breakfast room could do with being a bit bigger. But given that breakfast is available from 8 - 10am you have got two hours in which to eat something. We found that most people (including ourselves) were only sitting down for 15-20 minutes so you didn't have to wait too long to get a table. If you're on a budget and want a convenient base to explore Venice with fantastic, friendly staff then you can't go far wrong with the Alla Fava.

Room Tip: If you want a room overlooking the canal and bridge outside then ask for room 108. If you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is a good standard, basic b&b good for a few days in Venice...
Major plus points were it's very central location (close to the Rialto bridge, meaning also close to the river buses, shops and restaurants) and friendly staff (special mention to Sara who was an absolute star! Offering advice without being promted, proper customer service that was somewhat lacking in Venice in general). Clean room, if a little small and clean communal bathroom (I went for the most basic room). Breakfast was better than expected with all sorts: croissants, bread, ham, cheese, all the bits for toast like butter, jam, honey, nutella and coffee juice and water to drink.
Downsides were that the aircon didn't work when I first got there and the room was very stuffy. Also, the breakfast area is very small considering the number of rooms and I noticed on a couple of mornings people were hanging around waiting for a place to sit and eat. Overall, if you want something. V basic, don't expect the world of it and don't want to pay a fortune. (Which you will do in Venice) then this hotel is a pretty good option

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnahowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations of a 2 star hotel.
The location was really good - a couple of minutes from the Rialto, 10 minutes from St Marks Sq and 10 minutes from the Fundamento Nove vaporetto stop for Murano.
The room (no 108) wasn't large but was big enough for a 3 night stay, was spotlessly clean and had all we required. However, please note that if you have an Iphone 5, the "charging station" doesn't have a charger for that so don't make the mistake I did and not take your own charger. The bathroom was small but again was very clean so no problem there.
The breakfast was good with everything you would expect - the apricot croissants were extremely good - enough to set you up for the day. Although the breakfast room was very small we never had a problem getting a table.
The staff (especially Sara) were welcoming, friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
I would return to this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 108 had a canal view which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytourist33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

we only paid £233 each for flights and 4 nights B & B so weren't expecting the Ritz. Very well situated only 5 minutes from Rialto vaporetto stop, quiet area with lots of restaurants around. Room on the small side, no chest of drawers so things had to stay in the case. but enough wardrobe space. free safe. Bathroom a bit cramped but all the necessary facilities and clean. Breakfast fairly good, all the usual rolls, croissants etc and cereals, toast, yoghurts, various coffees and tea. Enough to give you a good start. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a cheap break and you don't get many of those in Venice!!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet so no particular suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiorentina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

we didn't have a reservation when we reached venice, when we gpt to this hotel every thing was in just more than expected ... Sarah the receptionest was verry wellcoming and warming. she made me making the choice of taking the room, She smiles all the time and offers to help with every detail, you will have you tour guide for free with her being on the shift. Crestiano was friendly and the talkative Luca ... you will just admire him.
The room isnt very big however its homy and super clean. They have the BEST idea by having a multi universal charger, you dont need to bring your mobile charger with you if you are staying in this hotel and difinetly dont need an adaptor.

The breakfast was very good.

The location is less than one minute from rialto and five minutes from Sam Marco .. ita close to every thing you nees to see in the city of love.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_7amza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear dr_7amza,

our staff feels flattered by your comments and thanks you profusely for your kind feeback!
We are glad you had a pleasurable stay here in Venice and hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best,
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would rate this hotel higher, except the major detractor was the horrible smell coming from the bathroom. There had to be something wrong with the sewer as a gag inducing smell (something along the lines of swamp gas and rotting leaves) would permiate every article of clothing I had and was wearing. I'm not sure if the other rooms had the same issue but this one (116) was quite bad and took away from the overall experience.

The hotel itself was nice and small, all the rooms situated on one floor, tucked away in a corner of Venice quite close to Rialto Bridge. The location was ideal. 15 min walk, with luggage, from the bus station. 3 min walk from Rialto Bridge. And another 10-15 min walk (depending on how many times you get turned around in the streets), walk from St. Mark's Square. The staff are friendly and speak English very well. The morning breakfast was more than I was expecting from a place this small and was quite welcoming.

Within the room, other than the smell previously described, the bed wasn't very comfortable nor did the pillows have much give. Felt like they were filled with putty. I'm not one who needs to be surrounded by elegance or demands feather pillows, but this was enough for even me to complain. I wouldn't have mattered all that much except the weather was quite lousy, raining and cold, which meant I spent more time in the room than I normally would have. Therefore giving me more time to examine the issues in there.

Overall if you don't get this room the stay may not be so bad. The price for the stay in the location may make you want to check it out and if you do I hope you have better luck than me.

Room Tip: I would stay away from room 116, unless they fix the smell coming from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjhgillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear jjhgillam,

since the new management of Hotel Alla Fava started a year and a half ago, things were never this catastrophic. We apologize profusely for this embarassing inconvenience.
Room 116 had indeed some draining pipes problems, which we have finally managed to fix. We have to admit the smell was intolerable!

We are also sorry about pillows being a problem for you, as we are usually ready to replace them with different ones according to every guest’s subjective needs.

Nevertheless, we are glad you appreciated our breakfast, and that you were able to easily visit Venice thanks to the Hotel’s location! Our multilingual staff is always willing to help our guests make the most of their stay, and to make our surroundings as cozy and welcoming as possible.

We are very grateful to you for being so kind and suggesting our hotel anyway, and we hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#77 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Serenissima
Hotel Serenissima
#92 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#109 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Property: Hotel alla Fava
Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava is situated in the very heart of Venice, justbetween Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark’s Square.It only takes a few minutes to find yourself immersed in thebeauty of the city: the Bridge of Sighs, the Basilica of StMary of Health, Grassi Palace and the Fenice theater.15 rooms in a small corner of history and comfort is what you are going to find in Campo della Fava: spacious andcomfortable, elegantly furnished and recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing