We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #105 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations of a 2 star hotel.
The location was really good - a couple of minutes from the Rialto, 10 minutes from St Marks Sq and 10 minutes from the Fundamento Nove vaporetto stop for Murano.
The room (no 108) wasn't large but was big enough for a 3 night stay, was spotlessly clean and had all we required. However, please note that if you have an Iphone 5, the "charging station" doesn't have a charger for that so don't make the mistake I did and not take your own charger. The bathroom was small but again was very clean so no problem there.
The breakfast was good with everything you would expect - the apricot croissants were extremely good - enough to set you up for the day. Although the breakfast room was very small we never had a problem getting a table.
The staff (especially Sara) were welcoming, friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
I would return to this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 108 had a canal view which was good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytourist33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Hotel alla Fava
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 612 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

we only paid £233 each for flights and 4 nights B & B so weren't expecting the Ritz. Very well situated only 5 minutes from Rialto vaporetto stop, quiet area with lots of restaurants around. Room on the small side, no chest of drawers so things had to stay in the case. but enough wardrobe space. free safe. Bathroom a bit cramped but all the necessary facilities and clean. Breakfast fairly good, all the usual rolls, croissants etc and cereals, toast, yoghurts, various coffees and tea. Enough to give you a good start. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a cheap break and you don't get many of those in Venice!!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet so no particular suggestions
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiorentina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we didn't have a reservation when we reached venice, when we gpt to this hotel every thing was in just more than expected ... Sarah the receptionest was verry wellcoming and warming. she made me making the choice of taking the room, She smiles all the time and offers to help with every detail, you will have you tour guide for free with her being on the shift. Crestiano was friendly and the talkative Luca ... you will just admire him.
The room isnt very big however its homy and super clean. They have the BEST idea by having a multi universal charger, you dont need to bring your mobile charger with you if you are staying in this hotel and difinetly dont need an adaptor.

The breakfast was very good.

The location is less than one minute from rialto and five minutes from Sam Marco .. ita close to every thing you nees to see in the city of love.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_7amza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear dr_7amza,

our staff feels flattered by your comments and thanks you profusely for your kind feeback!
We are glad you had a pleasurable stay here in Venice and hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best,
HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would rate this hotel higher, except the major detractor was the horrible smell coming from the bathroom. There had to be something wrong with the sewer as a gag inducing smell (something along the lines of swamp gas and rotting leaves) would permiate every article of clothing I had and was wearing. I'm not sure if the other rooms had the same issue but this one (116) was quite bad and took away from the overall experience.

The hotel itself was nice and small, all the rooms situated on one floor, tucked away in a corner of Venice quite close to Rialto Bridge. The location was ideal. 15 min walk, with luggage, from the bus station. 3 min walk from Rialto Bridge. And another 10-15 min walk (depending on how many times you get turned around in the streets), walk from St. Mark's Square. The staff are friendly and speak English very well. The morning breakfast was more than I was expecting from a place this small and was quite welcoming.

Within the room, other than the smell previously described, the bed wasn't very comfortable nor did the pillows have much give. Felt like they were filled with putty. I'm not one who needs to be surrounded by elegance or demands feather pillows, but this was enough for even me to complain. I wouldn't have mattered all that much except the weather was quite lousy, raining and cold, which meant I spent more time in the room than I normally would have. Therefore giving me more time to examine the issues in there.

Overall if you don't get this room the stay may not be so bad. The price for the stay in the location may make you want to check it out and if you do I hope you have better luck than me.

Room Tip: I would stay away from room 116, unless they fix the smell coming from the bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjhgillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear jjhgillam,

since the new management of Hotel Alla Fava started a year and a half ago, things were never this catastrophic. We apologize profusely for this embarassing inconvenience.
Room 116 had indeed some draining pipes problems, which we have finally managed to fix. We have to admit the smell was intolerable!

We are also sorry about pillows being a problem for you, as we are usually ready to replace them with different ones according to every guest’s subjective needs.

Nevertheless, we are glad you appreciated our breakfast, and that you were able to easily visit Venice thanks to the Hotel’s location! Our multilingual staff is always willing to help our guests make the most of their stay, and to make our surroundings as cozy and welcoming as possible.

We are very grateful to you for being so kind and suggesting our hotel anyway, and we hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Alla Fava for 3 nights, as well as a 4 star Hotel in Venice last September and can honestly say the only major difference between the two was size of the property. This hotel should be at least 3 stars, possibly higher. Hotel staff were extremely helpful in recommending places to eat, shop, and sight-see. Sara at the front desk was particularly helpful and spoke perfectly fluent English. This was not the case at the 4 star hotel which was located even further away from the main sights in Venice. The location is great and right in the heart of the island. The walk to Piazza San Marco is about 10 minutes, and maybe 15 minutes to the train and bus stops. My room and bathroom were both very clean. Also included with the room was a universal charger for iPhone, blackberry and other devices which was really great. The hotel is very small, but inviting and friendly. There is a complimentary breakfast served in the morning, just make sure to get there early as the dining room is quite small. All-in-All this was a great hotel and one of the best out of 5 hotels I stayed at in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear JohnnyBaird,
thank you for your detailed feedback and flattering comments!
We are glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.
All the best,
HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my partnet stayerd here from 19th feb to 21st feb. This was our first trip to venice and wont be our last! And will be staying at the All Fava again! The hotel is clean and warm and located perfectly in venice with easy access to all the amazing sights. Also situated about 30 metres away is the Da mamo restaurant ( search on trip advisor ). The food is unreal!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you so much jonathan b!
We really appreciate your kind words and hope you’ll choose our hotel again next time you are in Venice :)
Wish you a great day,
HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean sheets, warm bed, nice staff, adequate breakfast in the morning. We actually stayed there for only one night. One thing to keep in mind is to bring a printed reservation. We had a unique situation. We had to change the day we were arriving due to a train scheduling problem. Through all the emailing back and forth with hotel they were confused as to when we were suppose to arrive. Luckily i printed our email confirmation and show it to her upon check in. She had me down as a "no show" for the night prior which would have been a one night stay charge. After I presented the email confirmation it was smooth sailing. We only came back to the room to change after breakfast then again to sleep. VENICE IS AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 384 in Venice
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#112 of 384 in Venice
1,137 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 384 in Venice
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava overlooks Campo della Fava, a small square where Casanova used to meet his young lovers. In the square, the church of Santa Maria della Fava hosts some famous works by Giambattista Tiepolo and Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. Hotel Alla Fava is one minute from the famous Rialto Bridge, one of the main sights in Venice hosting the rich and colourful fruit and vegetable market which enlivens the heart of the city every day. St Mark’s Square and the Bridge of Sighs are also at walking distance. The main public transport hub on the Grand Canal is 3 minutes away and connects to the main sights, to easily reach the islands in the Laguna: Murano, Burano and Torcello. When staying at Hotel Alla Fava, everything Venice has to offer is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing