We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The fantastic staff made this a 5 star review...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #99 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The fantastic staff made this a 5 star review...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 5 nights and highly enjoyed our stay.
The biggest asset has to be the staff - everyone of them. Reception staff, cleaners, kitchen lady - everyone is very friendly and more than willing to assist. One staff member (reception) in particular spoke multiple languages fluently and switched from one to the other seamlessly. Everyone greeted us with a smile, always taking note of you, welcoming you back etc. etc. I can't speak highly enough of the staff. Price - we got a very good deal via www.booking.com. Location is great, in the middle of the city and 10-15 minutes walking distance to St Marco's Square. Rialto bridge & water stop is a 5 minutes walk. The rooms have been renovated, are spacious, have an air-conditioner (centrally operated so ask reception if you want it switched on/off), safe, good storage and something I have never before encountered: a universal charging station! Multiple cables connected to a central unit on your desk - iPhone, mini-usb, photo camera - it's fantastic. There is a pier and you can take a gondola straight in front of the hotel or get dropped off when you take one at another location. The breakfast is good & sufficient but could do with a bit more variety (eggs/omelet or some simple beans would be nice for the proteins and to add something warm). Only 'minus' would be the shower. Erratic water pressure so that you have to tweak the temperature frequently. However, would highly recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaDeTAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doroanfra, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your amazing review RaDeTAH!

We are thankful for both your kind words and your precious contributions about our facilities. Your opinion is very important to us, as we are always looking for new ways to further improve our service.

Hope you will come back soon, it’s always a pleasure to have such warm and kind people among our guests :)

We wish you all the best and send you both a big hug!
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    247
    65
    19
    8
See reviews for
113
277
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and 12 and 14 year olds stayed here for two nights. I agree with other reviewers that the location and staff are wonderful. We stayed in a room to sleep all four. It was very large and bright. Bathroom was fine. Air conditioning was very comfortable. Huge armoire for storage. Breakfast was perfect. The only negative we ran into is that the room was very bright in the morning and very loud. It was near the garbage boat so beginning very early, we were awakened by the noise of the garbage. Despite this, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location and relatively easy to find (even in Venice), just a short walk from the Rialto bridge. The hotel is located near some really great restaurants. The hotel employees were very nice and helpful. The breakfast food was simple but was very good and fresh. Our room was also simple but very clean and very satisfactory. Because of the location, if we left our window open at night it was a bit loud but once we closed it we couldn't hear a thing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The review is based on a stay in room 108. Excellent location, friendly staff, good value for money, very clean, air con worked well in our room, breakfast food average, coffee excellent, soft drinks bad. Coming into not so good stuff: a lot of things deposited in the second breakfast room made me fell like I am eating into a store room and the shower water pressure was unpredictable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirdeiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our experience was almost identical to kimd13, except that we stayed in Room 108 like HappyKiwiTraveler, and in that room the air-con is controlled within. You have a great view over the canal, and the life it produces, and a bridge, and you can well imagine living the Venetian life. While we were there, the temperature reached the mid 30s, but with 50% humidity, the real feel was much higher, so air-con is a must. We had no trouble with mosquitos. Everything else stated we agree with, from the VERY friendly front office staff, especially the welcoming Sara, to the breakfast and the helpful advice about eating places. It's easy to find from Rialto Bridge and an easy 10 minutes to St Mark's Square. If you want a VERY clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient and perfectly located hotel - look no further. If we ever return, it will be to the Hotel Alla Fava.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the canal have more atmosphere but you will pay a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel was located a minute or so from the Rialto bridge and ten minutes from St Marks, in a quiet little square. From the minute we arrived the young lady on the desk could not have been more helpful or friendly, and every member of staff we came into contact with during our stay was just as friendly and made us feel so welcome.

Our room was a reasonable size,although the bathroom was a little squashed, almost a cupboard with a sliding door . That said everything was very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was the usual continental fayre, but made special by the fresh baked croissants every morning, which you could smell as you came down the stairs and unusually (from our experiences) the coffee from the automatic machine was very good.

I agree with the previous reviewer regarding the air conditioning which was controlled from the lobby, we were fortunate that for the most of our stay we did not need it switched on, but on the one occasion that we did, it made very little difference and I felt very sorry for the poor guy on the desk that evening as he was sweltering, had I not needed it myself I would have lent him the little hand fan I carry with me.

All in all a good place to stay for a few nights in Venice and, if the air conditioning was better, extremely good value for money, by Venice Standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Fabulous location with generally friendly staff. But you have to ask them to turn on the air conditioning. And even if you ask them to leave it on all night, they will still turn it off. Not that it cools the air very much. It just makes it a tiny bit easier to breathe. Opening the window is not an option since the mosquitoes will feast on you all night long. One of us had such a severe reaction that we had to get oral steroids from the pharmacy in order to breathe. The cleaners also took it upon themselves to unplug the mosquito repellent contraption that we bought in order to keep the mosquitoes at bay.
But... The location is so convenient. Clean facilities. Bed was ok. Breakfast was pretty decent. Coffee was quite good. Juice tasted like it came from powder.
Be sure to bring lots of bug spray, itch relief, and keep some cash to pay the room tax at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USAinUK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Property: Hotel alla Fava
Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava overlooks Campo della Fava, a small square where Casanova used to meet his young lovers. In the square, the church of Santa Maria della Fava hosts some famous works by Giambattista Tiepolo and Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. Hotel Alla Fava is one minute from the famous Rialto Bridge, one of the main sights in Venice hosting the rich and colourful fruit and vegetable market which enlivens the heart of the city every day. St Mark’s Square and the Bridge of Sighs are also at walking distance. The main public transport hub on the Grand Canal is 3 minutes away and connects to the main sights, to easily reach the islands in the Laguna: Murano, Burano and Torcello. When staying at Hotel Alla Fava, everything Venice has to offer is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing