We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed - Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #25 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Impressed - Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Codega. Good size room and bathroom, well equipped, comfy bed, aircon that really worked (unlike lots of European hotels) and it was really quiet although only a short walk from all the popular attractions.
Staff were friendly efficient and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
Fantastic variety for breakfast and incredibly clean throughout, really good value for central Venice. A real gem!!
Not easy to find - make sure to print and take your map

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    289
    26
    15
    2
See reviews for
179
817
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location between St. Marks Square and Rialto bridge. The room was large for Europe, and the bathroom is the nicest, largest bathroom I've seen in Europe for the price. The staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and things to do. Breakfast was tasty with a large variety and was included. The only somewhat bad thing I can say about this hotel is finding it is a little hard. They provide a map which you will need to print out. It it tucked back in a courtyard out of sight from the road (which is great b/c it is quiet) but we had a hard time locating it at first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This charming hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was great. Breakfast was included and was a wonderful assortment of foods. I really like that they toilet and shower are in separate rooms. The hotel is situated at a easy walk to the Grand Canal one way and St Marks Square the other. It is a bit tricky to find but as long as you get near, there is always a local willing to show you the way. This lovely hotel is amid the charms of Venice and if I am ever so lucky as to visit Venice again this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved our 3-day stay at Hotel Al Codega in Venice. Room 405 with air-conditioning, a king bed, hidden safe, nice closet, good sized bathroom with rain shower, magnifying mirror and hair dryer and a basket of tolietries. Because the hotel is small, only 28 rooms, they give you extra special attention. The included buffet breakfast was fabulous!! They had so many choices! Delicious pastries, quiche, scrambled eggs, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, etc. Upon our early arrival they stored our luggage until we could check in later in the day, served us complimentary coffee and cookies and free bottled water as we left to go explore the city. The little bar and sitting area with two couches and a fireplace was such a nice touch. They provide a complimentary computer for quest use and free wifi. It's also very quiet at night. They were so helpful at the front desk too. You couldn't ask for a better location. Only about a 5 minute walk to St. Mark's Square or to the Rialto Bridge. Tons of retail shops, restaurants and bakeries surround it. It could be difficult to locate on your own. We were happy we hired our water taxi to take us directly to the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhunteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice, quiet and well maintained property located in a courtyard near St Marks Square. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spotless and nicely decorated with great air conditioning. Wifi was not as strong as I would have liked, but this was just a minor inconvenience. Breakfast was good although the breakfast room was small. My family totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dulberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This small hotel is tucked away in a lovely old neighborhood. The staff is marvelous, helpful, accommodating and oh, so friendly. Their included breakfast is served in the dining room on the first floor, next to the library and the bar. The food is superb!! Decor is neat and appropriate for the period, very comfortable and cozy European-size rooms.
Be aware....make your reservations early. According to one staff member, they stay full most of the time, as they were during our stay in May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, U.S.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here four nights in June and had a great experience. The hotel is perfectly located, about a 3 minute walk to St Marks Square, but hidden away in a courtyard so it feels peaceful and you can escape the crowds of Venice. The breakfast buffet was great, and had a huge variety of choices. We only had the standard room which was small, but it's not as if we spent a lot of time in the room. Staff were all polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend, especially because of the location. We walked everywhere throughout our stay and only used the vaporetto to come and go from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing