We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #24 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
u.k
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely hotel set in a small courtyard and very hard to find despite being given a map by the hotel! However that is the only criticism I have as everything else in this hotel was great. Breakfast was ample and had lots of different choices. Staff were more than helpful. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and very pleasing on the eye. We really enjoyed our stay here and it was lovely to return to this cool and calm hotel after the heat and hustle/bustle of Venice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eternaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    274
    23
    13
    2
See reviews for
163
749
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was the first of 6 hotels we stayed at in our 2 week tour of Italy. I had read various general reviews of Italian Hotels as to what to expect - especially in the summer. These included - ineffective AC, tiny old bathrooms with hand held shower heads, warm beverages etc. So NOT the case with this hotel. We had two lovely rooms - while not connecting the staff made a special effort to have our daughters' rooms close on the same floor as ours - for 2 nights in late July when Italy was having a heat wave. The AC in the rooms - perfect - the bathrooms new, clean, and full size showers, the breakfast and breakfast area were great with cold juice and milk and great coffee. Location is great - easy walk to Saint Mark's square or the Rialto bridge and just inside a quiet court yard away from the crazy of Venice . The staff are there 24 hours and were helpful with restaurants and water taxi pick ups. Place is secure, safe, comfortable, nicely appointed without being opulant. Everything you would want for a family location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Leaving the vaporetto near the Rialto Bridge, it was impossible to imagine a space of quiet relaxation, but just a short walk away that's just what we found at this hotel. Located within minutes of major sites like the Rialto and San Marco, the hotel sits in a quiet square whose entrance is at first hard to see. Our room was spacious, well decorated and appointed, and very comfortable (the powerful air-conditioning was a big plus during a spell of quite hot weather). The hotel staff were unfailingly helpful, welcoming, even enthusiastic. Directions to Il Frari? No problem and here's a map. Suggestions for a nearby baccaro? Here's a favorite and here's how you get there. Good wi-fi and an abundant breakfast buffet that included lovely pastries in addition to the more usual continental fare and cooked options. We stayed four nights and would happily have stayed another four. It's definitely where we'll go next time we're in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Perfectly located, not far from the Rialto bridge, nice, spacious room. The service was impeccable, any request was dealt with promptly and with enthousiasm. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Our room had a view on the inner courtyard, very pretty and very quiet. Very good value for the money, as it is in the heart of Venice. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JediPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just got back from a 10 day trip around Italy finished off by staying in Venice in this lovely little hotel. Set in a quiet courtyard in a fantastic location less than 5 minutes away from St. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge. All staff were so friendly and willing to help you with anything they could. Breakfast was amazing - you could have anything you wanted from your standard continental/cooked breakfast right through to the most amazing pastries and even chocolate mousse :-) !! Rooms were lovely, nicely decorated, spacious and very clean! On our return trip to Venice we will 100% be staying at hotel Al Codega and i would recommend it to anyone :-)

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all were fanatstic don't think there could be any bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was fantastic--friendly, helpful--even sent someone out to find us when we got lost the first day finding the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located between the Rialto Bridge and the San Marco Plaza and off a quiet courtyard. Lovely breakfast buffet with numerous options. Room was comfortable and spacious by European standards with a extra sitting area off the bedroom. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayhawker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The experience I had with Al Codega started positively as soon as I booked it. They were prompt with a reply (booked a packaged that included this hotel with another popular on-line booking site). They sent me confirmation and answered all my questions. Then a couple of weeks before departure they sent a useful map of how to find their location (more complicated than you would imagine...you have to go to Venice to really understand this!). It printed out in this cute little old fashioned scroll design. I am a not a luxury travel person but this was a special trip for me and my 12 year old, so I splurged a little and it was worth it! Upon arrival we were given our room early (it was only noon) and the place was lovely. Luxurious fabric on walls, heavy curtains, rainfall shower, toiletries etc. The layout was on two levels so there were twin beds, a substantial wall unit (with the TV built into the mirror! How cool is that? Not that it was watched...but still!) a sitting area and the bath. There was even turn down service in the later afternoon! The property itself is off a lovely little courtyard and almost directly between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. Very convenient! The breakfast was substantial including bacon, scrambled eggs, a selection of meats and cheeses, bruschetta, fruits, yoghurt etc. There are two breakfast rooms. I preferred the smaller one away from the food as it had more natural light and was less busy, but both were nice. There is a small elevator (it is Europe after all!) to easily move your luggage up and down. The service, in particular, was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable, and were happy to answer any questions. In fact my experiences in the rest of Italy (Florence and Rome in a 2 star and 5 star) were not even close to comparable. My daughter and I both agreed it was our favourite hotel on our trip. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iTravel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,767 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#15 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#12 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing