We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, nestled in a private courtyard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #24 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingtown, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, nestled in a private courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

In terms of the room and breakfast, this hotel was far and away the most luxurious we stayed in during our 18 day stay in Italy. The room was quite large, with sort of an entrance hall and bath to the right and bedroom a couple of steps up to the left.

We neglected to print the map and got on the wrong vaparetto, so we didn't get off at the Rialto stop as directed by the hotel. (It is actually incredibly EASY to get to the hotel from Rialto, not so easy from the San Marco stop.) We felt hopelessly lost and called the hotel. They sent someone to pick us up and we were actually only about two more turns from the hotel.

The staff was wonderfully helpful and professional. The breakfast was, again, by far the most decadent of any of our four hotels. Cheeses, biscuits, eggs and ham, breads, fresh fruit, and wonderful looking desserts were all available. (They also served breakfast later than any of the other hotels – up until 10:30.)

While we were there, Venice flooded because of a combination of rains and high tide. You could tell the locals from everyone else because the locals were wearing tall, rubberized boots. We saw many tourists walking about in bare feet and rolled up pants – I thought they were surely insane because it was far too cold for that! We also saw tourists wearing disposable waders. The next day, as we were checking out, I was talking to Salvatore about the flooding and he mentioned that the hotel had them available for its guests. So, if there's a flood while you're visiting, be sure to ask for some of them. It actually looked kind of fun for the folks who had them.

The hotel staff gave us wonderful recommendations of things to do. I wanted to shop for wineglasses on Murano and they suggested that my husband go to Burano because of its beautiful, colorful houses and to Torcello. He had a terrific day and took some gorgeous photos. We asked for a restaurant recommendation one night and just loved the seafood restaurant that they recommended.

The hotel and courtyard really are as beautiful as they look in all the pictures that reviewers have posted. I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    288
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
178
815
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stay here and you'll sleep in peace and quiet, in spotless rooms that offer the perfect blend of tradition and comfort, in a tranquil courtyard set back from the hustle & bustle of Venice, yet within a few minutes walk of its main square, San Marco. Fuel up for the day with the incredibly tasty breakfast, return the smile of the friendly, professional, helpful staff, and set out to explore this truly beautiful city from the ideal base. We did. And we didn't pass a single hotel en route that gave us reason to consider anywhere other than Al Codega when we return... and return we will!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here two years ago for our honeymoon and we returned for 5 nights and found the hotel was better with subtle improvements, one of which was the extensive choice of breakfast food. The rooms are very Venetian in style and colour and spotlessly clean. We intend to return to Al Codega regularly to enjoy what Venice continuous to offer.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe room which gave us plenty of space and cannot comment on the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a family trip with my parents (aged 75 and 79) , brother, and sister. The hotel was not hard to find at all, as we had downloaded a very helpful simplified street map from the hotel's website. Upon arrival we were impressed by the hotel's central location and look and cleanliness. The hotel was just a short walk from St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. The foyer on the second floor was staffed by extremely helpful and friendly staff at all times (24 hours), who were always ready to offer help and advice. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed, with excellent air conditioning. The breakfast arrangements were excellent too, with a much greater choice of food than I had expected, and very friendly staff to hand. We all enjoyed our stay here, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very warm staff. Great location. Very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Unobtrusive room service. Staff speaks good English. The only problem is to find the hotel. Directions on how to find it are not very clear. Definitely would return many times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alekseyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, it is really hard to find this hotel. But luckily, with the help of google map, we finally found it. The place is quite good, not noisy, clean, bright, with modern facilites. Most importantly, for the travellers with heavy luggage, it is no need to come accorss bridge from port and has elevator in the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

You need a map to get here the first time. It was recommended to us by an Australian couple on our last cruise. A little pricy perhaps but not for a well located hotel close to San Marco and Rialto. great service, friendly staff, good sized rooms. we were upgraded to a junior suite. Breakfast is excellent. We would return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing