We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you can find it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #27 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you can find it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very warm staff. Great location. Very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Unobtrusive room service. Staff speaks good English. The only problem is to find the hotel. Directions on how to find it are not very clear. Definitely would return many times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alekseyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    295
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
183
826
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, it is really hard to find this hotel. But luckily, with the help of google map, we finally found it. The place is quite good, not noisy, clean, bright, with modern facilites. Most importantly, for the travellers with heavy luggage, it is no need to come accorss bridge from port and has elevator in the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

You need a map to get here the first time. It was recommended to us by an Australian couple on our last cruise. A little pricy perhaps but not for a well located hotel close to San Marco and Rialto. great service, friendly staff, good sized rooms. we were upgraded to a junior suite. Breakfast is excellent. We would return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel Al Codega is a terrific boutique hotel located between the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. it has less than 30 rooms but the rooms are large by European standards and tastefully decorated, and, most importantly, located on a quiet courtyard which shields you from the noisy alleyways of Venice.

During our 2 night stay, Lorenza and Michelle were extremely helpful with arrangements and reservations. The morning breakfast buffet is amongst the best I have seen. It includes eggs, bacon, cold cuts, fresh baked pastries, cereal, bruschetta, coffe, juice, etc.

The bed was very comfortable and the free wifi worked great. The lobby has a nice sitting area and a small bar.

If we return to Venice, we will definitely stay at Hotel Al Codega.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which is the front desk floor and our friends stay on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc95164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Al Codega mid April and had an excellent stay. It wasn't too difficult to find with a good map, 5 minute walk if you get off the alilaguna at Rialto bridge.
Check in was quick and friendly, Adriana was fantastic, told us the best places to go, eat and how to get there.
Our room was small but as we only slept in there really it was sufficient - our only slight complaint was that we appeared to have a disabled toilet in what clearly wasn't a disabled room! Took a bit of getting used to that!
Breakfast is great loads of variety and keeps you going til lunch time. The hotels location is perfect right in the centre of everything but equally quiet and secluded in a small courtyard. Excellent value for money and we will definitely return after falling in love with Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChallinorFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a two night, romantic stay at this lovely hotel.
The service was excellent, staff super-friendly, spotlessly clean rooms and a tasty breakfast to boot. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Venice. Perfectly located in the city centre, this hotel is ideal for first-timers to Venice. Situated in the quiet windy backstreets of Venice you will enjoy a restful nights sleep and the feeling that you are tucked away in your own world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
588 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Tripadvisor Family for your views on this hotel. I used it to decide where to stay in Venice. The Hotel Al Codega was perfect for our needs. The location is ideal, it is within 5 minutes of St Mark's Square and about 3 minutes from The Rialto Bridge and Vaporetta stops. Within few minutes you will get your bearings and have the best of both worlds a central location in a quiet courtyard. The hotel itself is modern, extremely clean and of good 4 star quality. The staff are outstanding, cheerful and helpful and always ready to solve any issues you might have. They are great sources of local knowledge such as where to eat. We used the Venice Pass which we purchased online, we had museum passes, Vaporetta passes and toilet passes. You pay to use the toilets in Venice 1.50€, buying online you get 10 passes for 7€, and you avoid the queues. Collect your passes at Marco Polo Airport, it is quite difficult to get them once in Venice. The manned ACTV booths, should be able to help you, but it depends on the operator, some are helpful others not. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent, both hot and cold foods, typically Venetian but of a high quality. If you are going to Venice then check The Al Codega Hotel it will not disappoint you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#17 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing