We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #27 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel right in the centre of St Marco, a few minutes from the Rialto and St Marc's square. Very clean rooms furnished in typical Venetian style. Friendly staff, good choice at breakfast. Quite difficult to find in St Marco as I found it very difficult to get my bearings, though my husband didn't appear to find it difficult at all!! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    299
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
189
852
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled to Venice for my sister's wedding and having not been to Venice before I was unsure of the area and which hotels would suit our needs. My sister actually suggested Hotel Al Codega as it was near her hotel and within our budget. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is within a small enclosed square that is a little difficult to find, however aside from this once inside it is warm and welcoming. There is a lift to take your heavy luggage easily to the reception area on the 2nd floor. Our room was spacious enough for the two of us and the bed comfortable. Visitors to Venice need to be aware that it is not common for irons to be present at hotels (mine or my sister's hotel did not have an iron at all) due to fire regulations. I had to have my dress pressed and this can be achieved by using services that are prompt and not overly expensive. The hotel breakfast is plentiful and tasty. The standout feature of this hotel is the service and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyeball09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this hotel without any problems using the provided map and would recommend getting the Alilaguna water ferry from the airport. It cost us E27 per person return but ensured a short walk from the Rialto Bridge rather than hiking across the city from the Piazzale Roma with suitcases if you get the bus. A clean and charming hotel set in a peaceful courtyard but within 10 minutes of both St Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge. We were greeted by the charming Salvatore on reception who was very helpful as were all the staff who were only too pleased to help in any way they could. The choice for breakfast was very good with an extensive selection. We requested a high floor overlooking the courtyard and were very pleased with the lovely room we were given which was 410.

Whilst in Venice we would recommend a trip to Burano which is beautiful with colourful painted houses and a lovely atmosphere. Please don't avoid the restaurants along the canal by the Rialto bridge because you feel they may charge more, they are competitively priced offering free Bellinis' and no service charge or added tax to entice you in (at the time we visited). It made our anniversary being able to sit outside by the bridge .............albeit under a heatlamp!

We would definitely recommend this hotel for price and location and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter but we didn't get to experience any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tansy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet - but just minutes away from San Marco and from the Rialto.

We arrived at night and the taxi was unable to drop us at the point on the canal closest to the hotel because the tide was too high. But the driver (pilot?) was excpetionally helpful and gave us very clear instructions how to get there - from a spot near the Rialto, it took just 5/6 minutes to get to the hotel. I can understand why people have commented that it's difficult to find, but if you have any map and follow it, it is straightforward. Mind you, following a map in Venice for a first-timer isn't easy....

The room (310) was well furnished, clean and full of Venetian furniture - although it was quite cramped, despite a small sitting area off the main part of the bedroom. The bath had a hand shower as well as a large-headed shower over the bath. It was all immaculately presented and clean, though. It has a view into the courtyard and over the tops of the buildings towards the campanile.

Breakfast was well presented but became difficult when there were more than a few guests. On three mornings running, when it was busy, we had to tell the staff that we had arrived so that we could order our drinks and get them to lay a table for us. They also had hot food - scrambled egg and bacon - but it was only replenished whenever they wanted to, rather than when people were waiting. A small point, but worth making: they need to adapt their practices to guest needs, rather than expecting the guests to adapt to theirs.

The rest of the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive - hard to fault them in any way.

In terms of position, the hotel couldn't have been better placed - but, being in a courtyard, it was quiet and peaceful. Unlike the surrounding streets at the weekend!

Overall, I would hearily recommend this hotel. The small room wasn't an issue because we spent so little time in it. The breakfast issues did provide some frustration and that's why this is 4 stars rather than 5. If we ever go back to Venice, I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view. 310 is a great room but a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a short break seeing the sights and shopping. It is a really lovely little hotel and could not find any fault with it. Service was excellent throughout our stay and the staff were always helpful and willing to go that extra mile. Set in a small courtyard it has a warm and welcoming feel about it and would recommend to all.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J1myd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having spent two nights in the hotel, we found the interior beautifully decorated, rooms spacious and comfortable, breakfast had ample choice and the hotel was centrally located between St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Yes this hotel is a little tricky to find, but it is a great hotel. Location is excellent , Staff are really friendly and helpful. Room was well equipped and stylish. Quiet but slightly warm, couldn't get the air con as low as I would have liked.Although it wouldn't be a problem to sleep with a window open. Lovely large bed with comfortable pillows.
Would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Good choice at breakfast in a pleasant dining room.
Walking distance of all attractions.

Room Tip: Pay for a deluxe room and ask for a courtyard view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,984 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,792 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
938 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing