We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, excellent position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet - but just minutes away from San Marco and from the Rialto.

We arrived at night and the taxi was unable to drop us at the point on the canal closest to the hotel because the tide was too high. But the driver (pilot?) was excpetionally helpful and gave us very clear instructions how to get there - from a spot near the Rialto, it took just 5/6 minutes to get to the hotel. I can understand why people have commented that it's difficult to find, but if you have any map and follow it, it is straightforward. Mind you, following a map in Venice for a first-timer isn't easy....

The room (310) was well furnished, clean and full of Venetian furniture - although it was quite cramped, despite a small sitting area off the main part of the bedroom. The bath had a hand shower as well as a large-headed shower over the bath. It was all immaculately presented and clean, though. It has a view into the courtyard and over the tops of the buildings towards the campanile.

Breakfast was well presented but became difficult when there were more than a few guests. On three mornings running, when it was busy, we had to tell the staff that we had arrived so that we could order our drinks and get them to lay a table for us. They also had hot food - scrambled egg and bacon - but it was only replenished whenever they wanted to, rather than when people were waiting. A small point, but worth making: they need to adapt their practices to guest needs, rather than expecting the guests to adapt to theirs.

The rest of the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive - hard to fault them in any way.

In terms of position, the hotel couldn't have been better placed - but, being in a courtyard, it was quiet and peaceful. Unlike the surrounding streets at the weekend!

Overall, I would hearily recommend this hotel. The small room wasn't an issue because we spent so little time in it. The breakfast issues did provide some frustration and that's why this is 4 stars rather than 5. If we ever go back to Venice, I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view. 310 is a great room but a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    284
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
167
780
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a short break seeing the sights and shopping. It is a really lovely little hotel and could not find any fault with it. Service was excellent throughout our stay and the staff were always helpful and willing to go that extra mile. Set in a small courtyard it has a warm and welcoming feel about it and would recommend to all.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J1myd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having spent two nights in the hotel, we found the interior beautifully decorated, rooms spacious and comfortable, breakfast had ample choice and the hotel was centrally located between St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Yes this hotel is a little tricky to find, but it is a great hotel. Location is excellent , Staff are really friendly and helpful. Room was well equipped and stylish. Quiet but slightly warm, couldn't get the air con as low as I would have liked.Although it wouldn't be a problem to sleep with a window open. Lovely large bed with comfortable pillows.
Would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Good choice at breakfast in a pleasant dining room.
Walking distance of all attractions.

Room Tip: Pay for a deluxe room and ask for a courtyard view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Al Codega was a really good choice - very centrally located & convenient for St Mark's Square and Rialto.

The hotel itself is compact, but there was a little bar area. Breakfast had a good choice of high-quality options.

The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The only niggle was the heating was a little difficult to control, so the room was a little stuffy at night.

Overall, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Al Codega for two nights. The hotel staff is very accommodating and provided helpful instructions on arriving and departing from the hotel with sufficient directions from airports, trains, and water taxis. Make sure you read this before you arrive in Venice to take the appropriate mode of transportation within your budget. We forgot to look back at our email and ended up taking a private taxi in, which cost 70 Euro. This worked out better for us though as we only had to walk up on block and turn the corner with our heavy suitcases from traveling other parts of Italy. The location is near Piazza San Marco and the area can be covered in a day or two, unless you ventured off of San Marco. The room was small, but comfortable. It was definitely quiet and allowed us to sleep in a little. The shower was very relaxing and the bed firm. The breakfast included in our package was quite nice, there were cereals, cold cuts, eggs, cheeses, fresh fruit, etc. We would definitely stay here again if in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodrum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great hotel with lovely friendly staff. Location between San Marco and Rialto so couldn't be better. The hotel is situated in a quiet courtyard so even though you are in the heart of San Marco it is still quiet. Room spacious for 1 person and facilities available very good. Cooked and continental breakfast available. On arrival at San Marco from airport water taxi with hotel map I found the way to Campo San Luca but then got lost as difficult to find courtyard as hidden and no sign on wall that hotel is through the alley. After arrival no problem to find at all. Felt very safe there as a single woman travelling on her own. Clean towels every day and all toiletries replenished. Good wardrobe space as I was there for 1 week. TV located behind the mirror on the desk which was fab idea to me! Safe in room easy to use for your valuables. Mini bar replenished and drinks not expensive. Small bar in hotel which also serves as part of the breakfast room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was on the courtyard side 411 and there was no noise at all even when I opened the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#27 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#19 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#17 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing