We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #24 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Al Codega helped make what was already a magical stay in Venice just that little bit more special. The rooms were nicely decorated and well appointed, free wifi was reliable, and breakfast was good. What particularly impressed me was the staff; they were of the highest quality in terms of friendliness and professionalism. Every single staff member greeted us warmly whenever we crossed paths and we felt comfortable to ask for any advice we needed about our stay. The location of this hotel is also exactly what we were after. It is almost dead centre between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, making it convenient for taking in the main sights, yet, tucked away in a quiet courtyard, it feels like you have discovered a hidden corner of Venice, which was nice in the winter, and I imagine akin to paradise in the busy summer. I have already recommended this hotel to people I know who are travelling to Venice soon and I will definitely stay here again if I return to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    274
    23
    13
    2
See reviews for
163
752
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wow ???Wow ???Wow???
Absolutely amazing, we checked out other reviews from Trip Advisor on Hotel Al Codega and it was even better than we both thought. Close to Piazza San Marco,Rialto,Teatro La Fenice, and just a (5) five minute walk to the Ferry services (Canal Grande). The hotel is a little hard to find, BUT I do recommend you catch a water taxi from the Airport to S Marco (cost 120 euro for two people) but is worth every cent, just for the views and ambience. It only takes about forty minutes compared to other transport( a bit cheaper) but anything up to one hour. The water taxi drops you just about at the front door. You will eventually get lost in Venice, but what a place to do it. Would haft to be the number one on our bucket list. Staff at the hotel are amazing, nothing is a problem, even an Aussie trying to talk Italian (ha ha). The breakfast would be the most decadent ( in a great way) that we have ever had. FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC..........

Room Tip: Deluxe double is the way to go......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A small hotel located in a cul de sac, very quiet at nignt and yet close to the main land attractions of Venice.
Housekeeping was impeccable, decoration sober and tastfull, staff most obliging, breakfast varied and well presented and renewed with guests arriving between 7.30 and 10.30 .
management was most obliging in spite of our early arrival and offered us a buffet breafast and kept our luggage in safety until the room was ready.
We were also allowed a late check out in view of our flight schedule.
The hotel is located half way between St Marco and the Rialto, about 5 minutes each way with easy communication to the airport by water transportation.
We would certainly use their facilities again and we recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality at reasonable price, Proximity to the center of Venise and removed from the buzz of tourists.

Room Tip: ask for a room located facing the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francineberbiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a great find. Located in a little courtyard this hotel is very quite. We stayed at Al Codega for a week. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Their restaurant recommendations were very good, some places we went back to twice. When we strayed from their recommendations we generally had bad service and a bad meal. The hotel did everything they could to make us comfortable. Our room looked out on the courtyard. The room was clean and all the furnishings were modern and in good shape. While not huge the room had enough space for me and my wife. The hotel is perfectly situated so you can make it anywhere in Venice with just a short walk.

The only negative about the hotel was noise from other rooms and the hallway. While not horrible I could clearly hear the person coughing in the room next door. It wasn't loud enough to wake me up but when I was awake I could hear things. The hotel was very quite most of the time because of it's location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight here before boarding a Princess Cruise ship bound for the Greek Islands. It was just minutes from the water taxi. Complimentary breakfast and wonderful in every way. The rooms were great with little noise. The proximity to San Rialto bridge and St. Mark's was great. Very safe. Shopping and sightseein right there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I found the Hotel Al Codea quite by accident while looking for lodging in Venice. I saw that unlike most of the Venice hotels which reviewers had rated as Excellent or Very Good, the Al Codega was rated as "Outstanding" even though it was priced below similar hotels. I read many of the TA reviews and could find nothing to deter me from booking it. We knew we wanted to be on San Marco, not the mainland, as we knew that our three short days there should not be spent traveling via water buses but in exploring this beautiful place that we had never before visited. As our travel date drew nearer, I began to have second thoughts about dragging all of our luggage from the water bus to this "hidden" hotel...but, the map made it appear that the "drag" would not be far and my wife said we were staying there so I said OK!

We arrived via air from Paris and it only took a few minutes before we were aboard the water bus with our 5 pieces of luggage. We disembarked the water bus near the Rialto Bridge and were immediately approached by "Fabio" who asked if we needed porter services. I couldn't say yes quickly enough. He asked where we were going and knew where the Al Codega was. With a smile he was off, with my wife and I trailing. It was only a few minutes from the bridge to the hotel and Fabio made it appear easy as he maneuvered his cart with our luggage through the narrow streets and into the hotel. 25 Euros was a cheap price to pay in my mind! (Fabio also returned to the hotel at the end of our stay and took us to the St Marks water bus location where we caught a water bus to the Port of Venice and our cruise ship...making the issue with luggage a non-issue!)

We were warmly greeted at the hotel by Salvitori and quickly checked in. Our room was a corner room on the fourth floor and was beautiful. Everything appeared new or nearly so. The room was spacious and bright. In short, it deserves the 5 star rating I have given it. But equally important to the room was the exceptional service we received from all staff members. Each one seemed to truly enjoy our being there and each one made our stay memorable. The breakfasts were delightful as was the breakfast area. The small bar was made exceptionally pleasant by the service provided. Without a doubt, we will return to the Al Codea as it is truly a wonderful hotel with a marvelous staff. Thank you Al Codega.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be in great locations with none of them in high-traffic areas. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeoJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A good hotel perfectly situated. The thing that makes this hotel great is the staff, they are excellent. Breakfast is good with a wide selection to suit all tastes. I would happily book with them again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesbehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#15 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#12 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing