We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hard to find the police don't even know where it is. And bed bugs.”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #25 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were actually very disappointed by this hotel. We had much higher expectations from the reviews. First, we got dropped off by a private water taxi and were told how to turn (the hotel's map is worthless). Needless to say, it started to pour and we were walking in the wrong direction. No one knew where the hotel was. We were dragging our bags all over in the rain. Signs would help. Not a great start. To say the rooms are small is an understatement. And, it was SO hot in the room, we needed to open the windows. Unfortunately, our rooms opened over a popular bar and the noise level all night was incredible. The air conditioning hadn't been turned on yet for the season, so sleeping was a nightmare--hot and noisy. The desk clerk didn't know that the A/C wasn't on yet. They controlled the temp at the desk, and he kept telling us it was turned down, but he in fact turned on the heat in an already hot room. Dying. Finding our way back to the hotel nightly was always an adventure. At least we laughed. Once, we were one courtyard away and the policia we asked didn't even know where it was! To add to fun, the hotel definitely has bedbugs. We woke up the first day with little welts, the second day with more, and the third day we were miserable. On the bright side--lovely breakfast and sitting area. They gave us Venetian glass hearts for the misery we sustained. So, I have a keepsake of my least favorite vacation hotel ever.

Room Tip: Ask them about the bed bug situation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dreytuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Al Codega and I totally recommend it to anyone. This place is a great value, it has the best breakfast. My husband and I were shocked at all the variety. The rooms are lovely (although small),location great and staff very friendly. My husband is the family navigator and he found it very easily after we exited the vaparetto (which we had ALOT more trouble figuring out).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Located 5 min from the Rialto bridge and San Marco square, this hotel is super cute and not as hard to find as the other reviews make it seem. Venice is tough to navigate in general. Just walk straight when you get off the ferry and ask people where the Armani store is. The hotel is located in a courtyard across the street from the Giorgio Armani store.

The rooms are spacious and newly renovated. Wifi is free even though Expedia says there is a fee. The service is very good and helpful though the restaurant that was recommended for dinner was not very good. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Really impressive for a small hotel. Not much hot food but the rest of the spread makes up for it. We paid 127 a night, great value for all things considered. I'd def stay if I make my way back to Venice.

Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Al Codega in Venice. The location is perfect, mid-way, (five to ten minuites) walking from both the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. Very convenient to access to all Venice locations. The room had everything that is required and is spotless. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. breakfast is continental and has a good variety. Location (in a small square via what can only be described as an alley) is a little confusing to find. Once there it is not difficult to navigate around. I would suggest following the directions given by "Ciepierball" in the review of May 9, 2012. I found that along with the map that can be downloaded from the hotel very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

You will not find better value for money in Venice or maybe anywhere else in Europe. If you don’t want to spend thousands of Euros on a hotel on a canal you will not find better. The location is perfect. The staff are some of the most helpful that I have ever come across. The rooms are extremely comfortable and even have a bath. Great array of food for breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don’t be put off that the hotel is difficult to find. It’s not that hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourne-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights in this beautiful hotel. Location was perfect and everything about the hotel was wonderful. Very friendly and attentive staff. We had a beautiful room overlooking the square. Spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast and peacefully quiet! We would absolutely recommend this hotel and definitely want to return

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was delightful. The rooms were not that big, but very clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful, especially Adriana. The tiny lobby bar was perfect for having a drink, and very reasonable. It was within walking distance to all the highlights of Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disupanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#12 of 387 in Venice
1,068 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 387 in Venice
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#22 of 387 in Venice
926 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#20 of 387 in Venice
795 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing