We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Followed directions they provided (along with a map) and found the place pretty easy! Great hosts. Glad we stayed there. Good hosts who made you feel welcome. Room was small (typical for Venice hotels of this style) but served it's purpose well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 444 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at Casa Petrarca for 3 glorious nights in the canal facing room. Oh my!! when you walk in the door of your room, with the three large windows, light flooding in to this airy room and you see the view of the canal. For me it was breath taking. You are also just above a footbridge so with the windows open you can hear the hustle and bustle of being on a canal and then when ready to retire just close the windows.
Location is perfect with an easy short walk to either Rialto bridge and Piazza San Marco. Such great value for this location in Venice. It may not be a 5 star hotel, but not all of us can afford that in Venice so for us it was just perfect. We received great service from Valentina and her lovely staff throughout our stay. Nothing was too much for Valentina when we were organising our trip, very quick and responsive to email queries. Due to a late change in our dates we could only get the first 2 nights in the canal room and were then transferred to another smaller room with ensuite for final night. Would like to of stayed in the canal room, however Valentina and her staff made the transfer very easy and the room whilst small was clean and comfortable.
Definitely if you can afford and it is available go for the canal view room. It has lots of storage a handy kitchenette and small fridge to help make your stay extremely comfortable. The bathroom whilst compact was clean and had a powerful shower (no bath). Breakfast was included in the price of the room. On offer were freshly brewed coffee / tea , cereal , fruit juice, yoghurts, boiled eggs, fresh croissants and either toast or rolls. A selection of jams and cheeses were also available, and each morning there was a home made cake/pastry. Plenty to see you through the morning.
Will definitely recommend to family and friends and if we are ever in Venice again this would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: If available and within your budget definitely choose the Superior Canal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinTintheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early April as a family of two adults and our 11yr old son. We had a problem with our booking which was not the B&Bs fault ( hotels.com) which left us paying a supplement for our son and in a room that was way too small for three beds. However our stay was good, we didn't need a canal view as to be honest once your back in your room it's time to sleep and you see enough water in Venice!! The beds were comfortable and clean, hair dryer was provided as we're towels and toiletries. Lovely croissants were served alongside warm rolls and coffee for breakfast. The location was a real bonus, minutes from St Marks and Railto bridge. Just make sure you book a triple room not a double if you have a child !!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Charly78x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early April. Casa Petrarca is a small guesthouse 5 minutes from St Mark's Square and 7 minutes from the Rialto Bridge run by the ever-helpful and charming Valentina. Our room (Room 7) was very clean & spacious and overlooked a small canal... a bit more expensive than the other rooms but well worth the extra. Continental breakfast is well presented. Would stay here again and recommend it to friends. Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEVA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in the beginning of April. The lady that runs this place is so nice and helpful. She serves a wonderful breakfast every morning and is so sweet! She always made sure we had questions about the city answered and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. She even notified us that the day we were leaving the boat services were striking and how to get to the airport. Thank goodness we had her to notify us!!

Our room was actually bigger than some of the other Italian hotels we had stayed out. Comfortable bed, clean room - we were very satisfied. We did not have a canal view, but one that faced the street. We didn't upgrade to the canal view.

The location of this hotel is perfect too! Basically between the Rialto and St. Marks. Make sure you print off the map they provide you when you book to help get you to the hotel. It was perfect directions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The place is in a good location, the staff were nice and the breakfast was good. We stayed in a double room overlooking a street and had shared bathroom. Room was clean although very small. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the place did get noisy from time to time - this was not even the peak season. The shared bathroom was across the central seating area which we had not expected. The bathroom itself was clean.
We have not stayed in any other hotels in Venice so not sure what to expect - it is possible that most hotels are small!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was beautiful with a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were clean and well presented. Would definitely stay here again :) very hospitable. Jayson & Richard UK

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#92 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#95 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#150 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Petrarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Petrarca

Address: San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#74 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#147 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Casa Petrarca 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Petrarca is a small 'locanda' (inn) located in a corner of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city, in an ancient building of 14th century, half way from the fabulous San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Petrarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Petrarca Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing