We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Expensive Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Even when following the map provided by the hotel, we had some difficulty finding it once we were nearby. The hotel is located on a quite side street barely two or three minutes away from San Marco. The Rialto bridge may be five minutes away.

Our room, overlooking a side street was very small but nicely maintained The attached bathroom was also very small but clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good. Valentina was very nice to deal with. I chose this hotel based on the TA reviews and was not disappointed at all. It was an excellent deal compared to similarly rated properties in the same area. I strongly recommend this place if you are looking for a nice and basic place to stay close to the major attractions of Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Anup22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 444 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Is a little bit hard to find the hotel since it doesn't have a grand reception on the ground floor which attract your sight! It's located at a quite street and on the 1st floor. But when we finally get in to the hotel, the room is really clean and the decoration is just nice! Even we got the room with shared bathroom(the bathroom is quite far from our room), the bathroom are clean and comfortable too! Toiletries and clean towel are provided as well!

Thank Katrinatan12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay in an excellent location. The hosts were very nice, and kept a great hotel. Our room was very big & clean. Breakfast was very good every morning. We had a great three days here, we LOVED Venice & wish we had more time to explore, we will be back! I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Venice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the Canal & the view was great, so peaceful & nice, worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Casa Petrarca.

The location wasn't exactly easy to find, we followed the instructions given by them and it was easy till the part when we had to look for the street where it is located. I'm not sure if it was only me but the street name seemed to change from Calle de la Schiavine to something else during our stay there.

Once you've checked in you'll realise the nicer bits about Petrarca. Our room was fair in size for 2 asians and 2 big luggages. The toilet was spacious for a B&B, and quite well designed.

The breakfast variety is rather limited but delicious! We love the toast they made and the croissant served was soft and fresh! They also had hard-boiled eggs - which my wife was dying to have after days of sweets for breakfast.

Valentina was extremely helpful with us, telling us how to get to the local grocer, informing us of the impending flood (the whole piazza san marco was flooded to my calf level), giving us a boiler when we requested and also sold us tickets to Interpreti Venezia :)

A value-for-money B&B. The only qualms we had was that the heater wasn't strong enough for a small room and the water in the showers kept changing its temperature making it rather difficult to shower, especially when it was some 5 deg c outside.

Would be willing to return to stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy_LMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights with some friends, 3 of us in two rooms. The location is excellent, close to Piazza San Marco, the Rialto bridge and La Fenice, not far from the Accademia. At the end of a quiet calle, my room was tiny, but being a single traveler I'm used to that. My friends' room was just a tad bigger. The furniture was a bit worn, and I did not have a TV, but the bed was comfortable. Valentina and Stefano were both very helpful with directions. The breakfast was served in a cozy breakfast room and consisted of typical fare: hard-boiled eggs, croissants, meat, cheese, rolls, fruit, yogurt and cereal - but only grapefruit juice! (not my favorite). I would stay here again mainly due to the location.

Room Tip: There are several rooms without a private bath so be sure to reserve one with an en suite, as we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

EXCELLENT location in the nest of the city, warm welcome, very comfortable, I found that place most enjoyable, I have no restriction. The location is particularly mysterious, in a dead-end street, protected from noise. Great calm at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my favorite hotel of our two week adventure thru Europe. It's a boutique hotel full of charm. The owners personally communicated with us a few times prior to our stay, and were very accommodating to check us in late when our travels lasted a little longer then anticipated- she even had recommendations on where to get a good meal. Our room was right off of the kitchen, which didn't lend a lot of privacy, but we were of the mindset of staying with a friend rather than at a hotel. The breakfast was excellent. The location was great...just a few minutes walk to St. Marks square or the Rialto bridge (and in turn the water taxi). Fun to watch and hear the gondolas go by outside our window in the evenings. If we came to Venice again, I wouldn't even look at a different place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jamieksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#92 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#95 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#150 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Petrarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Petrarca

Address: San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#74 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#147 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Casa Petrarca 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Petrarca is a small 'locanda' (inn) located in a corner of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city, in an ancient building of 14th century, half way from the fabulous San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Petrarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Petrarca Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing