We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Venice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Casa Petrarca is in a great central location. The hospitality and customer service was excellent. They recommended a number of local restaurants which were all very good. The breakfast was also very good. Staying at Casa Petrarca certainly enhanced the wonderful time that we had in Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael261635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 444 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stefano and Valentina were wonderful hosts. They gave great recommendations for things to see and places to eat. The hotel was just lovely, located in a quiet area, easy to find, and not far from San Marco and Rialto. Breakfast was great in the quaint breakfast room. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early. Select the corner room, which appeared to be the largest from the floor plan on the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whileitravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us as we wanted something right in the middle of everything! We took the Vaporetto from the airport and got off the Rialto stop. We just had a simple map but the hotel was very easy to find and we were greeted on the street by one of the owners. We have a simple room with a double bed, closet and sink with a mirror. We are sharing a bathroom but have never seen the other people were are supposedly sharing it with! The bathroom is very close to our room and is really well kept. Our beds are made up every day after breakfast. The only downside (in my opinion) is the breakfast. It is included so I felt bad skipping it today for a pastry and some fruit from the market. Each table get's a little basket with a couple of bread rolls and some very sugary croissants. There is also a little table with some cold meats, yoghurts and packaged biscuits. However, there is no fresh fruit or fruit juice!
Overall, the hotel is perfectly located so it is easy to find and perfect if you want to come home after lunch for a quick nap. The price is very reasonable and the hosts are lovely!
I definitely would recommend staying at the Casa Petrarca.

Room Tip: It is cheaper to have a shared bathroom and you hardly notice you are sharing. The bathroom is liter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked independantly having seen Trip Advisers reports.
The best ( first floor ) room is on the canal front with en-suite shower room, big with lots of interesting activity outside.
Easy to find and very centrally located midway between the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square.
We are recommending this to friends visiting later this year.
Many thanks to hosts Valentina and Stefano.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmather01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Casa Petrarca. Good instructions on how to get there. Lots of help with things to see and transport advice. The room was small, but that's not uncommon in Venice. it was very clean and comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast was good in charming brrekfast room. The location is brlliant - 5 minus walk from the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that I understand what to put here! I'll put that the location is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Perfect for our 2 nights in Venice, the price was great, location very close to everything, and with the aid of the map provided we managed to get there with no issues from the station/water bus!
Check in/check out with no issues, breakfast was adequate and host was lovely! Room and bathroom were small, but that didn't bother us as we only slept there! Would stay again if we needed to :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButtonsKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This guest house is superbly situated between Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square, less than 5 mins from both. We discovered it last year based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed.
We booked and would recommend the large room that overlooks the Canal.
You can watch the gondoliers as they negotiate the curve in the small canal but you may also be woken in the early morning by an artisan chugging off to work in his boat.
The room overlooks a route to St Mark's Square so there will be late night voices walking past.
Some of the inner facing rooms have no canal view but less passing noise.
The owners Valentina and Stefano are most welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is entirely adequate with yoghurt and cheese.
Read the small print in what others have written and you should not be disappointed about what Casa Petrarca offers.
We have now visited twice in December 2011 & 2012 and are returning next year

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Canal facing room if you'd like a view. For quiet ask for an inward facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PES389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#92 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#95 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#150 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Petrarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Petrarca

Address: San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#74 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#147 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Casa Petrarca 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Petrarca is a small 'locanda' (inn) located in a corner of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city, in an ancient building of 14th century, half way from the fabulous San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Petrarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Petrarca Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing