We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Simply the BEST!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Gottardi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Gottardi
Ranked #128 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Simply the BEST!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Casa Gottardi is a B&B located 100 meters from the main bridge in Rialto, Venice. Best priced B&B, the house is VERY clean and traditional European breakfast was delicious served by friendly Eugenia. She was also very helpful in giving us tips as where to eat at lower prices with good service. Susana the owner gave us information about the Alilaguna (less expensive and only service to and from the Marco Polo Airport) and the ATV ("water-bus" I call it or the public best priced transportation available) I recommend Casa Gottardi to everyone looking for a safe, clean, airconditioned and inexpensive place to stay in expensive Venice, Italy.

Room Tip: The B&B is on the fourth floor. No lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
62
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are traveling for a month with two adults and two kids (6+8). This stop in Venice is a massive highlight.

We got the directions in email that were easy to follow, arrived on a reasonably hot day to a welcome drink and smile.

We went upstairs, and for those who winge on trips to Venice about stairs and carrying luggage, it is a very old city with not many lifts when built.

The rooms are located on Level four in a stunning quiet lane close to everything. There is the grand canal, food, wine and shopping all close by.

We thank Eugiena (hope spelt right) for her warm hospitality and offers of assistance. They know the area well.

For the money you pay for the room and breakfast you get a full luxury service that will leave you wanting more.

I can not recommend this place enough for making our dream Europe holiday more than that. We will return and we will stay here again. Maybe a romantic week in Venice might be the go.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was in the perfect location - so easy to find. Susanna sent us precise direction to get to her BnB with best price options as well. Her son Giovanni was there to meet us upon arrival and helped us with our bags up the few flights of stairs. Her gave us a welcome drink and recommendations for food and shopping areas. We met Susanna when she brought us an amazing array of breakfast choice the next morning. It was the perfect place to stay with air conditioning and so easy to find. It would be our first choice if visiting Venice again and would be our first recommendation to others traveling to the beautiful water city!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Gottaradi for 3 days, May 15-17, 2012, and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Venice. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Suzanna's son, Giovannii, who spoke excellent English. He was able to answer all our questions as well as provide recommendations for dinner. Yes, the B&B is on the 4th floor; however, Giovanni offered to help carry our luggage - we do travel light so not having an elevator is not a problem for us. We stayed in the double room with our bathroom outside the room which was fine for us. The location is perfect for visiting Venice - a couple minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and a 10 minute walk from San Marco's. There is a vaporetto stop very close by as well. Suzanna was a welcoming, kind and knowledgeable host. The breakfasts were perfect for us - capucino, expresso, juice, croissants, and a variety of cakes. Having it delivered to our room each morning was a nice touch. Thank you Suzanna and Giovanni for making our trip to Venice so memorable. Tina & Andy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaDenver48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights April 2012. It is a 3rd floor walkup, but they helped us carry our bags up and down. The rooms are clean, bright, spacious. Susanna went out of her way to get me delicious gluten-free cakes and crackers, etc, for breakfast, even tried finding fresh bread (I told her ahead of time I was celiac). Made us great coffee and nice breakfast trays every morning. Answered all our questions, helped make reservations. Great location right near Rialto bridge, nice restaurants nearby. My only complaint is the first night we were given a room with bathroom in the hallway, despite having made request for ensuite bathroom. They moved us the other two nights to the correct room with bath, but never got an explanation. This happened to me at another b&b in Verona, perhaps this is just how Italians roll. Other than that, no complaints, they couldn't be more helpful and friendly, which is much appreciated after hauling you and your luggage into Venice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km_travels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

After a great ferry ride to the Rialto bridge we walked 200m and we arrived at this charming b&b. The rooms are sizable and make sure you request an en-suite as they don't all have one. You need to carry your bags up 3 levels unless the owners son is here, but that's easily forgotten after the amazing breakfast that arrives, have a look at the photos, it's truly great to have breakfast in bed with such choice. Free wi-fi and a stocked communal fridge which you can help yourself to - fruit, biscuits, fizzy and still water, yoghurt, coffee/ tea etc.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugosampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the delightful Casa Gottardi. The location is ideal, just 100 feet from the Grand Canal and 100 yards from the Rialto Bridge. Only 10 minute walk from Piazza San Marco, it is just enough off the major tourist routes to allow guests to enjoy restaurants where some Venetians actually eat.

The rooms are large, beautifully decorated. Each of the three rooms have modern, private bathrooms, two are en suite and one is across the hall from the room. Two of the rooms have room for a family with bunk beds for a couple of kids.

A hearty breakfast includes fresh fruit, buns, croissants, yoghurt, butter, jams and a variety of biscuits as well as juices and a choice of hot beverages.

Owner Susanna is an excellent hostess providing maps, tourist info and suggestions for best places to eat, etc. She went out of her way to provide gluten free products for my wife.

Potential guests should be aware that it is necessary to navigate 65 stairss from ground level to Casa Gottardi. While staff will help get suitcases up and down the stairs, the stairs could be a problem for people with mobility issues.

Casa Gottardi is an excellent choice for a few days in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Ovidius
Locanda Ovidius
#212 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#178 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Abitare Rialto
Abitare Rialto
#250 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
San Polo
Ca' della Scimmia
Ca' della Scimmia
#8 of 216 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
San Polo
Magic Rialto
Magic Rialto
#49 of 216 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gottardi

Property: Casa Gottardi
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 688, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will live in the very heart of Venice, just fifty meters from the Rialto Bridge, surrounded by its most important monuments, only a few steps from the antique market, soaking up the typical Venetian lifestyle. You will feel perfectly at home with us. You will find all the comforts you could need or desire. Our "casa" is a bright sunlit attic in a small 17th century palace near the "Canal Grande”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing