We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we found this”
Review of Palazzo Cendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Cendon
Ranked #73 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had booked the room online and when we arrived, it turned out to be a suite with a separate sitting room and beautiful paintings. All that, in the centre of Venice, with even a complimentary bottle of wine, at EUR 90 a night!
The location is ideal: close to the train station, in a beautiful old part of town, and yet very quiet.
The breakfast was good, the staff were friendly, there was a good airconditioning (in both rooms).
Our room was accessible directly from the street and we could keep the key with us, so we could come and go as we liked.
We really liked this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Cendon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

When I booked this Hotel through Venere I got the Palazzo Cendron il Piano Nobile on sale for 100 Euros a night, reason for booking this room.  Upon our arrival we were put in the Mansarde, way at the top of the hotel, where the rooms are extremely small and hot!  When I realized that we were given the wrong room I asked to have us moved, and the staff insisted that for that price they do not give the other rooms away, and it was all based on availability.  So what’s the point of booking a relatively great room if you are going to be given the cheap room when you get there???  We were had by these people, and during this season it was almost impossible to go anywhere else.  Beware of booking with this hotel!  Since we were only there for two nights there was nothing I could do, but this review will also be posted on Trip Advisor.  I will not go back there!!!!

Stayed: August 2012
6  Thank OttawaBeachLover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Palazzo Cendon is a 15th Century house converted into an hotel, with an unpretentious entrance down a narrow street off the Cannaregio Canal within walking distance (or a few stops on the vaporetto) from the bus & railway stations. The staff were very friendly & English-speaking. The house wine was delightful - we brought a bottle home. Our room was quite stately, with traditional decor & a high ceiling. It takes some time on the vaporetti to reach the San Marco area, but there are plenty of restaurants near the hotel and the canal-sides are not quite as busy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We actually booked this hotel when we found it was 15th century, on a canal and had a Juliet balcony! 3 of our wants for our anniversary trip to Venice! Although the Cannaregio district is away from the main tourist sights, it is conveniently located to train station and Ferrovia Vaporetto (5 minute walk) and the bus station 20 minute walk and the Aliguna airport taxiboat at Ponte Giulie is few hundred yards down the canal. There are plenty of delightful restaurants just down the canal from the hotel and a busy touristy area 5 minutes away. the room was lovely with a 4 poster bed (mattress and pillows hard though!) and large marble bathroom. We spent an evening sitting on our pretty balcony watching the world float by on the canal, while eating a cheap meal of pizza and drinking the complimentary bottle of Prosecco! One morning we had a quick breakfast in the sun on the same balcony. The staff were very helpful in telling us times of boats etc and the best way to get to the sights-fun and easy by boat or walking-that we did not mind being off the beaten track. One morning we wandered into the Jewish quarter-the Ghetto Vecchio. In the main square there is a memorial to those who were deported to concentration camps- it is worth visiting and remembering.
Breakfast rather standard and served in a cramped ground floor room-bread and croissants were often burnt-coffee pretty bad! Fresh fruit muesli and yogurts were appreciated however. Air conditioning needed to be on the whole day to really cool the room-however they gave us a fan when we requested it and we were able to sleep much better.
On the whole very good value for money in a romantic and historic atmosphere-after all we spent less time in the hotel than out in Venice-gave us more money to spend on seeing the sights and dinner!

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal -suites with balcony are worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedsptcmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We found the hotel easily by following the hotels instructions. Upon signiong in we were told our room was outside at another entrance...alarm bells. oh dear we were put into some kind of apartment, dark and tiny windows. No this was not what i had booked, so we were upgraded to a suite...it was beautiful balcony over the canal , so much to see ..well worth booking a suite. the staff were so helpful with everything to make our stay in Venice wonderful.if I went back I would def. stay here Callergio is a beautiful district too, much less hectic than in the center. Thank you to all for making our anniversary break so special.

Room Tip: pay extra for a suite it is so worth it for the view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Good points - Location - very touristy area with everything you need, few minutes walk to station with many restaurants and shops in between, though just off the busiest area. On routes 4 and 5 vaporetti, you can change at station onto main lines. It is on the Orange line via Alilaguna from airport, second stop (Gulie), no need to go to St Marks first. Hotel has a lift, which was quite hard to find in a budget hotel in Venice, and was a necessity for us. We had a room on Piano Nobile (1st floor), this was very clean and towels were changed daily if required. Think rooms on higher floors may be smaller. Rooms had aircon. Staff were all very good and helpful, and spoke good English.

Not so good - Room was okay but shower room was disappointing. Overhead shower was just a trickle so used handheld shower instead, which was fine but there was nowhere for soap so you had to juggle a bit! Aircon worked when keycard was inserted, so when you went out it was not left on. Breakfast was adequate but not to be lingered over. Just the basic continental breakfast with thermos for drinks, but also an expresso machine - perfectly adequate though and breakfast room lady was very efficient. No view from side rooms, and yes there was noise from the bar on one night but you could hardly hear it if windows were kept closed.

Overall - could stay here again but would try to find somewhere better first. For the price though it is perfectly acceptable for a short stay if luxury is not a number one necessity.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms did have a better view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Although this hotel is quite a distance from the 'main' sites of Venice it is still in a good, quiet spot with some restaurants close by. The room had a fridge, a good sized bathroom and a window. There was air con but our room had a high ceiling (third floor), so we thought the air-con didn't circulate properly and we were VERY hot in there- so we struggled to sleep. But as we only needed the room to sleep it was good enough. The breakfast range was good and the staff spoke good English.
One annoying thing happened though- when we checked I asked if I could please pay cash for the room. I was assured this was fine but I should pay on check-out. The next day however I was told that my card had been charged for the room which annoyed me because I did not have enough money in my account so my account became over withdrawn and I received a fee for it. I just wish I hadn't been told previously that I could pay cash.
Overall though I would recommend this hotel- taking these things into consideration, but it was a great price.

Room Tip: A room facing the canal would be nicer...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 384 in Venice
1,006 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#191 of 384 in Venice
366 reviews
Cannaregio
La Palazzina Veneziana
La Palazzina Veneziana
#50 of 471 in Venice
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#24 of 471 in Venice
762 reviews
Cannaregio
Casa ai Due Leoni
Casa ai Due Leoni
#215 of 471 in Venice
196 reviews
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#39 of 471 in Venice
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cendon

Address: Calle Cendon Cannaregio 534, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $85 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Cendon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cendon is a palace rich in history and a peaceful retreat in a perfect venetian style. Overlooking the “canal di Cannaregio” - one of the ancient arteries of venetian trade - in the heart of Venice, it puts together the elegance of a 15th century palace with the modern services of a high level residence. The particular care for details and the utmost attention to guests’needs makes every stay a charmed and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Cendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cendon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing