We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with reasonable room rates”
Review of Palazzo Cendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Cendon
Ranked #63 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We visited Venice for two days before our cruise. We chose this hotel because of its location near the train station, bus terminal and close to a Vaporetto station. Venice is very expensive and our room rate of $150 per night was as much as we were willing to pay. The room was small but it had its own bathroom with shower, cable tv, mini bar and fridge, window to courtyard and it shared a common area which had a kitchen, dining room table and couch with an adjoining room. The breakfast room was upstairs and included fruit, yogurt, bread, butter, jam, honey, various cereals, juice and filtered coffee, tea and espresso. Free wi-fi access was available in the main building of the hotel near the front desk but not in our room which was remote from the rest of the hotel which was a former residence or palazzo. Our room did not have a view to the canal but the hotel itself fronts the canal. The entrance to the hotel is on a side street and not on the canal so you can easily miss it if you don't have the address in hand.

Room Tip: Don't take the lowest priced room- too small.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank moelmsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 453 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband and I just got back from an unforgetable trip to Europe. This was by far our favorite hotel! It had so much charm and character and was not just a regular old hotel. The complementary bottle of Chardonnay was so great that we purchased another. At only 8 Euros, it was quite a bargain. The hotel was very close to the FS (train station), yet it was out of the hustle and bustle of the main "road" through Cannaregio. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. There was a great little bar/cafe right near the hotel that we frequented for espresso and prosecco. The only one thing that might bother some people is that the bar (near the hotel) had music going until late at night. It didn't bother us at all though. A little added bonus was that we got to see the Pope ride through the canal that the hotel was on...very unexpected!

2 recommendations for dinner: Anice Stellato (in Cannaregio) was AMAZING! Very authentic food and very attentive waitstaff. Definitely make a reservation. Also Ostaria al Vecio Pizza had over 200 types of pizza. We went there 2 times!

A few other random recommendations: Buy the Lonely Planet Venice Encounter. It is small enough to put in your purse/bag and it has a great map. Walk around as much as possible and explore side streets. We found some really beautiful pictures that way. Bring mosquito repellant if you plan on walking around at night.

If we ever decide to come back to Venice, we will definitely stay at Palazzo Cendon again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank islandtropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel is located in the Cannaregio area of the city, which is a more residental area of the city. It would 30 minutes to walk to St Marks Square, but there are water bus services located nearby. When we arrived at the hotel we were shown to our room by the receptionist and we were given a complementary bottle of wine. We had a room over looking the canal, which do cost more money however as the rooms tend to be somewhat larger. Our room had a four poster bed in it - although the bed was firm. There was also a fridge in the roomThe bathroom was large by comparison to European standards. The rooms were cleaned everyday.

We stayed on the first floor, but breakfast room was on the second floor; there was another breakfast room on the third floor. The breakfast was however basic.

There is a bar located next to the hotel. When we arrived on Friday night there was music being played until around 1 in the morning. We didn't find that the music was played that loudly the other 4 nights we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalton_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I arrived for the first time in Marco Parlo airport on a Thursday morning with my wife. After a simple process of getting two bus tickets we arrived at the bus station on the outskirts of the canals of Venice.
After a walk of less than 10 minutes past the train station and with very good directions from the hotels website we found the hotels entrance up a small side street off the Cannaregio canal itself.
We arrived at the same time as at least another 3 couples and were entertained and educated on some helpful hints on the differences between water taxis and vaparetto's, after a simple check in we were shown to our room on the 3rd floor - it seems that the higher the floor the simpler the surroundings and the cheaper the rooms. I think we got an absolute bargain at 4 nights for a total of around £400 for 4 nights. The room was very clean, well furnished and with a good tiled bathroom with a clean hot shower, we overlooked a side street with a bar at the canal end and a small area which is under renovation and overlooked terracotta tiled roofs.
The only negative was the bar at the end of the street and some building work which started at 8am every morning apart from Sunday both of which were noisy and finished late at night and work started early.
I travel quite frequently and always take earplugs so personally this didn't bother me in the slightest and I've mentioned it for information.
The trip itself was superb and to have a few days away from any traffic was amazing, Venice itself is an interesting and attractive city and the Palazzo's location was excellent you walk a 100 yards to the end of the street and you can turn right and go effectively anticlockwise around venice, or in our opinion turn right and it's a superb walk clockwise towards the Rialto bridge and eventually St Marks Square.
The weather was again superb around 20 degrees with beautiful blue skies which is the final niggle, obviously the Italians find this chilly and although the room had air conditioning it only worked in a heating mode to warm the room up! Us being from the North of England found it very warm at night as it seems that the heat rose through the building and made it difficult to get off to sleep, but the room, the bed and the surroundings more than made up for this, but during the summer months I would expect that it would be sorted by the hotel.
The reception, the service, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke everytime we passed.
Each floor had its own breakfast room, ours on the "cheaper" third floor had the usual Italian breakfast - breadbuns, croissants, apricot tarts, jams, butters, coffee and teas and hot milks, the impossible to eat dried sliced toasts that come in packets, but all in all a decent start to the morning. However, we had to breakfast on the second floor one morning and it was slightly more upmarket and had an espresso machine, but not much different. And as with the rest of the hotel the cleanliness was impeccable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Cendon in October 2008 with two other couples. We arrived at Santa Lucia station at 11:00 PM after a long train trip from Roma, and then walked ~15 mins through the fog to the hotel. The fog, quiet streets and canals set the mood for a wonderful couple of days in Venezia! When we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by name (I guess we were the last to arrive that day) and took the lift to our room. The decor was lovely. We were very impressed with the hung fabric wallcoverings and the marble-tile walls of the small but functional bathroom.

After a restful sleep, we awoke to a view of a quiet side street and the Canareggio Canal. Boats were making deliveries, children were walking to school, and there was not a tourist in sight. The included breakfast was wonderful and plentiful! The fare included meats, cheeses, eggs, breads and pastries, jams, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. We filled at breakfast up each morning, which allowed us to have a quick bite at lunch, and then a hearty dinner. By doing so, we saved money in this expensive city, to spend later on souvenirs. Speaking of money, the cost of the room and breakfast was only 127 Euros a night! The San Marcuola vaporetto (ferry) stop was a 5 min walk along the canal and past a great market. By staying at the Cendon, were were able to cruise the Grand Canal twice a day, getting a close-up look at all the waterside mansions and museums.

We heartily recommend the Palazzo Cendon for its quite location, comfort and great value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpikeMeister226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Great little hotel on the Cannaregio canal ! Very clean and the staff was awesome! Hotel is close to train station and shopping but not all the crowds. I would stay right here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittymom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I took my husband as a surprise and what a lovely place. It was a nice easy walk from the train and bus stations, partly along a street with great pizza bars and ice cream shops. The location of the hotel is quiet but central enough to easily get to the Renalto etc in 20 minutes walk. The main reception is on the side street, not the canal frontage (as we were busy knocking on the wrong door!). The reception staff are great, friendly and smiley.

A few of the comments relate in a negative way to the breakfast, I was fully expecting a small offering and to have to get coffe etc out and about. In fact, there was a basic, but enjoyable selection of rolls, yoghurts, juices, fresh fruit and tea, coffee etc to set you up for the day.

The room was beautiful, clean, opening windows and a good bathroom.

I would recommend it and stay there if I went to Venice again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,183 reviews
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#42 of 476 in Venice
381 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#69 of 476 in Venice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#34 of 476 in Venice
305 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#12 of 476 in Venice
658 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#13 of 476 in Venice
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cendon

Address: Calle Cendon Cannaregio 534, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $71 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Cendon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cendon is a palace rich in history and a peaceful retreat in a perfect venetian style. Overlooking the “canal di Cannaregio” - one of the ancient arteries of venetian trade - in the heart of Venice, it puts together the elegance of a 15th century palace with the modern services of a high level residence. The particular care for details and the utmost attention to guests’needs makes every stay a charmed and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Cendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cendon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing