We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bella Venezia Ripped Me Off!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Venezia to your Saves list
Bella Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 384 Hotels in Venice
La Vergne, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Bella Venezia Ripped Me Off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through venere.com and realized several weeks before our trip that the dates were wrong. venere.com didn't do a good job in resolving this issue, but Hotel Bella Venezia was notified several weeks before our trip that we would not be able to make the dates booked. They had plenty of time to re-book the hotel. We thought all was fine and then noticed a charge on our credit card for this hotel. Even though venere.com was responsible for the problem, I feel Hotel Bella took advantage of this situation. I sent three e-mails directly to them and never received a single response. I feel they collected money from us for a room we never used and were also able to book the room to someone else. I feel this was dishonest and wish they had had the courtesy to reply to one of my e-mails. I'm going to Venice again next month, but I DID NOT book this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBellaVenezia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bella Venezia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Debbie,
we are really sorry to read how upset you are concerning the reservation, but on the same time we'd like to point out that you made a reservation on Venere.com for advance rate not refundable, that is very discounted rate but it does not allow cancellation or amendment as it is very clearly stated on the web-site where you made the reservation, so you were aware about cancelattion policy.
Furthermore you did not inform us or Venere immediately, ) please note that Venere sent you a confirmation on the same day...) and we have replied to your email, though our answer cannot agree with your request.
Anyway I think that when you wrote "Hotel Bella Venezia ripped me off", it is not true at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
københavn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked and paid a 4 star "hotel Palazzo La Scala" according to photos and descrip-tion on there webside, but was directed to one of their other properties, (the Bella is one of a group of three) "Palazzo La Scala", 100 m down Calle del Fabbri.
A horrible place, comparable with a 2 star non serviced guesthouse.
A room with no view and tap remounted with tape in bathroom!!!!
We complained but they refused to change the room. Upgraded they called it, but not at all what we booked!
It seems that little of the 4 star rooms are in "Hotel Bella Venezia" and the rest 2 star are in other locations.
The change to get what you paid for, is less than 30% and we would advise anyone to go another place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ivang971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Bella is one of a group of three. We had booked and paid for four nights at one of their other properties. When we arrived we were told the one we booked had work taking place and they had moved us to the bella. Upgraded they called it
The Bella was a horrible dreary place not at all what we booked. They said if we didnt like it we could leave so we did.
they refused to refund any of our 680 euros which we now have to try to get back
I would never advise anyone to go here or any of their other hotels

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank philipoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have just got back from staying at the Hotel Bella Venezia and I fully Recommend a stay here.
We arrived on valentines day and we got the water bus from the airport which is the most reasonable priced way of getting to venice.

Best way to locate the Hotel is to exit off the water bus at Rialto Bridge, from there there is an alley directly opposite which you follow until you hit Calle de Fabbri where the hotel is located.
There are no bridges to clamber over with suitcases if you choose to go this way.
The hotel is quite hard to find as it is on a shopping street but it is directly opposite a leather handbag shop which always helped me locate hotel.

The staff where really helpful and where always on hand to help with any questions.
As it was My 30th they upgraded me to a Superior room (room 105) which was lovely and although it did not have a view it was rather large and very clean and included bathrobes and slippers which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was a mix of different options, like scrambled eggs ,bacon,sausages/ Crossiants , Cereal , Muffins and fruit.
There was also free Wi fi at the Hotel and a computer and printer you can freely use.

St Marks square is a 5 minute walk and Rialto is slightly closer so it was very easy to visit all major attractions from this location.

Venice is very costly and if you want to have lunch on the Grand Canal near Rialto Bridge go to the furthest one down which we found to be the cheapest and still had lovely views.
( by doing this we saved 25 euros for the same meal offered at the first restaurant located next to rialto)

Gondalas are well worth doing and it is a set price of 80 Euros for 30 mins-40 mins.

To save the best money wonder down to the university district as the meals are still lovely but half the price compared to San Marco area.

Expect to pay 3-5 euros for a coffee in the backstreets and 8-10 Euros in main attraction areas.
Meals are from 8 - 17 euros for a pizza and 10 -25 euros for other main meals.
A lot of places offer tourist menus for a set price of 14- 25 euros for a 3 course dinner.

There is not much nightlife in venice and it is very hard to find a place just to have a drink.
But if you wonder by foot you will come across a few Irish bars and Jazz Bars you can go to.

All in all Venice is one of the most amazing cities I have ever visited and the Bella Venezia is in a perfect location to explore.

Room Tip: Room 105 is a Superior room on the 1st floor. There is no view but it is a reasonable size and decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dj_colbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When hunting on line for a hotel in Venice, I was looking for reasonable price with great location. The Bella Venezia hotel filled both much better than expected. Situated midway between St Mark's square and the Rialto bridge, it was convenient to all the sights we wished to see. The room was excellent with a nice bathroom including robe and slippers.
The morning breakfast was American style with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and lots of
pastries and breads. If I were going back to Venice I would definitely rebook the Bella Venezia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked a room at the Bella Venezia, at least we thought we booked a room there. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that we actually booked a room at their annex property, which is in another building about 50 yards from the main hotel.

Our room there was extremely small. The temperature was very hot and there was no way to control the temperature in the room.

We complained to the hotel but were told there was nothing they could do.

The positive part of this experience is that the property is in a very good location for seeing the main sites of Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spend some days in Venice visiting the Architecture Biennale at the end of october.
the location is very good and quite accessible with the vaporeto or the alilaguna shuttle from the airport, just step out at Rialto.
Room was ok, enough room but not "roomy". Window view was espectacular, directly above the canal behind and parallel Calle dei Fabbri.
Breakfast was ok, though we still need to understand that asking for coffee is better that getting the coffee ourselves from the machine. the waitress gets the coffee from another machine in the back (better?)
Location is one of the main features, but the staff at reception is very helpful, nice and interested in their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#233 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#22 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Venezia

Address: San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Venezia is a four stars hotel located in Calle dei Fabbri, in the heart of Venice, just few steps from Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark Square. It is easily reachable by all the public and private service on duty in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bella Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Venezia Venice
Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing