We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #57 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family of three stayed in a triple in this hotel in May 2014, and I'm really glad we chose to this hotel! We stayed in the triple that has two separate rooms, each with their own bathroom. It's perfect for families traveling with a surly teenager that needs his own space (i.e., my brother).

The location in San Marco was perfect. Short walking distance to a lot of sights and good restaurants. The walk from the closest water taxi stop is only about 10 minutes.

The best part of this hotel, in my opinion, was the service. Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The airline had lost my luggage on my flight into Italy, and the front desk was really helpful with communicating with the airline about directions for dropping off my suitcase. The one morning we slept in and nearly missed breakfast. My mom ran downstairs to grab us something to eat, and they insisted on preparing a whole tray to bring up to us.

Wifi was free, you just had to get a code to sign in with. It's one code per device, but they gave us as many codes as we needed without questioning it.

Overall, good location, reasonable price, good breakfast, friendly staff. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank britbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We arrived in Venice to start our vacation through Italy. Daniel and all the staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with directions.
This is a small hotel that is beautifully furnished inside. There is a small patio downstairs on the canal.
The location is perfect, being far enough away from the touristy areas, yet within walking distance of everything.
The bathroom was very spacious considering European standards.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are the best. It is a small canal so not a problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Family of three stayed in Suite 310 for 3 nights. We felt this is a hard working little hotel that does it's very best to cater to budget travelers. Doing Venice on a budget is about prioritizing and giving up what you can sacrifice. All in all, I was satisfied with my choice to stay here.

Pros: The location is superb -- You simply can't beat that in value. 5 min stroll to San Marco and a dock that makes water taxis convenient. 24 hour front desk offers security. The free breakfast is good quality with excellent cappuccino and attentive servers. Room was clean and all the employees are pleasant and hard working. All the basic amenities like driers, hot water for coffee are offered. Everything, including the A/C and shower, was in good working condition during our stay.

Cons: Rococo style Interior could use a revamp in both the common areas and the private rooms.The carpets look like they have seen better days. Our room 310 was a decent size room that opened up to the 3rd floor sitting area, but when anyone on the same floor inserted their key into their door, our door would shake like someone was about to bust in. Don't expect a hand with your luggage as this is a small hotel that doesn't have manpower to spare. Tiny elevator is for 1 or 2 skinny people. Breakfast room is about the size of a small bedroom and you will be sitting elbow to elbow with strangers. Wifi works but is slow.

Room Tip: Room 310 is a good size room. We were a family of 3 and the hotel converted a sofa into a child'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aquavanguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We just came back after staying 2 nights. We had a great little room made up of 2 separate rooms - 1 with a double, 1 with a single and 2 bathrooms! (Room 206). Perfect as we were traveling with our 16 year old son! The rooms were nice - typical Venetian style and adequate space especially for Europe! Very clean, large bathrooms.Internet was spotty but also typical I think! Breakfast was good too and nice that it was included. Location was great - easy to get to st marks square. We took a private water taxi to and from airport. Expensive, but so worth it! Beautiful views and super convenient --- not walking through Venice with luggage! The staff was friendly and helpful. Having drinks on the tiny dock was also great! Would definitely recommend this hotel and come back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a pleasant enough hotel in a good location, but really is a basic 3 star hotel with just ok service. If you don't expect much you won't be disppointed! There was no help with our luggage when we arrived, but thankfully there was a lift. It is very small but holds a person and a large case. The room we had was fairly spacious and looked onto the canal, or at least the building next door which was very beautiful. There were no closing curtains, but we realised that you close the external shutters each night to provide privacy and block the light. The bed and pillows were very firm but comfortable enough; the bathroom was very aged and a bit cramped with a stand in shower that has seen better days; and the decor was typically Venetian. The continental breakfast was ok and provided in a small room looking onto the canal or if you are quick you can get the table out on the boat ramp area. The wifi was very poor with little signal from one's room and if you could get a signal elsewhere, it was very slow. I heard the same problem from other guests. There is a computer but this is set up on a coffee table in a cramped space and was equally slow. I suspect the internet connection only works when one person is using it. Also, you only receive one key which is a problem when there are two of you and one wants to return to have a rest or the other is trying to get onto the internet. The best thing was that if you pay cash you get a 10% discount, so this is a welcome reprieve from high Venetian costs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragamuffin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this place. The hotel has its own private dock for water taxis which is a great plus when you are lugging your bags from / to airports . Another plus is the lift albeit small .
We stayed in the Junior suite ,which is a bit small to accommodate 4 people....but this is Venice !
There are a lot of restaurants close by , even a supermarket . St Mark's square is just a 7 min walk although you don't realize it coz of all the window shopping !
We asked the hotel to pick us up from the St Lucia station as well as got dropped at the Airport. No hassles , very prompt and reasonable charge.
Pros :
Clean, charming room , great location .
Cons :
Limited choice in the breakfast , more a cold one.

On the whole, will definitely recommend.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barmanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We started our Italian vacation with a five-night stay here. I booked a triple room. Based on TA recommendations I asked if there was a place for 3 with separate bed and bathrooms for my daughter. It wasn't what I had initially booked, but the staff said they would try to accommodate us. They weren't able to the first night, and the three of us in a small triple room would have been tight, but they knew at check-in they would be able to move us the next day.

The suite overlooked the land entrance from our daughter's room and a little courtyard from ours. It was delightful. But more wonderful were the location and service, which was super in a very homey kind of way. The breakfast was the best we had in three sites in Italy - it's not fancy, but there were some nice cereal, fruit, cheese and bread options, and the cappuccino was very good.

We asked the front desk if we could have breakfast on the gondola landing and were able to on several mornings, which was wonderful. And on two evenings we had prosecco on the landing to end our night. The last evening there, in fact, they brought out not only prosecco but fresh cut fruit, and one of the front desk guys took a picture of us with a gondola passing by in the background that was our favorite memory of the trip.

The location was perfect. We were able to make it to Basilica San Marco for morning mass in less than 10 minutes, but we were away from the crush of tourists. We enjoyed the shops just around the hotel and got to know a couple artisans in the area.

When we left, the woman who runs he hotel gave us big hugs and hoped we would return soon. So do we!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Drays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
787 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 387 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 387 in Venice
1,317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 387 in Venice
779 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 387 in Venice
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $90 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing