We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem - my future home away from home”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #57 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel Becher is perfectly placed for any excursion on Venice, only minutes away from everything. A deliciously appointed boutique hotel in a quiet area with luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms in the traditional Venetian style. Ours, a junior suite, was blue and gold - with brocade floor-length curtains, gold embossed fabric on the walls, a comfortable double bed and a modern bathroom in tiny beige tiles, with a bathtub and plenty of hot water. Our room also faced the small canal, and several times in the late afternoon/early evening we would be treated to professional musicians and singers performing in the gondolas sailing by below our open windows.

Staying at the hotel Becher is being surrounded by smiling friendliness, capability and easy good manners. Especially Massimo Volcan at the front desk went out of his way to make our stay special, tremendously enjoyable and unforgettable - all the while appearing to enjoy it as much as us. You seriously want to listen to him when he offers to suggest good restaurants - he will direct you to intimate local places lightyears away from the run-of-the mill touristy traps, restaurants like Al Remer and La Feluca where you sample sumptuous traditional Venetian dishes among the inhabitants of the city.

I have been to Venice several times - I love the city and I've always adored my stays.
Hotel Becher, however, with its wonderful staff, has that something extra. It's like staying with friends. And it is THE hotel I will return to from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 968 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Its a little hotel but its very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Its location cant be better, just a small walk to Piazza San Marcos but at the same time its not in a busy area. The room was very spacious and are very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstebanSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a gem very close to San Marco. We were 3 of us and stayed in room# 301. It was very large and comfortable beds. The hotel staff were very pleasing and helped us find good restaurant and advised us to buy a bottle of wine and sit by the hotel doc and watch the gondolas go by. A very pleasant stay. We would stay again. The breakfast was very good and also the coffee.
Austin, texas

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuttaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Six of us travelled from Sydney as part of a month long Europe holiday and took 2 rooms here for 3 nights in late Sep. There are hundreds of hotels in Venice and many in the Hotel Becher category but we absolutely loved our stay here due in large part to the friendly and helpful staff we met.

Firstly however about the hotel. Hotel Becher is in the perfect position in the centre of San Marco and walking distance to all the key attractions including St Mark’s square and the Rialto Bridge. Shops start right next door. The hotel facilities and amenities are what you would expect for that level in Venice and definitely clean, safe and appealing. We had free wifi and breakfast included. We loved the fact that the hotel is next to a canal and has its own private jetty – we took a private water taxi from the airport straight to the hotel when we arrived...awesome. We sat on the jetty one evening with a bottle of wine and olives – right on the canal with a little bridge just ahead and gondolas passing by our feet...awesome again!

However what most sets this hotel apart is the staff. A big call out to Massimo, Daniel and Anna for making our stay wonderful - you were always friendly and helpful. Thank you for your restaurant suggestions – we had some great meals because of you and thanks Massimo for your wine advice.

Hopefully we will be back again sometime and I would absolutely try and book in at Hotel Becher again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajivTRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely cute hotel,brilliant location but I think it could be quite difficult to find first of all but in good area to access all of the main sights,if you can splash out take a private water taxi from the airport drops you right at the hotel dock we added the grand canal tour on arrival and it was lovely and you could get your bearings as to where everything was, the hotel was very clean ,quiet and the staff were very pleasant,we has room 310 junior suite it overlooked the canal and you could hear and see the gondoliers as they sang ,the breakfast was quite good all you could want really on a continental breakfast .the only tiny fault is the breakfast room is very small ,but overall I would recommend this hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Looking for accommodation in Venice was a nightmare, as rooms are really expensive. Luckily we found this great hotel within San Marco. In order to reach this hotel, you may either get a water taxi or walk a short distance from the Vaperatto stop from San Macro. The only problem is lugging your baggage across the cobbled streets and bridges. The staff were all extremely helpful including Anna. When Anna found out that we were on our Honeymoon, Anna arranged a complimentary deluxe room for our 2nd night. Anna also recommended a good
restaurant- Vino Vino which is better than the others that we had. There's a small dock where you can unwind with a couple of drinks and watch the gondolas pass by. The rooms were comfortable and clean. My wife loved the Victorian styled furnishings. The breakfast selection was excellent. the hotel also offers a complimentary tour of a Murano glass making factory. Don't feel pressured to spend at the factory and just admire their
glass pieces. Venice is relatively safer than Rome. When night falls, you might notice some street peddlers trying to sell imitation goods outside the boutique shops. Will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Tan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed a couple of night in this hotel with my wife on an anniversary. The price of the hotel is on the high side but ...what isn't in Venice. However, given the cost, the quality of the hotel is really superior. It has a nice water entrance so if you decide to arrive on a taxi-boat the arrival is really special. Luxury level although small. Rooms are like one would expect them to be with windows on the small canal so if you are lucky you can hear gondola singers passing by.
Only little negative point is that the breakfast room is really small so if you arrive at the wrong moment you might need to wait for others to finish. Overall, though, the hotel is really nice, close to La Fenice and a few minutes away from San Marco. If you decide to treat yourself to something luxurious, you know you will get value for money, which is not really always the case in Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiacomoBPavia_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
788 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 387 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 387 in Venice
1,317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 387 in Venice
779 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 387 in Venice
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $90 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing