We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and location”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #56 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

very nice and cozy with great view to the cannals!!!! excellent service and wonderful frree breakfast!!! We went as family with my two small children, we felt safe walking around late at night, walking distance to main atractions. The kids LOVED the gondolas and could see them from our room and hear the serenates... at same time all you do is close the windows and have peace and quiet in your room......LOVED it. great value as well

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 335lizzie2012335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 963 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel Becher is a perfectly located, beautiful little hotel - you almost feel that you are staying in someone's own home. We stayed in room 201 which overlooked the narrow street and entrance. The decor was wonder, the bed pretty and comfy and the shower hot and powerful.
I loved the breakfast room which was small and intimate and overlooked the canal. A great selection of food from pastries, cheeses, ham, muffins, cereal, fruit, quiche and freshly made tea and coffee.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful too. I was sad to leave and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

First impressions are lasting impressions and this hotel left a mark on me. The moment you walk into this charming hotel and greeted by the staff made you feel at home. Massimo and Anna Thank you for making our stay a memorable one. My family and I visited Venice January 7th and we found this hotel comforable and warm, our room was just right for three people, the bathroom was big and roomy. The buffet breakfast was good, the buffet room is small, but its cozy and you feel like your in a personnel dining room. Location was great, rooms are very clean. Safe in the room. Once you settle into your room, just explore venice and don't worry about getting lost. When we left the next day, we shared the private water taxi with another family, thanks to Massimo. When we return to Venice we would stay here again. They treated us like family. Don't over look this gem of a place in Venice, you will not regret staying here......Make your reservation now!

Room Tip: Wear flat shoes and just walk and enjoy this seaside city......Get direction from the water taxi sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATOZNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From all the hotels in Venice, we fortunately selected Hotel Becher for our first visit to Venice in Nov 2012. First, the staff was super friendly, informative and accomodating. Second, the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The cappucinos were abundant at breakfast. Third, the canal view room was small but all that a couple needs. Fourth, good location near St Marks and Realto bridge. And the answer is YES....to if we would return to this hotel. So try it, you'll like it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I traveled through Italy for 2 weeks in november for out honeymoon and this was the best hotel of our trip! I will say initially it was hard to find but if you can get walking directions from the San Marco water stop it really is a short 5-10 minute walk tops! Miss Anna was so wonderful from the moment we walked in and the rest of the staff was all so friendly. She went above and beyond to make sure or stay and experience in Venice was outstanding!! The room is a bit small but again I am an American so most rooms in Europe are smaller than what we are used to. It was very clean and had everything we needed. We had a very nice view of the canal and was not noisy in the least. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the Rialto and the hotel was also very helpful in giving us directions to get over there. The breakfast was great, only hotel that made cappuccino's fresh instead of from a machine. For the location and price this is a great hotel to stay, the great and helpful staff just makes it an even better reason to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Anna the owner is extremely helpful with her candid answers. Hotel has an elevator and a dock for your water taxi from the airport. Concierge was also very helpful. Breakfasts are great. Location is mid way between San Marco Square and Realto Bridge. Short 15 minute walk to either. I would highly recommend this hotel. Drawbacks ? Heat in our room was too high. Advice ? Get a room overlooking the canal. Also, stay in Venice at least 2 days to see all that's there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side for a view of gondolas coming by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here last August, 2012 for four nights. It was our first time in Venice. Hotel Becher was the perfect location to discover Venice, being situated at the centre of San Marco district and within 5 minutes walk from the San Marco Square. It is a small little boutique hotel hidden in a narrow alley, but right from the entrance, was clean and air conditioned. We rented the family room (hard to find in Venice), which offered surprisingly plenty of space for our family, which includes two grown teenagers. Right from when we disembarked from our water taxi, we felt the warmth, welcome and genuine hospitality from the front staff. Both front clerks, Anna and Massimo, offered consistent, friendly and helpful service throughout our stay, making us feel like part of a family. Another big plus was the included buffet breakfast, which was one of the best I've seen - fresh and full of variety. The ladies serving the breakfast were super helpful and very courteous. The best location and the best value - you will not be disappointed! We will visit again!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with three or more, pay extra to get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,301 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#72 of 385 in Venice
769 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#59 of 385 in Venice
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#23 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#41 of 385 in Venice
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing