We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

From all the hotels in Venice, we fortunately selected Hotel Becher for our first visit to Venice in Nov 2012. First, the staff was super friendly, informative and accomodating. Second, the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The cappucinos were abundant at breakfast. Third, the canal view room was small but all that a couple needs. Fourth, good location near St Marks and Realto bridge. And the answer is YES....to if we would return to this hotel. So try it, you'll like it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    248
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
199
491
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I traveled through Italy for 2 weeks in november for out honeymoon and this was the best hotel of our trip! I will say initially it was hard to find but if you can get walking directions from the San Marco water stop it really is a short 5-10 minute walk tops! Miss Anna was so wonderful from the moment we walked in and the rest of the staff was all so friendly. She went above and beyond to make sure or stay and experience in Venice was outstanding!! The room is a bit small but again I am an American so most rooms in Europe are smaller than what we are used to. It was very clean and had everything we needed. We had a very nice view of the canal and was not noisy in the least. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the Rialto and the hotel was also very helpful in giving us directions to get over there. The breakfast was great, only hotel that made cappuccino's fresh instead of from a machine. For the location and price this is a great hotel to stay, the great and helpful staff just makes it an even better reason to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Anna the owner is extremely helpful with her candid answers. Hotel has an elevator and a dock for your water taxi from the airport. Concierge was also very helpful. Breakfasts are great. Location is mid way between San Marco Square and Realto Bridge. Short 15 minute walk to either. I would highly recommend this hotel. Drawbacks ? Heat in our room was too high. Advice ? Get a room overlooking the canal. Also, stay in Venice at least 2 days to see all that's there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side for a view of gondolas coming by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here last August, 2012 for four nights. It was our first time in Venice. Hotel Becher was the perfect location to discover Venice, being situated at the centre of San Marco district and within 5 minutes walk from the San Marco Square. It is a small little boutique hotel hidden in a narrow alley, but right from the entrance, was clean and air conditioned. We rented the family room (hard to find in Venice), which offered surprisingly plenty of space for our family, which includes two grown teenagers. Right from when we disembarked from our water taxi, we felt the warmth, welcome and genuine hospitality from the front staff. Both front clerks, Anna and Massimo, offered consistent, friendly and helpful service throughout our stay, making us feel like part of a family. Another big plus was the included buffet breakfast, which was one of the best I've seen - fresh and full of variety. The ladies serving the breakfast were super helpful and very courteous. The best location and the best value - you will not be disappointed! We will visit again!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with three or more, pay extra to get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here last week for 5 nights... The hotel staff make the place, so helpful and friendly. Especially in giving tips on where to go/see and places to eat etc.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the Water Bus stop (San Marco) that you get from the Airport (the best way to go IMO). Also only 5 minutes from St.Mark's Square and also The Rialto in the other direction. The rooms are clean, warm, nicely decorated, and cleaned daily, and the shower/bathroom is nice too (important for me). We stayed in a 'Superior' room and would recommend this for the value for money.

The breakfast put on by the hotel, although fairly basic, was decent and kept us going for a few hours until lunch.

Would definitely recommend staying at Hotel Becher.... Go get lost in Venice, great fun!

Room Tip: Go for a 'Superior' room with a Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel Becher is a small hotel (only 17 rooms) 5 minutes from Place St-Marc and the Water Bus Station.
The service is excellent and the room decorated in typical Italian style. Breakfast are served in a quaint room beside the canal and a good variety of food ,not usually offered in a "continental breakfast, is available.
The staff was very helpful in recommending good restaurants. and making arrangements for our departure
I has been quite an adventure to find the hotel in the rain and in the dark upon our arrival, even with precises directions, but that is the fun of being in Venice, i.e. getting lost!!
Everything was very clean and well kept.
We will stay there again when we visit Venice.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the canal. It is more expensive but it is quite an experience to have the gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

After disembarking from our cruise, my husband and I set off to find the hotel. It's not easy to locate after the first time. We made arrangements with the ship to have our luggage brought to directly to the hotel which is a plus. Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly staff who was able to answer our questions about transportation and sites to visit. Our room was located on the third floor and with a large sitting area in front of our room. The elevators are very small but we were able to fit with two large suitcases. Our room was large and had a nice size bathroom. Our window opened up over the canal and near the bridge. The air conditioner worked but decided to open the windows when it got warm. (Voices carry from the bridge so beware). Nice sized armoire to hang your clothes, The second day there was no hot water and the staff manager came up right away. We got hot water after 30 minutes. The breakfast was filling and breakfast area a bit cramped. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazycruiser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#49 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#19 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#81 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing