We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #55 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here last week for 5 nights... The hotel staff make the place, so helpful and friendly. Especially in giving tips on where to go/see and places to eat etc.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the Water Bus stop (San Marco) that you get from the Airport (the best way to go IMO). Also only 5 minutes from St.Mark's Square and also The Rialto in the other direction. The rooms are clean, warm, nicely decorated, and cleaned daily, and the shower/bathroom is nice too (important for me). We stayed in a 'Superior' room and would recommend this for the value for money.

The breakfast put on by the hotel, although fairly basic, was decent and kept us going for a few hours until lunch.

Would definitely recommend staying at Hotel Becher.... Go get lost in Venice, great fun!

Room Tip: Go for a 'Superior' room with a Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    257
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
209
507
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel Becher is a small hotel (only 17 rooms) 5 minutes from Place St-Marc and the Water Bus Station.
The service is excellent and the room decorated in typical Italian style. Breakfast are served in a quaint room beside the canal and a good variety of food ,not usually offered in a "continental breakfast, is available.
The staff was very helpful in recommending good restaurants. and making arrangements for our departure
I has been quite an adventure to find the hotel in the rain and in the dark upon our arrival, even with precises directions, but that is the fun of being in Venice, i.e. getting lost!!
Everything was very clean and well kept.
We will stay there again when we visit Venice.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the canal. It is more expensive but it is quite an experience to have the gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

After disembarking from our cruise, my husband and I set off to find the hotel. It's not easy to locate after the first time. We made arrangements with the ship to have our luggage brought to directly to the hotel which is a plus. Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly staff who was able to answer our questions about transportation and sites to visit. Our room was located on the third floor and with a large sitting area in front of our room. The elevators are very small but we were able to fit with two large suitcases. Our room was large and had a nice size bathroom. Our window opened up over the canal and near the bridge. The air conditioner worked but decided to open the windows when it got warm. (Voices carry from the bridge so beware). Nice sized armoire to hang your clothes, The second day there was no hot water and the staff manager came up right away. We got hot water after 30 minutes. The breakfast was filling and breakfast area a bit cramped. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazycruiser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

a very nice hotel, conveniently located near to st mark's square, yet off the beaten track so as to be quiet. the hotel has a private landing on a canal, so arriving/leaving via taxi is the way to go! the staff are extremely nice and friendly and helpful; that alone makes the stay worthwhile. the breakfasts are fine, with enough food to tide you over 'till your next meal.

it should be noted that the rooms do differ in size and views. we had three people travelling together and had three different (types of) rooms: my room was a single, on the ground floor, and was small with quite low ceilings. i had a window on the canal; the water level at high tide was just about 3 feet below the window. for me, it was claustrophobic. but i must admit that for the (low) price that i paid, it was very reasonably priced. one other of our rooms was very-good sized, but had a view of an interior air shaft. and the third room that we had was enormous and had a private balcony over the canal. all were, in my opinion, appropriately priced; you got what you paid for.

i would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel and i really feel like at home when came to 2nd time. Staff were very nice. He greets us and serves us very well. And i met those 2 staffs ( afternoon and night shifts ) and they were all very nice.
I still stay in this hotel now when I write down this review.
Not only staffs. Most of the aspect of this hotel were all good.
I really highly recommend this hotel for who wants to stay in venice.
C i a o!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreSIndrawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights to celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time! I would say this was a great luxury hotel and would definitely stay there again given the chance. The cost was very reasonable for what we got. We booked a normal double room with no view but got upgraded at no extra cost to a beautiful room with canal view. The location was the best I could choose for Venice. The hotel had it's own mini landing stage to you could arrive by gondola or taxi! It was 5 minutes at the most from San Marco and the main canal quayside - most beautiful views! It was slightly off the very touristy bit but still had lovely shops and restaurants very near. The breakfast was simple (continental - cereal, fruit, cheeses etc) but plenty of it and very good quality.
If there was one slight criticism it was that the breakfast room was a bit small and sometimes there was no room to sit down so you had to wait for a table but we were in no hurry so it didn't matter. That only happened to us once anyway.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. A bulb needed changing in our room and they did it straight away.
Don't hesitate, book this one!

Room Tip: The canal view room was rather noisy but that's Venice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyputthekettleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location was great,you need to pay attention to where you are going instead of looking at the awesome sites and store windows so that you don't get lost, great location.
Fell in love with Venice,will be back!

Room Tip: We used water taxi service so finding hotel was easy Family room & bathroom was spacious We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#38 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#17 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing