We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flooding in Venice”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #63 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Flooding in Venice”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fairly decent hotel with great service and small rooms. The breakfast is free so it's hard to complain to much about the lack of options. Our room was clean, with a great view on the canal. The location is within a few minutes of St Marco square. If you do come in flood season no matter where you stay make sure to get a room above the first floor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    263
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
214
520
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October and arrived the day after the highest water levels in living memory. Despite this the hotel staff were helpful and our room was not affected. The hotel is 5 mins walk from St Marks Square and as we had paid extra for a canal view we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Venice. It's worth that little bit extra to get the canal view and would recommend room 302.

Room Tip: Room 302 has the small balcony and view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zxr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Belcher is a fine hotel located near the La Fenice opera house in Venice. It is in a relatively quiet location, close to major sites.

Our room was nicely furnished. Staff members were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here. There is a dock that can be used for water taxis, and gondolas pass by the hotel's breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Location, breakfast, quiet room, friendly staff. All these things are important when you travel with a 14 and 12 year old teenager to Venice as a family. We splashed out on arriving by Water taxi, hotel has got it's own canal entrance. Did the same thing when we left, felt like film stars. Staff are great, family room for 4 people was very good.Location was brilliant.
Breakfast managed to keep my 12 year old son filled up until lunch time.
Had a room overlooking the canal, gondolas went past all day and in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In all our travels, we have always managed to choose 'the perfect accommodation'. Not sure whether this is just good luck, or good research. In Venice, one is spoilt for choice. So many good accommodations.
HOTEL BECHER exceeded our expectations.
We booked through Booking.com, and right from the start, the communication was prompt - I even recieved an email from the hotel confirming my booking (and also confirming my request for a room with a canal view)
Knowing that the hotel has a private landing on the canal, we decided to take a water-taxi from the station. We were met at the landing by Massimo, who is the son of the owner- Massimo is also the manager.
He welcomed us, and lifted our luggage from the water taxi- things were looking up. A lovely welcome.
Check in was swift, and our luggage was taken to our canal facing room.
The room was.........just beautiful. Typical Venetian furbishing, with heavy brocaded curtains and bedspreads, Murano glass lamps, and deep pile carpet. The bathroom modern, clean and well lit.
After a wander around the hotel we went down to the landing, where there is a sitting area, with tables & chairs- and sat watching the Gondolas float by while sipping on tall glasses of icy cold fresh fruit juice. This spot we frequented daily, for breakfast, teas and at night after exploring the city.
The hotel is on a side canal, which was good. Noise levels were low, and water traffic busiest in late afternoons. At night it was quiet, only the lapping sound of the canal audible. Mozart stayed in a villa just opposite Hotel Becher. There is a plaque about his stay, with info and dates..
We had originally booked only 3 nights here, but loved Venice, and Hotel becher so much that we extended our stay to 8 days. Massimo was kind enough to juggle some other bookings around, and we managed to stay in the same room- except for our last night (of which I will post another hotel review)- Hotel Bechers 17 rooms were fully booked for our last night, so Massimo recommended another. He was so helpful , even moving our luggage himself (in his small motorboat) to the other hotel. Such quality service is rare, in my experience.
I can recomend this hotel with absolute confidence.

Unique Qualities: The breakfasts were pure joy. Served between 6.30am and 10 am, with traditional hot or Continental choices. Fresh juice (3 types)
The view and sounds from our room, and the landing, of canals with the singing Gondaliers made 'staying home' a pleasure. Often the midday sun was very hot, and we retreated to our hotel for a rest when this happened.
Free Wi-Fi and Flat Screen television in rooms.
Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Great location- within 5 mins to Piazza St Marco and surrounding shops and restuarants.

Address: San Marco 1857, Venice, 30010, Italy
Comparison: less expensive than average
Price: US$80-120
Theme: Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elloraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This little hotel is initially very hard to find but once you find it, it is a excellent start to visit Venice. You are close enough from everything but not too close to be in a quiet area. Once you get use to the city mazed, you noticed that the hotel is very central. Also they have their on very small deck for boats. You are minutes away from everything; shopping, historic locations and restaurant. In fact you are right in the middle, that's why the prices are all very high. The staff is excellent and helpful. The breakfast area is small but just enough, same thing for the breakfast. We needed a little bigger room for our party and had the family room. It was very spacious for Europe but a little old and needed some cleaning on the carpet and walls. It I go back to venice, this hotel will be on the top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's almost impossible to find anything to fault at this hotel. Our e mail booking was directly with the hotel and from that moment on we met with nothing but efficiency and kindness from the hotel staff. We booked the principal room which has a balcony overlooking the canal and what a great choice it was. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully presented with sumptuous fabrics and chandeliers. It was extremely spacious with ample room to store our possessions - we've never mastered the art of travelling light so like to have plenty of cupboard space. There was an in-room bar and, astonishingly, very reasonably priced. Being English, we do like a cuppa so an in-room kettle is a bonus. Well no kettle here but a samovar instead! This hotel treats you like a tsar. The bathroom was spacious with modern attactive fittings plus complimentary quality toiletries though be aware that the water easily escapes below the shower screen on to the bathroom floor. Towels, bathrobes, free slippers - all were top quality. Breakfast was ample to keep you going through the day. There was a fine choice of food and the breakfast room, though small, looks out onto the canal. You can even have breakfast on the private jetty.


Another bonus of the hotel is its central location just yards from the Fenice (take their excellent audio tour) and 5-10 minutes to St Mark's square, Campo San Stefano, Rialto, Accademia, etc. But tucked down a side street it is quietly hidden from the surrounding bustle. Walking with luggage from the nearest vaporetto stop is not ideal so treat yourself and arrive by water taxi. Sometimes you have to do things in style.


An abiding memory of our stay at the Becher is being on the balcony at dusk watching the procession of gondolas below. It is a particularly favoured spot for those who hire singers to serenade their journey, their voices echoing between the narrow canal walls. You'll hear all the standard Italian classics: O Sole Mio, Santa Lucia, Volare, Funiculi Funicula (sp?) as well as others not in the classic repertoire including Roll out the Barrel, You don't have to say you love me, and Delilah. It was very tempting to join in. Indeed on one occasion 9 South Korean brides in full white wedding regalia, plus their bridegrooms, went past us. Now there's something you don't see every day of the week!

Back in London we were telling our cabbie about our holiday and he said he was looking to stay in Venice. We gave the Becher an unqualified recommendation and he dutifully wrote it down. For London cab drivers, and for all, the Becher will impress..

Room Tip: The main room with the balcony. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#22 of 385 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 385 in Venice
720 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
700 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#19 of 385 in Venice
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing