We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #61 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are currently in Venice, staying at the beautiful Hotel Becher. Can't believe it is a three star hotel, it is perfect in every way. Lovely staff, great location and our Junior Suite is simply gorgeous, three double doors opening onto a balcony overlooking the canal. There are gondolas passing by here all day so always something to enjoy. We arrived by water taxi to the hotel's own jetty so such a lovely Venetian experience. Haven't yet got lost, the hotel is very close to San Marco with lots of lovely shops and restaurants on the way. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lovely hotel at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite overlooking the canal is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourbestholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    263
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
214
520
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medway, MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel surely exceeded our expectation. We were pleasantly surprised and received an upgrade without asking. Apparently there was a cancellation which allowed my teenage son to have a separate room and bathroom from me and my husband with a common hallway. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms in great condition. The breakfast was very good. The location is terrific. We took the Vaporetti from the airport and it was a short walk from the San Marco stop once we found our way to the hotel. It was quite close to San Marco's Piazza and the staff gave us terrific recommendations for restaurants. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsusan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely comfortable, friendly and very well placed hotel. 2 minutes from st Marks square, 10 minutes from Rialto. Excellent directions on hotels website. Our room was very clean and spacious. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane301257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed her in June 2012. Wonderful location on a canal and and close to San Marco's Square. Old style decor, which fits in well with the feel of Venice. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. We would happily recommend this hotel.
TIP: It has it's own jetty but using a water taxi can be very expensive, especially if you use a taxi to get there from the airport. Using the ferry public transport is very easy and there are two ferry stops nearby. A ferry from the airport should only cost about 15 euros per person and then it is only a few minutes walk from the San Marco ferry stop. Alternatively you can use the the Rialto ferry stop, which is only slightly further.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to Hotel Becher in March 2012 and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at the hotel by water taxi which was so easy to get from the airport and cost about 120€. On the return trip we had an early flight and the hotel ere more than accommodating in getting a water taxi and opening breakfast up early for us.

The hotel us situated pretty much centrally to everything. We didn't need to take the Vaparetto anywhere. All of the major sights and the beautiful back street bars and restaurants are all in walking distance.

In terms of the hotel and amenities we found it to be absolutely excellent, albeit small (as you would expect from a small Venetian hotel). Breakfast was ample and the staff were ever so helpful.

We had a brilliant time and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a canal view which we found absolutely brilliant. There was coffee making facilities outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckshaw_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here the night of 13 June 2012, and were very pleased with the whole experience. We had a superior double room looking out over the small canal, plus a triple for the kids. The rooms were good sized and clean, and were placed very close to each other as we had requested. Massimo and his mother were extremely helpful with everything from restaurant and gelateria recommendations, to helping us phone for tour reservations and to reach the rental car company, to arranging transport directly from the hotel's own dock on the canal. Breakfast was good and varied, with something for everyone. There's a lovely little outdoor sitting area overlooking the canal. A nice surprise was the coffee and tea room upstairs, which is always open and is a nice place to relax. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been ther during our honeymoon (May, 2011).
Their service is great, the rooms are very clean, its location is perfect and they also gave us an upgrade to the master suite with balcony!
We do recommend this hotel!!!!
Certainly we will stay there again during our next visit in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zé Flávio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#22 of 386 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 386 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 386 in Venice
720 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#75 of 386 in Venice
700 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#19 of 386 in Venice
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing