We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in decent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Ranked #136 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on the 23rd February 2014.
I had contacted the hotel several times before our visit and each time they came back with lots of great information. They also arranged a private water taxi to the hotel once we had arrived at Venice airport given that it was late in the evening. An extravagance but well worth it for the convenience.
The taxi dropped us 20m from the hotel entrance which was great. Check in was smooth and quick and our room was satisfactory when we got there. Nice and clean, not the biggest for a 4 star hotel but a decent size. Breakfast was included in the price and was great every morning,
Good supply of toiletries and sky TV available which can be handy..
Throughout our stay Dmitri was a star and deserves high praise.
This is a great wee hotel in a central location no more than 5-10 minutes from St Marks Square and 5 mins the other way to the academia bridge to cross the Grand Canal.
Would definitely recommend this as a base to explore the great city of Venice.

Room Tip: Our room (12) had a view down the alley to the grande canal but think there are definitely better ro...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dei Dragomanni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 612 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Found the hotel really easily on the waterbus from Marco Polo (€27 return). Room was really nice, comfy bed, nice bathroom with music piped in from the tv! There is wifi in the hotel, but it wasn't free for us as we booked through expedia??! The hotel is in a very good location for exploring the city. There is a square to the left (near academia bridge) with great restaurants, and only a 10min walk from st marks square. Breakfast was nice, a continental buffet which sets you up for the day of walking!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was our last stop on a 2 week Italy vacation. The room seemed recently renovated. We thought the location was great - an easy walk to all locations. We did take a water taxi to the hotel as it was raining when we arrived via train and didn't want to deal with finding the hotel with luggage. The water taxi drops you off right in front of the hotel. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank fsufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I thought the hotel very reasonably priced, and the staff were very good natured and friendly. I was very happy with my diagonal view over a nice garden then over the Grand Canal to the Guggenheim. I echo everyone's comments about the terrific position for getting around, and would just add it is easy to the Rialto too. I really had terrific time and found everything comfortable, clean, lashings of hot water and have no negatives to make. The area over Academia bridge (dorsoduro is great for walking around and the views from Zattere are wonderful. I come to Venice every year and would gladly return to Dragommani. The staff were charming. i think JJH33's review here is a very accurate one and says it all. Venice is a wonderful place and I find the venetians very pleasant too. Enjoy yourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noelle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Let me start off by saying that if you take the Vaporetto (water taxi) to the Gigli stop, the hotel is easy to find. We did have a street map of Venice that we had purchased in advance from Barnes & Noble that prevented us from ever getting lost. The location of the hotel was its positive aspect as it was close to St. Mark’s Square and to the Ponte del Accademia as we seemed to spend a lot of time on the other side of that bridge.

We had requested a room with a view of the canal. We arrived in the early evening and were taken to the third floor for our room. The staff member basically dumped us in our room and ran out when we asked him how to turn on the air conditioner and were told that a/c was not allowed in hotels in Venice in October. This is not the case with all of the hotels as we did talk to some people that were staying elsewhere and were able to use their a/c. It is one thing for the a/c not to be able to be turned on if it is cold outside, but it was hot outside and for the amount we were paying for a room that claimed to have air conditioning, this was unacceptable. We actually ran into the same situation in Rome where the hotel initially told us there was no a/c in Rome hotels in October, but they ended up giving us the remote because it was hot and the rooms were stifling. Our room was basically an attic room that was turned into a room and everyone knows that heat rises. The fact that they didn’t allow the a/c was inexcusable! The staff member told us, before he scrambled out of the room knowing that we were going to be upset, that we had to use the windows this time of year.

Reluctantly, we used opened the windows which consisted of the door to the balcony, a square window on the same wall as the door, a tiny square window that looks like a mail window on that same wall on the other side of the door and a skylight in the bathroom. That night was miserable! It was HOT, mosquitos fed on me as they love me and to top it off, it rained while we were sleeping so the bathroom floor and all of the area under the skylight were wet, the rug in front of the door was soaking wet and my suitcase that was in front of the window was too. The next morning we complained about the lack of a/c and the mosquitos and were told that housekeeping would put some mosquito repellant plug in things in the room when they went to clean the room. They seemed to forget that the power in the room is not on when you are not in it without a room key card in the slot by the door; we had to point this out to them and were given a second key card only to have it taken by housekeeping when they cleaned our room a few hours later. Also, they told us the windows had to be open for the repellant to make the mosquitos leave. Well, that’s all well and good except for the fact that rain was an issue. The whole situation was a nightmare.

After the first night, they gave us a small oscillating fan that did not do much of anything. It was miserably hot and that's all there was to it.

As for the room with a view of the canal, there was a view of the canal, but it was partially obstructed by a building between this hotel and the canal. We did enjoy being able to see the Grand Canal and the boats on it. It is not a quiet room as a result of all of the water traffic and keeping the windows/door open, but it’s not miserable.

We stayed in six different hotels between Spain and Italy and this was the most expensive of all of them and the most disappointing of all of them by far. The staff was unapologetic about the fact that we were miserable and avoided us because they knew how irate we were. I would NOT recommend this hotel without first finding out if you will be able to use the air conditioning if it is possibly hot. This is also the ONLY hotel that charged us for Wi-Fi and that is inexcusable these days! 10 Euros for an hour of Wi-Fi, that is absurd especially for the price you are paying for the room.

The continental breakfast left alot to be desired. We had much better food at less expensive hotels in all of the other cities.

On another note, I stepped out around midnight for a cigarette and when I returned the hotel front door was locked and there was no doorbell, and I had no key or cell phone. I had to bang on the front door for a few minutes before anyone came to the door. I can't believe they would lock the doors like that with no way for guests to get in.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal as long as you understand it's an attic room and there will be no a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a superior room and were happy with more or less everything.

Positive:
- Size of the room is fine for Europe,
- Very clean
- Attentive service
- Friendly staff
- Location is good: only 10 min walk from the St. Marks square and 3 min. walk from the Accademia bridge (makes it easy to get to the other side of the Grande Canal)

Negative
- Wi Fi is not free (5 Euro per hour) - allows to connect only one device to the Internet. Need to pay for each device.
- Small breakfast
- Very small TV in the superior room

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogalkova_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We wanted a hotel near the bend of the Grand Canal near St Mark's and the Teatro La Fenice; after searching via Expedia and TripAdvisor, Dragomanni showed up. The reviews and pictures were good, and so we booked a Double Room Grand Canal View. Looking on Google Maps, you could see the hotel is set back from the water, and the view is over the garden of the neighbouring house, which is a nice touch as gardens are rare in Venice.
On arrival the hotel was a short walk from the Santa Maria del Giglio vaporetto stop. Check in was very easy, with a warm, friendly and professional welcome. The room, on the south east corner on the 3rd floor, was superb. With three separate windows (two east facing, one south), the canal was easily visible, but being set back from the water meant it wasn't noisy at all, and there was no noise from the rest of the hotel.
The bed was firm and comfortable, and clean, with extra pillows under the bed. The wardrobe was particularly roomy and nicknamed 'Narnia'. The bathroom was clean, excellently equipped, and whilst the lining paper directly under the toilet flush needed replacing, this was the only blemish in an otherwise outstanding room. One small bit of humour - the toiletries were listed as being 'sandal' scented, rather than 'sandalwood'. The shower was excellent and forceful, and the bath typically deep.
Breakfast was plentiful - each day featured a selection of cereals, fruit (including oranges, satsumas and particularly large apples), pineapple or grapefruit, yoghurts, breads, ham, cheese, croissants, orange juice, milk, and I'm sure plenty more besides. Even better, it being Christmastime, there was panettone - huge slices of it, all of which were delicious. The lady tending to us was efficient and friendly, although the coffee could've been of better quality. There is also a well-stocked and comfortable bar the other side of the entrance hall, but we did not use this.
Checking out, whilst sad, was particularly straightforward. For two people for four days, we paid a city tax of 16 euros.
It was a great stay, great location, the sleep superb, the staff friendly, the breakfast filling, the bathroom clean and refreshing - there was really very little not to like; I would happily recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#141 of 384 in Venice
559 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 384 in Venice
588 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 384 in Venice
733 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 384 in Venice
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Dragomanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Dragomanni

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2711 | Calle del Dose da Ponte, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#118 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $122 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Dragomanni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dei Dragomanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Dragomanni Hotel
Dei Dragomanni Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing