We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Ranked #137 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First of all I want to say that Marco who works at the hotel during the day is awesome! Once we booked our reservation, I sent an email to the hotel asking for recommendations on how to get there from the train station and he provided options with clear instructions. When we arrived at the hotel he greeted us warmly and helped us with our luggage. He provided excellent recommendations for food, and then helped us get transportation back to the train station at our departure.

The hotel is more what I would call an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Our room was standard for a European hotel, but the furnishings were very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel based on location, service, and quality of accommodations. It is not cheap, but nothing in Venice is cheap...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank REVoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 629 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of Piazza San Marco. As is typical in Venice, it has an inconspicuous entrance on a narrow street. The lobby is small but well appointed. Our room, though a bit small, was very well furnished and provided all modern conveniences. The bed was firm and comfortable. The relatively large bathroom with marble floor and walls, a tub, shower and many amenities exceeded our expectations.

The staff is very professional, friendly and accommodating. Our last minute request for tickets to a group tour was promptly handled with details about meeting place, how to get there and what to expect provided without asking. The bar/library off the lobby provides a welcome haven after a day of sightseeing. The complementary buffet breakfast was good.

One word of advice: Use a private water taxi to and from the airport or train station to get to this hotel if you are carrying luggage. It will drop you off within a few meters of the front door. We made the mistake of taking a shared water taxi from the airport to a close by dock that would normally be a 10-minute walk across 3 or 4 bridges with steps on each side. With two 50 pound suitcases, a handbag and a camera bag, it turned out to be an ordeal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM_Maryland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Centrally located, the Hotel Dei Dragomanni is in close walking distance to the main sights of Venice.

The hotel is away from the main walkways so it is nice and quiet and is very close to the canal so you don't have lug your luggage too far when you arrive and depart. Rooms are a decent size with comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak pretty good English. Breakfast was included and consisted of typical Italian cold cuts, bread and coffee.

Overall a comfortable hotel that I would recommend to visitors to Venice.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had heard so many horror stories from friends of terrible hotels in Venice. We cannot tell you how happy we were to stay here. We are a family of four with older kids (11 and 13). We stayed here for three nights and loved it. We had two rooms connected, but they did not have the traditional door in between, rather a third door in the hall to separate our rooms from the others. The rooms were spacious and well furnished. We wanted for nothing. Really comfortable beds with nice linens. Big fluffy towels in the baths as well. There were desks in both rooms and plenty of storage for clothing in the room and toiletries in the bath. We had one superior room and one regular room. Superior room had bathtub and separate shower and a bit more space while the regular room had bath/shower combo. As my husband is tall, he liked having the walk in shower. When getting to the hotel I can't specify enough how worth while it is to get a water taxi instead of the bigger boats. We were let off only 30 meters from the front door. When we went out exploring the next day and saw just how difficult the journey to St Marc's place would have been with luggage, we were happy to have spent the extra money! The breakfast was OK but would not be able to eat it for more than a few days. They did have fresh fruit which we liked and the coffee was great! Small tables only for two so we did not sit together. We were offered a larger table to sit all together, but it was across the reception and in the bar and we rather sat in the dining room. We felt that we were near enough to the sights and action (only about 5 - 10 min walking to St. Marc's ) yet hidden away so noise was never a problem. We were also warned about odor being a problem, yet did not have such problems. We loved this hotel and would go back again. The staff were very helpful in pointing out routs to take to catch all the important sights. There is also one of the better gelato (yes the are some bad ones) stands just around the corner from the hotel. They got quite a few euro from us!

Room Tip: The high ceilings made the rooms feel big. Plenty of room for two adults and all their luggage! Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We book the Dei Dragmanni for its central location , close to St Marks square . It's close to the accademia bridge and water boat stop . Took a bit of finding . The reception staff where very friendly and helpful . Room was quite small but had nice high ceilings which made it feel larger , hard bed Which I like , tv , fridge which was not cold ! . Bathroom with bath , separate shower , bidet and wash basin , fully stocked with toiletries . There was a bar at hotel and we had a complementary breakfast which was good . There is a little pier just down from the hotel that we sat on drank wine and enjoyed the views of Santa Maria Della Saluti and the boats going up and down the river . The Dei Dragomanni is a great hotel for a short visit to Venice . Get a ACTv river boat pass to save money and enjoy all Venice has to offer .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent 4 nights at Dei Dragomanni in Venice. I realy can recommend this Hotel. The price is reasonable and the location of this Hotel is perfect. Quite close to San Marco but still very quite.
The service was excellent and the breakfast is -for italy- very very good.
Its also very clean and the bathroom was new and working!!

When you arrive from the airport get of the boat one more stop after San Marco. You will find the Hotel on the left going over the bridge.

Room Tip: I took the room 21 on the 3rd top floor. Very quite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This trip to Venice was a birthday treat for my girlfriend. Location was very good. On a quiet street off a square. It is a short walk to St Marks Square. The hotel itself is tiny as expected. The rooms were clean and very elegant also as expected. The bathroom was an issue though. The fittings were falling off which isn't a problem as such but when the lights isn't in the sockets and toilet paper holder is hanging off its final edge of a screw it is noticeable. Overall, we enjoyed the stay. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny_Smile2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#155 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
915 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,560 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 385 in Venice
771 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#168 of 385 in Venice
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Dragomanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Dragomanni

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2711 | Calle del Dose da Ponte, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $103 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Dragomanni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in the timeless charm of an ancient Venetian palazzo, the 4-star Hotel dei Dragomanni welcomes guests to downtown Venice with modern comforts and captivating furnishings. Just a few steps away from St. Mark's Square, Palazzo Grassi and the Gallerie dell'Accademia, the Hotel dei Dragomanni will enchant you with the seductive elegance of its romantic rooms, exquisitely furnished and with splendid views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dei Dragomanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Dragomanni Hotel
Dei Dragomanni Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing