We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Ranked #202 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Looking at hotels in Venice on the whole I felt the standards are pretty low for the price you pay. It's not exactly value for money that's for sure. So when we took the plunge we booked the hotel for 2 nights. Seeing if it was awful.... It would only be for two nights...

Anyhow I'm glad to say it wasn't awful but it wasn't somewhere that wowed me. I would say the plus points for this hotel is the location, bathroom and slippers... ( it's not often you get slippers these days in hotels, so that was a nice touch).

But be aware before you book, please look at which room you book, as we booked the economy room annex. And in nowhere does it say its in there sister hotel. So when we got there, and the lady said we can give you a free upgrade to stay at Ca fortuny. I was bit startled as I thought that's where we booked. If I wanted to stay at you sister hotel ( which I since did some research on which I think is called san gorgio) I would of booked there. So I think it's a little shady and misleading to customers who book the economy room thinking its in ca fortuny but in fact somewhere else.

So in that respect that's not very good. However we were very greatful that they upgraded us to staying there. The location makes its a perfect area to stay.

Room Tip: If you see the word annex you should check whether its actually staying at ca fortuny or there siste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    134
    50
    11
    10
See reviews for
56
185
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are 2 couples on our 4th trip to Venice. This small, comfy, traditional venetian styled hotel was just what we wanted, absolutely perfect, Nice clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Good continental breakfast with plenty of choice. The bonus is the position of this hotel, easy distance from major tourist sites but situated in a very quiet street. Plenty of cafes etc just round the corner but no noise at night to disturb your sleep. The only thing which might put others off is that there is no lounge/bar area but this was not a problem for us, we had our 'nightcap' on the way back from the restaurants!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect location, close to major sights and vaporetti station St Angelo. wonderful breakfast, bathtub is great after long walks around the city. And the stuff is exceptionally friendly! We would definitely come back if we visit Venice again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to welcome you again next time you will visit Venice. Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted a conveniently situated but quiet hotel near to our beloved Fortuny palace. This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. Staff were very helpful, breakfast had a good choice with some extra treats on some days, fresh juice, good coffee and a kettle in the pleasant bedroom. This was our fifth visit, we are addicted to Venice, and this is the hotel we will be going back to. Don't go if you want buzz, noise, bar, we didn't.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel with our 12 year old son for a long weekend in Sept 2012
The directions were absolutely spot on the staff could have not been more helpful or friendly I would certainly reccommend this hotel .
It's location is perfect for St Marks square and the rialto bridge
Thank you for a wonderful stay in Venice
J Lenaghan and family

Room Tip: 105 has a jaquuzi big room quiet Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ca Fortuny for 2 nights. It was in walking distance from everything. The room was very big and on the ground floor. The area is not busy area at all so you can sleep well. The breakfast was great. The hotel is very central and close to everything. And close to 2 water bus stations. There are also good restaurants close to the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the face of it this hotel is off the beaten track I.e. not near St Marks square after being there for three days the week before last we found the hotel to be very conveniently placed for access to the vaparetto stop at Sant Angelo on the Grand Canal, the football scrum which is the Rialto bridge, the two squares which lead towards the other main Venice island on the other side of the Grand Canal, and the slightly zig-zag walk through near La Fenice theatre etc past the major brand shops such as Armani, Boss, Boggi, Churches Shoes etc and the Hard Rock Cafe into St Marks, Doges Palace etc. Although being renovated,and therefore closed,whilst there, the Fortuny Palace at the end of the street is very convenient.

Please note. Getting lost in Venice is certain. Once off the main tourist route, and this we would recommend doing, the "streets" can get confusing but the water and the bell towers and churches are ideal points for orientation. The Hotel will prove a little elusive for you though as its name is displayed on an outer door which appears to be normally propped open and thus not easily seen. Look instead for a palazzo with two ironwork lights either side of the entrance and a chemist shop at the end of the street as pointers, or trust to instinct, but do not give up.The Hotel map locates their establishment quite well but you would be well advised to fix the general lie of the land of Venice prior to visiting. Anyone with a reasonable sense of direction will be ok and it is worth it.

The hotel staff are very courteous, generally speak other languages including good English and seek to oblige if they can. Reception can be left at times of the day but the sister hotel is just down apiece and is staffed when Fortuny is quiet. The whole street being off the major routes is quiet and there is a pleasant courtyard in the rear for al fresco breakfasting etc as a bonus. The room we had on the ground floor is recommended for having two bathrooms with two showers, both of which are of modest dimensions and can lose some water onto the floor. There was a sitting room and bedroom also. The tv offers a number of channels with a couple in English eg news mostly.Electrics can be a little confusing as the wiring can turn off power sockets or lights as it chooses and as with Venice plaster and emulsion is peeling almost everywhere up to about a foot off the ground because of rising water levels in the lagoon etc.

Breakfast is provided from 7.30 until 10 and is continental with an emphasis on salami, cheese, croissant sweet and pastry and cereals, fruit etc.

Our only major reservation was the absence of hot drink facilities in our room but a minibar could have been used.

A great stay in a great city. Take note that the hotel pride themselves on their Trip Advisor status.Prices are mid to high in range but hey, this is Venice. Don't expect Travel lodge.

Room Tip: Try for ground floor. Not sure regarding others.Lifts and stairs available to other (two?) floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#205 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#187 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' del Duca
Ca' del Duca
#241 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#117 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#112 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Fortuny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Property: Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Address: Calle della Mandola 3752, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Fortuny 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ca' Fortuny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Fortuny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing