We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Venice hotel-Hotel Ca Fortuny”
Review of Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Ranked #205 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the face of it this hotel is off the beaten track I.e. not near St Marks square after being there for three days the week before last we found the hotel to be very conveniently placed for access to the vaparetto stop at Sant Angelo on the Grand Canal, the football scrum which is the Rialto bridge, the two squares which lead towards the other main Venice island on the other side of the Grand Canal, and the slightly zig-zag walk through near La Fenice theatre etc past the major brand shops such as Armani, Boss, Boggi, Churches Shoes etc and the Hard Rock Cafe into St Marks, Doges Palace etc. Although being renovated,and therefore closed,whilst there, the Fortuny Palace at the end of the street is very convenient.

Please note. Getting lost in Venice is certain. Once off the main tourist route, and this we would recommend doing, the "streets" can get confusing but the water and the bell towers and churches are ideal points for orientation. The Hotel will prove a little elusive for you though as its name is displayed on an outer door which appears to be normally propped open and thus not easily seen. Look instead for a palazzo with two ironwork lights either side of the entrance and a chemist shop at the end of the street as pointers, or trust to instinct, but do not give up.The Hotel map locates their establishment quite well but you would be well advised to fix the general lie of the land of Venice prior to visiting. Anyone with a reasonable sense of direction will be ok and it is worth it.

The hotel staff are very courteous, generally speak other languages including good English and seek to oblige if they can. Reception can be left at times of the day but the sister hotel is just down apiece and is staffed when Fortuny is quiet. The whole street being off the major routes is quiet and there is a pleasant courtyard in the rear for al fresco breakfasting etc as a bonus. The room we had on the ground floor is recommended for having two bathrooms with two showers, both of which are of modest dimensions and can lose some water onto the floor. There was a sitting room and bedroom also. The tv offers a number of channels with a couple in English eg news mostly.Electrics can be a little confusing as the wiring can turn off power sockets or lights as it chooses and as with Venice plaster and emulsion is peeling almost everywhere up to about a foot off the ground because of rising water levels in the lagoon etc.

Breakfast is provided from 7.30 until 10 and is continental with an emphasis on salami, cheese, croissant sweet and pastry and cereals, fruit etc.

Our only major reservation was the absence of hot drink facilities in our room but a minibar could have been used.

A great stay in a great city. Take note that the hotel pride themselves on their Trip Advisor status.Prices are mid to high in range but hey, this is Venice. Don't expect Travel lodge.

Room Tip: Try for ground floor. Not sure regarding others.Lifts and stairs available to other (two?) floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our romantic stay in Venice ended with me in tears!! Booked package holiday through Expedia, order form said Hotel Ca Fortuny, reviewed it on Trip Advisor and booked as reviews were good! On invoice was a line which said staying in Dependance.. instinct told me this was a sister hotel, so I foolishly looked for Hotel Dependance on TA!! Funny!! what is means is sister hotel?? No name given, as it was the San Giorgio. Outside plaster falling off walls, dirty, dank up a dead end side street. Inside, room so dark we had to have lights on ALL day, in 35degrees, briilliant sunshine. Window handle fell off, opened window let more light in, below was end of canal and sewer!! smell awful, mosquitos worse!! walls/ceiling in room mossi graveyard!! rusty radiator, shower caked in lime, and rusty, bare pipes. Manager says its their economy rooms, this was not explained anywhere!! 2 reasonable things, air conditioning and location! Manager did move us next day to a room with light (his words!!) In this room, the bed cover had blood on it, maid says there is only one per room, so she replaced it with another sheet!! All in all, our lovely trip to Venice will be remembered with tears and regret!!

Room Tip: If you cannot book the superior rooms, DO NOT book Ca Fortuny, as you will not stay there, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dutchmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Proprietario at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We're really sorry for your disappointment; as per your booking we gave you an "economy room" in our dependance San Giorgio located 10 metres from Ca' fortuny. The San Giorgio provide lower quality accomodation than Ca' Fortuny infact the price is much lower and the term "economy room" and the description of the rooms clearly indicate that the rooms are different. We hope we can have the possibility to welcome you at Ca' fortuny where we will offer the service and the quality you expected. I will be happy to offer you a very special discount in case you decide to come back.

Please accept my personal apologize for the inconvenient
Andrea Chiappa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This small hotel served our 3 night stay perfectly, we had a room on the 2nd floor, although basic and about time for an upgrade, the size was great and the bathroom modern with a spa bath. The staff were helpful and eating breakfast in the courtyard was an added pleasure.

Room Tip: Central location near restaurants and sights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here last weeked as part of 50th birthday celebration for my wife. Arrived at airport at 2230 and bought a combined return bus and 72 hour "water bus" ticket - 43 Euro from a ticket machine: in retrospect, it would have been nicer to take the water bus which runs from the airport directly into Venice and get the water bus ticket the next day; do your homework before you go. We finally arrived in Venice at 0130; the hotel is tricky to find as it is in a small alley running off Calle Del la Mandola (the location on trip advisor is NOT correct; I used Google Maps to locate the hotel). If you arrive late you will need to pick up keys at the sister hotel located 30 metres further on. Both hotels have small brass name plaques rather than signs which does not help. The hotel is centrally located; equidistant from Riallto Bridge, Accademia Bridge and St Marks square - 10 minute walk to each. Rooms are quiet and comfy with good beds, excellent bathrooms, sat TV, safe and fridge. Breakfast is very good, all you can eat buffet but no hot option. We didn't see much of the staff so can't comment on friendliness. Overall a great value hotel: I will look no further on my next visit to this magical place. Try the superb Ristoronte Rosa Rossa; within 30 metres and much, much better than the 84th place it gets in Trip Advisor reviews; see my other reviews.

Room Tip: The hotel is in such a quiet location; there is nothing much to effect which room yoiu get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

It has been a pleasure! Hope to see you back again at Ca' Fortuny!
Isabella & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After arriving by train - get onto the river "bus" and get off at the SANT ANGELO stop.
From there its only a couple of minutes walk - and if - like us - you get lost remember this "in this area of the city there is only one building with the number 3752 - so you can "count" your way around the streets" - - -
There isnt a sign outside the hotel - so its a little hard to find on your first day - but.....
The hotel, room, and staff are all excellent - on arriving in the room we read the "welcome pack" and were really excited at the fact there was a massage bath !!!! Plenty tea and coffee which is topped up each day - as are the towels.
Breakfast was lovely and if you fill yourself up, you wont need to eat till later on in the day (except for the gorgeous ice creams).
Location was great - only 5 minutes from St Marks Square - and we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr_peter_archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you very much! It's always a pleasure to recieve such goods reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here with my twin sister and our husbands to celebrate our 60th burthdays also brother in laws birthday. The hotel is small, but in an excellent position close to St Marks Square and Rialto Bridge. The rooms for the price and only being a small hotel were excellent. Staff very good emailed us before we arrived and helped us with restsurants to go to. Added bonus of having of having a lift, breakfast also good, would go back to this hotel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank tou very much! Hope to welcome you again at Ca' fortuny
Isabella & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Exceptionally friendly staff; brilliant location; delicious breakfasts; good value - would highly recommend. Quite location; very comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We really appreciate your review. Thanks a lot!
Isabella & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#159 of 387 in Venice
577 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#175 of 387 in Venice
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#98 of 387 in Venice
507 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#100 of 387 in Venice
843 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 387 in Venice
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Fortuny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Address: Calle della Mandola 3752, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Fortuny 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' Fortuny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Fortuny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing