We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stunningly Serene and Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Ranked #78 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I booked a room at this hotel for the night before and after a cruise.
We booked via laterooms whose rates are really competitive, though this hotel is not a 'cheap' hotel.
It is a beautiful hotel, discreet - no glaring signage, just a small plaque on the wall outside - 'A member of the leading Small Hotels of the World'.
The staff are welcoming and sincere in delivering what can only be described as exemplary good customer service.
Our room was small overlooking the courtyard and very quiet and very simply but serenely decorated. Tha bathroom was luxurious and large.
A buffet breakfast was the only meal we had but there was a huge range and choice of hot and cold food to suit every taste and need.
I'm so glad we chose to go back to this hotel for the last night of our holiday.
Although the garden room we were allocated was slightly smaller and a little more noisy than the courtyard room, the bathroom was once again large and luxurious.
The hotel is accessible via the Alilaguna (public transport boat) direct from the Aiprort to Zitelle on Guidecca island (NOT San Marco) and takes about 1.5 hours to get there (56 Euros return for 2).
It's also only three 'hops' on the alilaguna to the port.
The hotel offers their own private shuttle boat service across to the main island and leaves/returns to the sister hotel on San Marco (another 5 star elegant hotel, though appears to be more decadent and much larger than the Palladio) - it runs regualrly throughout the day and late into the night.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travellers - though suggest that it is worth shopping around as prices vary enormously.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are much quieter than the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suryemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, General Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased to note your satisfaction with your accommodation and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to your continued patronage of BAUERs hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 683 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Five Star rated Bauer Palladio Hotel & Spa on Giudecca Island while on tour in Venice. It was recommended by our travel agent as a quiet hotel off Venicle Island but readily accessible via their shuttle. We found it to be a great place to stay off the crowded island of Vehice. The hotel offers frequent shuttle service (by boat, of course) to its Il Palazzo Hotel on Venice Island which is a few short blocks from St Marks Square.

Our room was one of the largest that we stayed in during our seven weeks in the Balkans, the Adriatic and Italy. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very large with a bathtub and a shower. The shower floor was grooved which proved to be a bit uncomfortable on my feet but the overall comfort of our room was excellent!

The hotel has an excellent breakfast spread, typical European style foods, served in a large dining room. We did not use their dining room but chose to visit various restaurants on Venice.

Their doorman and reception staff greeted us warmly each time that we passed by them. The doorman handled our transfer out of the hotel very smoothly! The hotel has Wifi and offers use of a small computer which was useful for e-mails. It is tucked away upstairs above Reception.

Thhe hotel has extensive gardens which are quite beautiful.It was a convent before a hotel. Giudecca is not nearly as busy as Venice. One can sit at various small restaurants and look across to Venice as many boats pass! There is only one Giudecca, much quieter than Venicle, for those who seek a slower pace but with the ability to be a part of Venice in a matter of a few minutes!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Best regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a beautiful, unique hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff with a glass of Prosecco, our room was lovely, overlooking the garden and was a good size with a great bathroom. Robes, slippers, safe, hairdryer, plenty of bathroom essentials. Complimentary shuttle every half hour to and from San Marco. Breakfast was excellent in the garden room. A haven from the madness that is Venice with extra special touches and we loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124M555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a weekend here and booked a junior suite with lagoon view, both suite and view were beautiful The room had its bed on a mezzanine directly overlooking the lagoon, the Campanile of St Mark and Santa Maria della Salute; the views were magnificent at any time of day, even when the whole world was momentarily blocked out by passing cruise ships, which happened more frequently than I had bargained for. Wifi in the room was unreliable and the hotel is taking steps to remedy this - at least what you get is free of charge.
A walk in hotel's gardens is a great way to start the day, or to wind down after the crowds on the main island and there are plenty of places to stop and relax inside and out of the building. We had a very good meal in their Ulivo restaurant on our first night and ate a memorable dinner in De Pisis, their sister hotel's restaurant at the entrance of the Grand Canal, on the second.
Breakfast in the breakfast room was excellent. I wouldn't recommend calling down for breakfast, ours took one hour to arrive. We could have been downstairs by then and I blame it on my English need for a cup of tea first thing in the morning.
Hotel staff were absolutely great throughout our stay and I would definitely go back.
I have to say something about those cruise ships. There were four in port on the Saturday, two on Sunday. Some of them really do block out the light as they come and go, they are enormous. And their passengers swamp the city, making the queues for everything incredibly long. Luckily we had seen all the sights before and were there to wander around, but I would have liked to visit St Mark's again. I understand the commercial imperatives for Venice, but the crowds are truly stifling. They make for two good things though: one is the incredible photographs you will take of one of these mammoth craft as they appear to swallow the view completely, and the other is that now, most of the shops are open on a Sunday.
If we return, and I hope we will, I will check the shipping schedules first.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the lagoon view if you can, you will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely hotel well appointed. Rooms small but we had on facing the canal. The view of St Mark's is spectacular. While on the isle of Guidecca the property has it's own shuttle which departs every 30 minutes. The property has a restaurant worthy of a Michlien star

Room Tip: Book on on the canal for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are sorry for the restaurant that was not stisfying for you but we will improve it together with our services with your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Best regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

fantastic calm hotel with character and beautiful gardens. excellent service. The hotel was previously a convent and the interior retains the atmosphere of calm and tranquillity but with added luxury. the rooms are spacious and romantic and the bathrooms absolutely first class. breakfast is excellent and can be eaten outside if weather permits. the hotel has a shuttle from Giudecca island to St marks which adds to the charm as the ride across the lagoon takes only 5 minutes and affords terrific views. highly recommended. the spa is wonderful with beautifully trained therapists. One tip - there are no tea making facilities in the room and a travel kettle is useful with your own tea bags and coffee. vaparetto stop is right outside

Room Tip: at the front you will overlook the lagoon. at the back you will overlook the hotel gardens. Both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcampionh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on our 7th trip to visit in 9 years. We've stayed
at 6 hotels (including the Danieli) but this is now our favourite!
Do not be put off by the fact the hotel is on Giudecca. It has a motor launch
that takes you across to Bauer Palazzo in San Marco in 4 minutes. From here
it's just a 5 minute walk to the Piazza San Marco. So you're moments away
from the heart of Venice but away from the notorious hustle and bustle!
We took the Alililaguna (Lino blu) from the airport (€15 single fare, €27
return.) This took about 75 mins. Yes water taxis are a lot faster, but it's
€110 each way! The above Allilaguna stops at Zitelle on Guidecca, which is 30
seconds walk from the hotel. The hotel entrance is on the right hand side, just
before the small boat dock.
We were given a glass of prosecco as we waited to check in and our room was
ready when we arrived at 12.30.
Our room (No 26, a superior) was in a much newer building through the
garden. The room itself was enormous, with a view over the garden. The garden must
be an absolute haven in summer as it is extremely unusual for any hotels to
have gardens in Venice.
We had a very large double bed (2 singles) and a fab marble bathroom, with a
double ended bath and separate shower. Plenty of supplies of shower gel,
shampoo etc were provided, which was great as we'd taken hand luggage only
and were limited due to the on going liquid restrictions. There is free Wi-Fi
in the room, although the actual Internet connection could be variable.
Breakfasts were taken in a large dining room and were plentiful with lots
of choices.
There is a large lounge area on the ground floor which was very comfortable.
All staff were very helpful. We had difficulty with the bath plug mechanism
and this was dealt with instantly. We also had on going problems with the
TV. Staff had this seen to, but unfortunately the problem persisted during
our stay.
We didn't avail ourselves of either the dining or the Spa facilities at the
hotel.
The garden was rather dark at night, and making our way to our block was a
little challenging, despite there being some lighting.
The boat service across to San Marco was excellent. This runs from 10.00 on
the hour or half hour from Bauer Palladio, with returns from Bauer Palazzo
San Marco 10 minutes later.
If you take the Allilaguna back to the airport, check out the times (or better still make sure
you get a timetable). Both the hotel information and the Zitelle stop said
the first one was at 10.20. After obtaining a timetable from a tourist
information place next to Ferrovia train station, we discovered there was a
service at 08.12! (And the service starts quite early in the morning, but limited stops.)
We got a 3 day Vaporetto pass (€35), and despite walking a lot, this was
still useful. Beware if you have older travel guides with a Vaporetto map!
Many of the services have changed numbers recently, so ask for the free
Vaporetto route guide at a ticket office.
There appears to be a new city tax in Venice: hotels charge €1 per star, per
person, per night, which amounted to an unexpected €30 on our room bill!

My top 3 tips for Venice are:
Take the #1 Vaporetto all the way up the grand canal and sit outside if you
can!
Check out the Rialto market - incredible produce! (Not Sundays & limited
Mondays).
Avoid the crowds and queues for the Campanile at San Marco: take the
Vaporetto to San Giorgio Maggiore and go up the campanile there. Much better
value (€5pp), and you get better views of San Marco too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#74 of 387 in Venice
2,618 reviews
Cannaregio
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#15 of 387 in Venice
1,616 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#68 of 387 in Venice
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladio Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladio Hotel & Spa

Address: Fondamenta de Le Zitelle Giudecca 33, 30133 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $250 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palladio Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladio Hotel & SPA is an amazing building designed in the 16th century by the world-renowned Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio. The property is a rare jewel in Venice, with its 58 elegant guest rooms and 21 spacious Suites and Junior Suites, a private garden and breathtaking lagoon views. It is located on the Giudecca Island just across the basin from the word-famous sister properties Bauer Hotel and Bauer Il Palazzo. BAUER.Palladio Hotel & Spa has a warm and welcoming decor with a soft color palette of pastels. Each of its spacious rooms is beautifully detailed with the finest paint decoration and tapestries, while still maintaining its original identity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palladio Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Palladio Hotel Venice
Bauer Palladio Hotel And Spa
Bauer Palladio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing