We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Ranked #78 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Initially the hotel does not seem ideally placed- on the opposite side of the lagoon from the tourist haven which is St Marks, but rather wonderfully; (1) the hotel provides a free water shuttle service (takes about 5 minutes) straight to St Marks every 20-30 minutes until midnight (2) there is a water bus service about 20 meters from the front door to take to you other hotspots such as Murano. It was lovely to be in such a quite spot with such easy access to all the action. On the staff at the hotel- from the second you arrived until the moment you left the staff could not do enough for you- everyone was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite with a garden view and it was lovely. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was on the luxurious side and the room was very clean. Every time we popped out the room was obviously spruced up and new towels left. A nice touch was the little notes left on the bed by the turning down service. On the Spa- as it is a smaller hotel I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality and size of the spa. A trip (or two) to the spa is a must if staying at this hotel. We ate out every day so cannot comment too much on the food, however the one lunch we had at the hotel was very nice. One tip for smokers- you cannot buy cigarettes at night. At the hotel or in St Marks. Not all shops sell them and to use the vending machines you need an Italian health care card proving your age. Give up or stock up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel and Spa.
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    145
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
79
433
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Bauer Palladio for our 29th Wedding Anniversary. We were upgraded to a room with a Lagoon view which was fantastic. The service and attention to detail could not be faulted and Simone the resident manager and his staff were extremely attentive and professional. We have stayed in Venice 5 times now and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in,
The building is beautifully minimalistic but stylish with bare brick, and beautiful carpets and fabrics.The hotel operates a free and regular private shuttle water taxi to ferry guests over to the Bauer Palzzo, which is just off St. Mark's Square.
Breakfasts were very busy (especially at 9.30) but staying on the Guidecca was restful, with good food and local wines, yet just a few minutes away from the rest of beautiful Venice.

We are planning to go there for our 30th!

Room Tip: Get a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miggins65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a comment about Palladio Hotel & Spa.
Our staff is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to receive you for another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob0912
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Situated a 5 minute water taxi ride from the centre of Venice; the hotel runs it's own free water taxi service between it and it's sister hotel very near St Marks Square which is brilliant. The hotel is sitauted on the island of Guidecca which is quiet; a nice oasis of calm after the hoards of 'Venice propper' Most of the rooms of the hotel are in an annexe which is a modern building (not in the nice old bit). Our room was ok; clean, but a little sparsely furnished. Breakfast and dinner was a disaster; totally disorganised; at breakfast they seemed to always run out of something (coffee, coffee cups, etc) and the choice was very limited. We only ate dinner at the hotel once and the service was abysmal (the food was quite good, though)
Overall, the hotel was ok; not sure we would stay there again, though.

Room Tip: try and ask for a room in the main building (the old part); the bulk of the rooms seem to be in an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review about Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We really appreciate your comments and observations and we are sorry if something was not good, in your case breakfast and dinner, but your feedback will help us to improve in our service.
Anyway we hope to receive you for another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We only stayed one night while preparing to embark on a cruise the following day, but I fell in love with this hotel and will be back. It is a beautiful little hotel, a converted convent, with an absolutely amazing garden. This place was beautiful, the entire hotel was well appointed, well staffed and well taken care of.

Pros:
Staff: the staff here are so helpful and so amazing!
Rooms: the rooms here are huge compared to many of the rooms in Venice. (And the rooms were very clean)

Cons:
the only con I could think of, and it may not be a con for every one, was the location. It is located on a separate island from the main part of Venice. They have a shuttle boat that runs every fifteen minutes to half an hour, but still if you intend to spend most of your time on the grand canal and/or St. Marks square this is a bit distant from that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBelltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Palladio Hotel & Spa.
Our staff is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to receive you for another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a great spacious room over looking the canal. The bed was soft and a nice large bath room. The staff was friendly and they provided a water taxi over to the sister hotel on the canal. It was great. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel and Spa.
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We chose Palladio online and have just spent four very happy days there. The location on Giudicca was superb - a five minute private boat ride from St Mark's square. Great to be just a little removed from the tourist hordes. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was spacious and very comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a very comprehensive buffet. We only had one lunch in the restaurant which was fine but there is such a wide choice of places to eat in Venice I would go outside the hotel. We booked through otel.com and got a great rate. All in all a great experience - we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGALondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel and Spa.
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great location, beautiful lobby, nice garden, helpful staff….this was great

The room was disappointing : standard modern room with no charm at all, dark –few natural light, with a brown ceiling, several hours needed to heat the room, this room was a place where you don’t feel like staying, which was disappointing considering this hotel is rated five stars !!!!????

This hotel is not worth the price you pay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We are glad to hear that all was as you expected.
Your feedback will help us to improve our services and we hope to receive you again for another occasion.

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 385 in Venice
894 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,224 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#54 of 385 in Venice
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladio Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladio Hotel & Spa

Property: Palladio Hotel & Spa
Address: Fondamenta de Le Zitelle Giudecca 33, 30133 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palladio Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladio Hotel & SPA is an amazing building designed in the 16th century by the world-renowned Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio. The property is a rare jewel in Venice, with its 58 elegant guest rooms and 21 spacious Suites and Junior Suites, a private garden and breathtaking lagoon views. It is located on the Giudecca Island just across the basin from the word-famous sister properties Bauer Hotel and Bauer Il Palazzo. BAUER.Palladio Hotel & Spa has a warm and welcoming decor with a soft color palette of pastels. Each of its spacious rooms is beautifully detailed with the finest paint decoration and tapestries, while still maintaining its original identity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palladio Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Palladio Hotel Venice
Bauer Palladio Hotel And Spa
Bauer Palladio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing