We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Palazzina Grassi in Venice”
Review of Palazzina G

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzina G
Ranked #194 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My traveling companion and I arrived at the hotel to find the lobby very inviting. All that changed, however, when we were taken to our rooms - if you can call the closets we were issued rooms. The rooms, which were very small and freezing cold, are so starkly modern that form never followed function. The rooms were barely large enough for an extra chair (for almost $500 per night) and the bathroom sink was a slab over which water flowed making it impossible to actually wash or put anything down without soaking everything around you.

We told the person on duty how unhappy we were and that we would be leaving the next day instead of staying. She offered to let us upgrade to larger rooms but at three times the price. We declined. Later that evening she said her "management" would let us upgrade for the same price. We were taken to what they called suites which were equally unpleasant. We declined again. The next morning when we tried to check out an officious young woman, who called herself the manager, intentionally kept us waiting in the lobby and then came and told us that we had to pay for three nights and if we attempted to leave without signing the charge receipts she would call the police. I told here that since she had our credit cards we did not need to sign anything. She persisted and we both signed under duress. That is how anxious we were to get out of this horrible place. Don't ever stay at this place. Everywhere else we stayed that was 5 star treated us with dignity and courtesy. This one hired the wicked witch of the West with an attitude.

12  Thank busynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 377 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

My traveling companion and I arrived at the hotel to find the lobby very inviting. All that changed, however, when we were taken to our rooms - if you can call the closets we were issued rooms. The rooms, which were very small and freezing cold, are so starkly modern that form never followed function. The rooms were barely large enough for an extra chair (for almost $500 per night) and the bathroom sink was a slab over which water flowed making it impossible to actually wash or put anything down without soaking everything around you.

We told the person on duty how unhappy we were and that we would be leaving the next day instead of staying. She offered to let us upgrade to larger rooms but at three times the price. We declined. Later that evening she said her "management" would let us upgrade for the same price. We were taken to what they called suites which were equally unpleasant. We declined again. The next morning when we tried to check out an officious young woman, who called herself the manager, intentionally kept us waiting in the lobby and then came and told us that we had to pay for three nights and if we attempted to leave without signing the charge receipts she would call the police. I told here that since she had our credit cards we did not need to sign anything. She persisted and we both signed under duress. That is how anxious we were to get out of this horrible place. Don't ever stay at this place. Everywhere else we stayed that was 5 star treated us with dignity and courtesy. This one hired the wicked witch of the West with an attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank busynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager81, Operations Manager at Palazzina G, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the PalazzinaG, I would like to respond to your review.

First of all I wish to answer your comment about the rooms. On websites our superior rooms are clearly stated to be 22 sqm/237 sqft with images demonstrating  the design. We understand that Philippe Starck’s design can be appreciated or not but generally our clients choose us because of the design.

In regards to your issue about the room size we offered you a free upgrade to our Junior Suite category trying to accommodate your request even though we have only 22 rooms. Our offer was declined by you.

We regret that you felt that we intentionally kept you waiting in the lobby when you asked to speak with the management.  The manager arrived after few minutes and explained that as per cancellation policy we have to apply the penalty and as per italian law we cannot charge a credit card without the owner’s confirmation and signature. It is not our policy to threaten to call the police.

TripAdvisor gives the freedom to express each guest’s personal experience which also we encourage, however when we find a review, according to us, not trustworthy we want express our point of view.

Linda Mariotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The design is wonderful and we gasped at our striking mirrored room; however we gasped again when the pretty concierge who showed us there looked down at the wet towel left on the bathroom floor, didn't mention it, and left the room, leaving us to deal with it. The staff here smile a lot but ignore any problems. Going down to breakfast we waited in the dining room/bar for five minutes as a group of managers talked near us, pointedly wouldn't meet our eyes and then yelled over their shoulders for a waitress to come. Breakfast was 25 euros for just a Continental which doesn't even include fresh juice (4-5 euros extra)! Concierge, when asked to recommend out of the way exhibitions or concerts, looked blank and came up with the most obvious answers -the ones for which there were posters all over town. We asked him if anyone else were going to the airport and would share a water taxi with us; 'we don't do that', came the answer. We left our bags on the last day at checkout time, went for lunch, and when we came back to collect them I asked to use the toilet and was shown to the staff toilet - perhaps because I was no longer a guest? The high prices are only justified by the decor - the staff are all over the place. And LOTS of other boutique hotels in Venice are run better than this and charge less. Avoid.

Room Tip: A Superior with bath was nicely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank laurenitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was great hotel with Phillip Starck signature design. Great location but once inside a little removed from the Venice vibe. We didn't have a room with a canal view but enjoyed the proximity to many sites. It was tricky to find. Its a short walk from Accademia or on the doorstep from S. Samuele stop.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

STRUCTURE: Venetian-style small house adjacent to the museum Grassi, from this the hotel name. Hotel entrance tucked away on a quiet street, entrance insignificant, with no sign, no particular value.
LOBBYING: attractive modern design with true and his own sculptures in glass and mirrors. Front nonexistent except for a small corner with a desk and the machine to load credit cards.
ROOMS: small, I would say the smaller room where I have never stayed in a luxury hotel, the only bathroom with tub, separate shower did not. Safe located in the floor of the cabinet, I do not want to use it too much but you really had to sit in the chamber floor. Panorama nonexistent, choking, the window was a blank wall in front of no more than a meter away. Virtually no one saw the light of heaven. Modern furniture almost completely mirrors. Courtesy bathroom does not exist, only the rechargeable dispenser three star hotel. No hotel has rooms overlooking the canal.
RESTAURANT: excellent, good modern design, comfortable, good quality of each course, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere.
SWIMMING: non-existent.
OVERALL: overprice so as to make me want to change hotels immediately after check-in. I strongly recommend to stay for the usual price of the hotel Danieli or Cipriani.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager81, Opertaions Manager at Palazzina G, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are highly valuable for us as they will help to improve our service where necessary.

The target of our guests is very high and we focus on maintaining their privacy, this is the reason we don’t have a sign outside the building, just the symbol of PalazzinaG to recognize us.

Our hospitality concept is diverse from the traditional, for example we don’t have the usual front-desk by the entrance but a small hospitality desk where our staff is at disposal 24hrs a day for any information and requests. The check-in and check-out is personalized based on each clients requirement, it can take place anywhere; on a private boat, at the PG’s Restaurant & Bar where our guests can enjoy a drink offered by the PalazzinaG, in a relaxed and sophisticated atmosphere while the check-in/check-out will be taken care of by our team members.

PalazzinaG is located in a 16th century building in the historical center of Venice which is surrounded by and made up of narrow streets (Calle) which are typical for this unique city. As our standard rooms are all located on the first floor the view of these room categories is facing the “calle”, this is also described on our web site. The other room categories, being positioned on a higher floor, open up to magnificent views of Venice’s rooftops and some are even overlooking the Grand Canal.

Our courtesy line kit contains bottles of body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, bath foam, intimate cleanser, lady and men kit, lip balm and many other high quality products whose perfumes and compositions have been studied especially for PalazzinaG. PalazzinaG , as many luxury hotels of today, has chosen to change from small bottles (20 ml) to larger bottles (200 ml) in order not to restrict the use of product for our clients and to respect the environment.

PalazzinaG is a boutique hotel dedicated to high-level guests with a strong sensitivity to design where artworks, attention to detail and casual atmosphere make PalazzinaG a home-like place where you can “be temporary venetian”.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back to our hotel in the near future.

Linda Mariotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel is perfect. Can't complain about a thing. The whole hotel is beautifully design and the lobby is trendy and a great place to relax and have a drink. Rooms are again well designed, beautiful, everything you need. Service is excellent (we got a free upgrade while there, spent some time chatting with the lobby bartenders - all was great!). Its a little bit of a walk to the main sights, but not bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Pros: location, Luigi's cuisine and design
Cons: overcomplicated lights in rooms

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LescheckR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Palazzo Venart - Luxury Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#66 of 387 in Venice
948 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#75 of 387 in Venice
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzina G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzina G

Address: Ramo Grassi | Sestriere San Marco 3247, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Palazzina Grassi)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#127 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $349 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzina G 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzina G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzina g Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing