We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our second stay in this perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our second stay in this perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a short break in 2012 and enjoyed Venice and this hotel so much we decided to return for a longer stay this year. The rooms are very well appointed, with high quality decor. Decoration of the hotel reflects some of the style of Venice (eg, 'gold' mosaic tiles in bathrooms, glass light fittings). The buffet breakfast is excellent and includes some hot food as well as the usual 'continental' fare. The staff were all friendly without being pushy - a nice touch was that they gave us the same room as we had on our first visit. The hotel is a short walk from the Rialto water-bus stop, which is also served by the boats going to and from Marco Polo airport - there is no need to carry suitcases across the city on arrival. Being so central and close to the water-bus routes makes the whole of Venice easily accessible. The hotel is in a busy area but did not find it particularly noisy - the hotel rooms were well sound proofed. To answer some of the criticisms made by other travelers, the bedrooms and beds are above average for a European hotel and as for charging for WiFi -just turn your phone off and enjoy Venice! Only thing missing was a kettle to make drinks in the room.

Room Tip: Take pot luck with a room - they'll all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie_Purfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    373
    42
    15
    14
See reviews for
312
1,251
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel at the end of July just before our Mediterranean cruise. Staff at reception esp Roberto M. (there are 2 Robertos) were very helpful and courteous with advice on how to get to places around town. You need to plan in advance how to get from Monte Carlo airport to the hotel as it will involve a water taxi journey. The hotel can help you arrange transport including a meet and greet for 180 Euros. We decided to pre book with one of the local water taxi companies for 100 Euros. (motoscafivenezia.it) who were very helpful via e-mail. If you don't have much luggage, there is only a 2-3min walk from your drop off point near Rialto Bridge to the hotel.

The Junior Suite room was spacious for us - 2 adults and 1 child. They provided a sofa bed with a firm mattress. and our room 307 was quiet. The breakfast buffet included with the stay had good variety.

I was surprised at the poor reviews this hotel used to have in 2007. The current management have done a great job with turning this hotel around in the last few years. Hope they can maintain the high standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just spent 2 days here on our first visit to Venice before our cruise. What a fantastic hotel, excellent location juts off the Grand Canal and steps away from the famous Rialto bridge. The staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly. Very relaxed but high standards of service. Beautiful roof top terrace perfect for drinks and snacks at any time of day. The rooms are stunning, spacious and lovely bathroom with all those special touches.
Thank you for making our first trip so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a week long tour if Italy. Stayed two nights at Hotel A LA Commedia. Were extremely happy with the service, attention, and accommodations. We will return to this hotel on our next stay. It is located near the Rialto Bridge that allowed easy access by foot to many places to visit. Easy to get to bustle at either San Marco or Rialto Bridge area but just as easy to get to quieter areas. Concierge and front desk were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was part of stay and made for a great start to the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay here all the staff were charming on reception and in the breakfast room. the reception staff even learnt what colour sweets I liked and would rush to put them out for me, now that's service. The room was beautiful and all though I wouldn't recommend venice for a wheelchair this hotel had a ramp that they unlocked for me a very innovative method. Very well situated for st marks square and the water bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, beautiful hotel with truly first class environs. Was upgraded to a third floor suite that was elegant and classic, with every luxurious modern amenity. Even had a view of the Campanile from our flower-draped balcony. Friends who live in nearby Vincenza that visited could not believe how relatively reasonably priced such a phenomenal hotel was in the high season. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent. We got a private water taxi from the airport. It seemed much easier with luggage but it is a bit pricey. This dropped us really close to the hotel. Staff at the hotel were helpful without being at all imposing. The breakfast was really good. The rooms were spacious and the air conditioning excellent. There is a bar on top of the hotel. This was very expensive and offered an evening view of a fireworks display with drinks and a snack for 80 euros per person. There were four of us so this wasn't really sensible. However, as our holiday in Italy progressed this seemed less ridiculous! We ventured out to St Marks square instead and experienced the fireworks with the crowds. In general, be prepared to price up soft drinks and water to take away from stalls as the prices vary enormously.

Room Tip: We had rooms looking over the street. Not noisy at all and really atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123SleepyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#54 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
San Marco
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#27 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing