We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stylish & Friendly in the heart of the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stylish & Friendly in the heart of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel gave us a warm greeting from the very start and our room was ready early. The room was clean and fresh and the bathrrom was modern. Breakfast was great despite what other guests have said! The staff in reception helped us with restaurant reservations and they were just what we asked for. The best find was a bar called 'I Risteghi' which was authentic and the wine was out of this world! Ronaldo on reception said it was the best wine bar in Venice and the owner is fab and called Giovani. The hotel os so close to the Rialto bridge its great for the sights! The new roof top bar is stylish for drinks after a hard day sight seeing! I would definatley stay here again and recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Oir room was at the back and had a small court yard as a terrace. The beds are a little hard and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    334
    40
    13
    14
See reviews for
286
1,149
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly by the Hotel Reception Team who were great, and really helpful throughout our stay. The room & bathroom were lovely, spacious and very comfortable we had a terrace which was a great addition to the room. The location of the hotel is perfect only a very short walk away and your looking onto the Rialto Bridge and the Grand Canal or 10-15 minutes walk and your in the Piazza San Marco. We had a wonderful time and would definately book the Hotel a La Commedia again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very pleased with my week-long stay here. Only a 10-minute walk from St. Mark's Square, and the room was lovely. The breakfast was fine, and the front desk staff were very helpful. Even though my room overlooked a fairly busy thoroughfare, it was quiet, and the curtains blocked out all extraneous light.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

all the staff were very helpful and friendly. the loaction was excellent and the room was beautiful and spacious. they helped us book a gondolia a lot cheaper than what was being advertised on the internet at some places and we booked a two hour walking tour through them as well which was very good. venice is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend chose this hotel as a surprise birthday present and I have to say he chose well! From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and patiently answered all our questions even though they were clearly busy. We were there for liberation day and the hotel gave female guests a red rose which is the tradition on this particular holiday, I thought this was a nice touch. Although the hotel is in a great location it was incredibly quiet with no noise from other rooms or the street. We found that we could walk everywhere and didn't need a vaporetto pass at all. The room was clean and spacious with a generous bathroom which was also well maintained. Breakfast was pretty decent with the usual continental fare i.e. Ham, salami, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and a selection of bakery items.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel near the Rialto Bridge. It is certainly not a luxury property. The staff (well, 95% or so) are most professional such as Andrea and Stephano who are at reception. The rooms are clean. Nothing special about the breakfast: sliced meats, cheese, breads, cakes, cereal, juices, eggs, etc., things you would see at good 3 star properties. The rooms had nice furniture but the pillows were as hard as a board, the water glasses in the washrooms were the cheap plastic in cheaper plastic wrappings, the hair dryer would work for 30-40 seconds and then stop for the same period so it took twice as long to dry my hair, the television picture on the LED screen only 'covered' 70% of the screen size. Would we stay again? Sure, but at only the right price point. The breakfast staff including a tall balding man who commented on how "Americans" are really ordering American coffee when they say " latte" ( wrong ) and the young lady who brought tea when asked to bring a "latte" and then rolled her eyes when she had to take back the tea were the only really troubling aspects of our visit. If I could give 3 1/2 stars I would do so, but only because of Andrea and Stephano I make this 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This truly excellent 4star hotel 5minutes walk from the Rialto(think bridge, grand canal, and direct public waterbus connection to the airport) was converted from a previous bank building 6years ago.You could be forgiven for thinking it was brand new such is the standard of maintenance.We had room101 which has a hugely comfortable kingsize bed, plenty of storage space,and a large fully equipped bathroom with a full length tub. Do not all rush to try and book this room as I am sure all the other 50 rooms are of similar standard! The concierge desk is incredibly knowledgeable about all aspects of Venice and the whole staff very kind and welcoming. Agood breakfast is served in the breakfast room, but the hotel does not have a restaurant. There is a small bar in the foyer. As you will have deduced, I and most other reviewers would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#17 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing