We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #23 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel a La Commedia. The hotel made our trip to Venice. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Communal areas are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was enjoyable both days. There is a lovely roof terrace for the summer months. The hotel is ideally located and only a couple of minutes walk from the Rialto boat stop, where you are dropped off by the boat from the airport. (The boat costs 15 euros per person from the airport, it takes approximately 50 minutes as there are a few stops. It is a 5 minute walk from the airport to the boat, most of the walk is under cover if its raining). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_Tea_Drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    327
    39
    10
    13
See reviews for
274
1,124
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Have just checked out of a LA Commedia having stayed 6 nights. Arrived early but room was ready, and then we were upgraded to a junior suite - not huge but lovely to have the extra space. Bed large and comfy. We had such a great time we changed our flights and stayed 2 more nights. Roof terrace lovely for coffee in the morning, roof bar not open yet. Service from everyone was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Cannot have a better location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the reservation process through to Massimo walking us to the water taxi station, this hotel has so much right. Location is exceptional and cleanliness was immaculate. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the service throught our stay cannot be faulted.

The only thing that let it down was the bed. We stayed in a Deluxe room with two single pieces of concrete pushed together as a queen mattress. Had we planned to stay longer we would have brought this to the hotel's attention.

As this was our first stay, we do not know if this is standard however I hope not. If not for such a critical piece of our stay being sub-par, this hotel would receive perfect marks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank domaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Can't fault the place, it was very well sited, a few minutes from Rialto, very near the shops and restaurants in the centre of Venice. The hotel was spotless, the room was large, modern and well kept, loved the evening turn down service where they leave a chocolate and a card with the weather forecast for the following day - nice touch. Only small niggle was the bed was quite hard and the pillows rather flat but this was a minor issue. Bathroom was large with a huge bath and large rain shower over. I was impressed how modern this hotel was for Europe. The staff are excellent, all very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed on a B & B basis and found the breakfast buffet to be excellent, usual rolls, cheese ham etc but also fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, hard boiled and scrambled eggs, various cereals, yogurt and three or four different types of cakes and biscuits. The breakfast waiter is a character and very helpful. Would throughly recommend this hotel and Venice itself but remember to take lots of money it is a very expensive city for everything especially food and drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank royalbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for Carnivale the first weekend in Feb 2013. The hotel is really well placed, close to the Rialto and even closer to the Rialto waterbus stop - perfect for coming from the airport. It's only a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to St Marks.

The hotel is very nicely appointed, decent sized rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Well recommended, and I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff at Hotel a La Commedia were fantastic! We were in Venice for Carnavale & they helped us with dinner reservations, gondola rides, printing our easyjet boarding passes....pretty much everything. The service was impeccable. The hotel itself is clean, in a great location & very comfortable. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassadyjc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall an excellent hotel to stay in. Everything well maintained and in good condition - presumably it had been renovated not too long ago. Good sized bathroom with an excellent shower. Pleasant breakfast room with good choice of food. Staff friendly and helpful. Small but comfortable lounge and bar in the entrance foyer. Bedrooms checked again in the evening and a chocolate treat left (nice touch). only change i would have made is the addition of a feather pillow - i don't like the synthetic ones. As others have said, location is very good - the Rialto is round the corner with the vaporetto and airport waterbus stops, and St. Marks is only a brisk 5 minute walk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vienna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing