We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent reception service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #32 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good and clean hotel, quiet rooms with good beds, in the citycentre of Venice. We enjoyed our stay in hotel al commedia. We are very graceful for the excellent help of the people of the reception, mr Massimo and mr Lorenzo, when our flight back home was cancelled because of the bad weather. Their effort was inexhaustible !!!
Breakfast was excellent and divers, a good way to start your day (-;

Natascha (Holland)

Room Tip: room are quiet , in city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natascha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love Venice and we love our Hotel - a la Commedia. This was our seventh stay which is proof that this hotel always makes our time in beautiful Venice very special.
All the staff including Andrea, Massimo, Roberto, Frederico and Lorenzo are charming, very polite, genuinely helpful and at all times very professional. This is a hotel which takes its reputation seriously. It is clean, the rooms are beautifully maintained and fresh. The breakfast staff are cheerful, polite and attentive, and the breakfast was a fine start to our day. The location for our explorations of Venice is ideal; very central and just near beautiful Campo San Luca which is a great meeting point for the locals.
All the attention to detail, the excellent suggestions and care of the staff, as well as the beautiful surroundings made our stay very memorable. We look forward to our return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thetravellingdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend had booked us here for my birthday. After looking at the website, I was very pleased but as you know, websites can sometimes be deceiving and forget the little "add ons" and "extras". Not here!
This is a beautiful hotel, in the heart of Venice :)
It's perfect location meant we could pop back for a late afternoon nap before heading right back out for dinner!
The staff go to great legnths to ensure your every happiness - I wanted to go to the Opera for my birthday and the website I tried to book through proved difficult and a pre-booking before the day of a show was mandatory but the hotel staff made a phone call and sorted out everything, making my birthday extra special.
They also reccommended restaurants and made all the bookings for us.
We took advantage of the free trip to Murano to see the glass blowing and visit the galleries.
As mentioned in other reviews, Yes you have to make your own way back, but the public water buses costs aren't too bad, considering it was free on the way :) ?7.... I certainly didnt mind spending that after we had travelled to the Island in style - in a Vaparetto!! (Which would in itself be very expensive)
We also took advantage of the reduced rate gondolla ride.
I had been warned that Gondollas were a tourist trap and waste of money... But I was in Venice and we walked absolutely everywhere, which I can been told to do, to see the most! So, "when in Rome...."
It was ?30 and we shared the gondolla with 2 other couples which was nice, everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience which lasted aprox 35/40 mins.

The breakfast at the hotel is a mix of continental; boiled eggs, cereal cheese, fruit, yoghurt etc.. italian; breads, cakes, biscuits, meats etc and also has a choice of scrambled egg and bacon for the Brits wanting home comforts!! :)

The hotel's COFFEE is TRULY GLORIOUS!!

The next day's weather report and Bacci chocolates on the turnsown service were a lovely extra too :)

5  Thank nicojade58
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been to Venice 3 times now, and this was by far the best hotel I've used there. We had a Deluxe double room, it was spacious, very clean and lived up to its name in the luxury department! the bathroom was enormous with his & hers sinks and perfect bath & shower. The staff were courteous and efficient, they all spoke very good English and even after carrying our bags up to the room the porter did not hang around for a tip like they do in some less reputable hotels (I had it in my hand but he was off before I could hand it over!)

The breakfast is perfect, the spread is vast & sumptuous, the restaurant room is clean, light and sets you up for a full day exploring.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, I would return to Venice just to stay here, how's that for a recommendation!

Tip: If you're going to Venice by air, get a water bus from the airport, The Alilaguna (Tickets available in the arrivals area of the airport, and the boat stop is a 5 minute undercover walk from the airport) is the perfect way to arrive in the ancient city, cruising up the Grand Canal just as people have done for hundreds of years, you could get off at Rialto Bridge (which is very close to the hotel), but arriving at St Marks Square is much more exciting and the walk to the hotel is easy.

Thank you Hotel a La Commedia for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peztone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed in this hotel as part of a city break in Venice booked through BA. What a gem! The location just two minutes from the Rialto Bridge and the Allilaguna Vaporetto stop from the airport; it is so convenient and St Mark's Square was a few minutes walk away. We had a double room on the second floor, overlooking the street at the front of the hotel and were not disturbed by any noise. The standard of the room was very high, with a very comfortable, roomy, double bed, and the temperature of the room was easily controlled. The windows could also be opened, if required. The room was absolutely spotless throughout our stay. The bathroom, had a really nice, deep bath, as well as a hand shower and a fabulous, large overhead shower. There is Wi-Fi available in the rooms, but in ours it was a little patchy. However, it is fine in Reception and they have a pc you can use, if you want to. All the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. 'Continental Breakfast' was included in our room deal - but this was the biggest 'Continental Breakfast' we have ever been offered! It was laid out as a buffet with a fabulous choice of fresh fruit, fruit juice, softly fresh rolls, yoghurts, eggs, bacon, hams, cheeses, cakes.... the list goes on. The breakfast room is very pleasant too. Visiting Venice at this time of year was fabulous, no crowds and crisp cold dry weather - the Hotel a La Commedia was just the icing on the cake! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoUKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very happy pick from a BA city break offer. The hotel is probably under-rated for service. Friendly staff throughout, with good standards and well maintained accommodation. Good central location close to the Rialto Alilaguna stop for simple airport transfer...definitely a recommend for others for their trips and our own return visits.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank alejeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After visiting Rome and Florence, we stayed at this hotel for four nights, and this hotel was great and the best one we stayed at on our honeymoon! Our room and the food was great, plus the staff were really friendly and nice, nothing was too much trouble. We even got a free bottle of MILLESIMATO Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore D.O.C.G, which was a really nice touch to our stay. We would definitely stay here again and plan to visit again on our anniversary in the future!

Thank you for making our honeymoon so special

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimacaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing