We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A La Commedia deserve our 5 star ranking because of the excellent location, within walking distance from Rialto Bridge. One thing about Venice is you have to walk after you jump from your boat. So you need a good location hotel so you wont have trouble with your luggage. From airport dont take water taxi, very expensive. So, A La Commedia is your answer.The room & toilet was clean, and the cleaner left us 2 chocolates bar on our bed after she cleaned our room. My wife & I had a great vacation here. I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank asrisalleh5186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hotel A La Commedia is an excellent base in Venice. It has a great location a couple of minutes from the Rialto Bridge and maybe a quarter hour from San Marco (if you don't get lost, and there's a strong possibility you will! But then that's half the fun of Venice).

The hotel is beautifully decorated, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were both friendly and efficient and spoke excellent English. If we had a problem they sorted it out straight away. There's a little bar in the lobby which is great for an afternoon coffee or a nightcap--we never made it up to the roof terrace because it was so cold and rainy, but maybe that's something to do next time! We ate a self-served Continental breakfast which was plentiful (cooked breakfasts are also available, and for a small charge you can eat in your room). The morning staff were friendly and helpful and the coffee they served was delicious!

Our room was larger than expected and with a little balcony overlooking a small piazza (I don't believe there's such a thing as a bad view in Venice). Despite only booking a standard room we had a little seating area as well as a bedroom. The beds were comfortable, the room had individual climate controls and with the curtains shut there was little noise from the street. My only quibble is that there was no kettle or coffee maker, but I knew that in advance and took my own travel kettle as I need some coffee before I face the day--but as I said, the coffee served at breakfast was very nice and came in a pot big enough for two servings.

The staff also gave us a map which was more detailed than the one in our guidebooks, something you need when navigating the confusing tangle of Venice's tiny streets. There's no restaurant on site (apart from the breakfast room and light snacks at the bar) but you don't have to go far in any direction to find a cosy and inexpensive trattoria, cafe or pizzeria (although the one directly opposite the hotel was very expensive and quite disappointing--go further afield, you won't have to go far!).

One piece of advice is to take some really comfortable shoes as you'll do a lot of walking in Venice. Most of the famous sights, like the Rialto bridge and market, Pizza San Marco with the Doge's palace, the Basilica, the Campanile etc are not far away on foot. But beware! We visited in early December when the tides were very high and several canal-side streets had flooded, as had Piazza San Marco, which was easily six inches underwater in places. The Venetians are entirely used to this and go about their daily business with the help of raised walkways in the street and wellington boots. I really advise taking something waterproof to wear on your feet as shuffling along on those narrow raised walkways can be a tiresome business when everyone keeps stopping to take pictures every few seconds!

We took a shared vaporetto from the airport which was about €50/person return. The waterbus is cheaper but much slower, and of course you can't beat the glamour of racing across the lagoon in a speedboat! The hotel staff organised a shared gondola ride most afternoons (weather dependant) which was €30/person--compared to a lot of rides, that was good value and we really enjoyed it. I really recommend a water trip of some kind, even if it's just on the waterbus, because Venice looks totally different from the water.

Right, that's about it--suffice to say, I was very happy with this choice of hotel, and thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etaknosnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has to be one of the better hotels we have stayed during our Europe trip. The customer care was brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The room was very clean. This hotel is very central to everything. Breakfast was great. Bathroom was big enough. Overall this was superb holiday and hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful location between San Marco and Rialto vaporetto stops. Can easily walk to all of the major attractions. Lovely, spacious, quiet, clean, well maintained rooms. Excellent breakfast. Staff... concierges, and Emanuel... couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel for exploring Venice. Location, comfortable rooms, very decent breakfast.
The hotel is clean, quiet and very helpful staff.
All major attractions are within walking distance.
Convenient to the airport and the railway station.
Recommend for study trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived (hotel is 5 minutes from the water bus stop at Rialto) to the moment we left we were unable to find fault with this hotel.
The staff, rooms, breakfast etc were all excellent and we would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spend 2 nights with my friends in this hotel (it was a girls weekeend away to celebrate one of my friends birthday), and my impression of the place was excellent! Very well furnished rooms, helpful guys at the reception (big thanks to Lorenzo!), good breakfast ( their pastries are great). We'll come again, as we love Venice this hotel is a great place to stay while exploring it: everything is near, only 5min to the closest vaporetto stop - what else to ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $128 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing