We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #22 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel for exploring Venice. Location, comfortable rooms, very decent breakfast.
The hotel is clean, quiet and very helpful staff.
All major attractions are within walking distance.
Convenient to the airport and the railway station.
Recommend for study trip to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    327
    39
    11
    13
See reviews for
275
1,124
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived (hotel is 5 minutes from the water bus stop at Rialto) to the moment we left we were unable to find fault with this hotel.
The staff, rooms, breakfast etc were all excellent and we would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spend 2 nights with my friends in this hotel (it was a girls weekeend away to celebrate one of my friends birthday), and my impression of the place was excellent! Very well furnished rooms, helpful guys at the reception (big thanks to Lorenzo!), good breakfast ( their pastries are great). We'll come again, as we love Venice this hotel is a great place to stay while exploring it: everything is near, only 5min to the closest vaporetto stop - what else to ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazing rooms and decoration, I was personally surprised compared to the hotel's size. The only down point was the price, but that's how everything is in Venice. The breakfast buffet was limited and doesn't not meet the expectation. One last point, the hotel charges for any little service they provide such as a bucket of ice for €6.00 (usually its free)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faisal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at Venice airport and decided we would take the public water taxi service (called Alilaguna) into Venice. Ticket desk is inside the arrivals area so buy your tickets before you leave the airport building - also cheaper to buy a return ticket than a single, if you also want to return to airport by same means. The walkway, which is mostly covered, to the boat departure point took us just over 5 mins but we do walk at reasonable pace
Journey took approx 35 /40 mins to Rialto. Hotel took a few minutes to find as we thought it was furher away than it actually was! Hotel location is excellent
Hotel is 1 min from Grand Canal and Alilaguna stop.
Less than 2 mins from Rialto
5 minutes to San Marco (St Marks Square)
10 mins to Nove Fundamente (stop you need to get to Burano island)
Hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had 2 rooms connected by a private corridor connecting 2 separate rooms - very nice. Rooms also had a shared private balcony. Rooms were well appointed and the rooftop terrace was lovely in the sunshine with good views over the rooftops. Housekeeping service was fab, room cleaned morning and evening and turndown service with the complimentary chocolates was a nice touch.
Breakfast mainly continental selection, but also had eggs and bacon which my husband enjoyed. Good variety of pastries, fruit flans, cakes (loved the madeira cake and the fruit flan in particular), yogurts, fruit, cheese and some sliced meat.
WiFi access is a bit temperamental but got access via the pc in the lobby area (down the corridor to the right of the reception desk). Reception staff (Frederico B was our favourite) were very helpful and we took advantage of the free trip to Murano that the hotel organised to Signoretti. The pieces in the workshop showrooms are amazing. We didn't buy anything and the prices were better in the main street / canal in Murano. Don't be tempted by any sales pitches where they tell you the pieces are one-off or unique (unless you're into the thousands) as we found same elsewhere.
Would also suggest that you arrange your gondola trip separately, although recommendation from hotel on best night to do this for the sunset was spot on. Hotel also provided complimentary umbrellas for us, as we needed these one evening and also borrowed the next day when there was a high tide. We were also able to buy the fold up wellies which we needed to be able to go explore at high tide, this was actually fun.
We had a wonderful holiday and love Venice, we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I went to venice for the weekend in January, we took a 1/2 day and flew BA into Marco Polo airport from London.

We had pre booked a water taxi transfer, which all worked out really well, it was very romantic and we were the only ones on the taxi.

note: the walk from airport to water taxi is 10+ minutes, so not ideal for all persons.

We stayed in La Commedia, which we booked through Expedia online and found very reasonably priced, very good standard, I think we had the deluxe room, and perfectly located, 2 mins from the Rialto bridge, but also quiet at night.

Venice is so small that wherever you stay will be within walking distance from most attractions, restaurants and shops, so if you are looking at the map thinking you need to be close to something in particular (which I did), relax as it really is so small you are a short walk from most things.

January seemed to be a good time to go, we had blue skies, sunshine (sun glasses), it was chilly, but if you are wrapped up warm (coat, scarf, gloves) then its not a problem. It also seems to be quieter, so less tourists, just a nice buzz, reasonably priced restaurants and gondolas (EUR70 for a tour with some singing - great fun!).
note: the roof bar was not open in January.

We had been warned several times about the cost of everything in Venice being high, but living in London, and being used to London prices, we really didn't notice it. That said we did not take a dinner in st marks square, we opted for recommendations from trip advisor.

Take some comfortable shoes for walking around, as there is lots to see - make sure you go to Harrys bar (if you can find it!) - get a bellini - it will cost you 10 or 15 EUR's but its a one off / tick in the box.

We spent 2 days, and 2 nights there, and we saw a lot, but you could easily spend longer in Venice, take the time to soak up the atmosphere, enjoy the culture - we cannot wait to go back.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked this hotel for our first wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and a room upgrade . The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. The rooms are well kept, cleaned twice a day and we loved the turn down service. Breakfast was great with plenty if choice with fresh fruit and pastries etc. The hotel has a roof terrace which was lovely during the early part of the evening where we drank aperitif's. Staff were professional, helpful and offered good humour in their recommendations. St marks sq is just a 4 minute walk and the grand canal with the Rialto bridge is just round the corner which offers easy transport links to the airport and the surrounding islands. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience. ..... would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing