We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #32 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found the staff here were fantastic.They were very helpful organising tours for us so as to make sure we had the best experience in Venice.... As it turned out Venice was our favourite city (we toured Italy for 6 weeks). Take the time to go to Murano Glass Factory & Burano Island as it is well worth while. The hotel even organised a gondola ride for us ....No ques !!!!

Room Tip: All room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

A fantastic Hotel in all respects. It is extremely easy to find from the hotels website instructions and only about 3-4 mins walk from Rialto. Very clean, well appointed and spacious rooms. Excellent breakfasts and extremely helpful staff at reception-especially Roberto! The roof garden is a welcome oasis from the crowded streets below and was open until after midnight while we were there.
We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mancsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My hubbie booked this hotel as my christmas present & decided to take me here for my 60th Birthday:) (I still got another prezzie on the day) The hotel is wonderful, great excellent & the staff especially Roberto (Reception) & Emanuele (breakfast & Roof Terrace) both helped me to celebrate my birthday by far of all the staff!!! nothing was a problem:) this in our opinion is 4/5 stars brilliant hotel!!! can't praise it enough:)

I clicked on swimming pool & fitness centre by mistake having said that swimming pool would be great:) lol!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights (13-16th August) as part of our honeymoon.
This was our first trip to Venice and the hotel reception staff were excellent, they gave us a map and highlighted all the attractions we should visit. They also arranged a trip to the Murano glass factory on the second day of our stay, we got a private water taxi with a few of the other guests. The staff were always friendly and cheerful whenever we left or came back to the hotel after being out and about.

We were upgraded to a junior suite for our stay which was great, the room has a separate small lounge area which was perfect for dumping the suitcases! We had a small balcony with a view of the street below. The bed was confortable and the bathroom was spacious with a lovely rainforest shower.

The rooms were turned down every night and we received a weather report for the following day which was much appreciated.

The breakfast offered a large selection of food and drink which was great.

We would definately stay again if we were to return to Venice in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was our first stay in Venice so we were looking for a hotel that had easy access to all the attractions we wanted to see. The staffs were friendly and helpful but we were glad we double checked the time to take the Alilaguna to the airport as the information was incorrect. The room was immaculate and much larger than what I have come to expect in Europe. It was also surprisingly quiet given how close the hotel is to the Rialto Bridge. The hotel is really close to the water bus line so transporting luggage was not an issue. It was easy to walk to St. Marks, the Doges Palace, the Academica and most other attractions. The breakfast was good though not very extensive. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to keep your window closed in the evening as the mosquitos are quite active in Ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmarCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Venice very much. The hotel was perfect. The room was nice and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. They helped us out to book a nice romantic restaurant etc. If we would return to Venice, we would stay at Hotel A La Commedia again, for sure !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay here. The rooms were not medium size (decent-sized by European standards and on the small size for American standards) but very modern. The bathrooms were spacious. The air conditioning was solid. The place was very clean. Breakfast was simple but good. The staff was extremely courteous. The location was very good.

Aside from the hotel, we did not have a great experience with restaurants in the immediate vicinity. so I suggest walking to Dorsoduro or across the Rialto bridge for a better dinner that is more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $174 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing