We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place - will definitely stay again”
Review of Ai Tre Ponti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ai Tre Ponti
Ranked #416 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little place - will definitely stay again”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for a night before our cruise from Venice, and (despite some poor reviews on here) had a great time. Ai Tre Ponti is in a great position very near the main transport hub, but on a canal which, while lively by day, is quiet at night. On arrival the owner was at their other property, but the helpful neighbour fetched him for us, and he couldn't have been friendlier. The stairs from the street are perhaps a bit scruffy, but once at the level where the rooms start, everything was sparklingly clean and the room overlooking the canal was very pleasant. Two bedrooms on the first floor shared a lovely bathroom, although no-one was in the other room so it was all ours. There was also a kitchen/sitting room to use, including a dining table and comfy sofa - really it was like having a whole apartment to ourselves, and for £85 it must have been the best deal in Venice. There's even a little corner restaurant right across the street - excellent pizza, great prices and nice service. If you want a large serviced hotel in a palazzo look elsewhere, but if you prefer to be quiet, comfortable and well looked after, this is the place for you ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    23
    20
    32
See reviews for
28
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The room is very far in the street and not on the river side like in the pictures. (Not on the mentioned address).

Smells really bad.

Shared bathroom (also was not mentioned on the website).

On their booking.com page their cancelation policy is up to two days before, but we tried to cancel a MONTH before and they didn't allowed and charged us in advanced.

Safety -very old type door key the same one for all doors (no safe box...)

Staff not kind ..."I don't know you booking"

Going for siesta for 1 hour and closed the office, even that they wrote that check in can be done at 1100-2000.

Too many lies!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaybazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Booked in for a long weekend on the understanding of each room having a tv, hairdryer and shared kitchen facilities. What we got however was a plain room with no facititlies apart from a bathroom which was no bigger than a wardrobe (you have to sit on the toilet sideways).
As for the kitchen facilities- these just did not exist!!!

The bed and breakfast element is also a con.
We booked in and was taken to our room, 100m or so from reception. Got up for breakfast and realised nothing was downstairs, the reception office was closed (and didn't seem to re-open for 2 days) so we had to make our own arrangements.
After finally getting someone in the reception they pointed us to the cafe that serves the breakfast and when we arrived they would not serve us as you need a voucher- which we were not given.

If you decide to book this hotel, make sure you get the vouchers and that you dont expect what they have advertised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here in February for two nights. We were informed that the room had canal views and a TV. Neither were true. Our tiny room looked out on a back alleyway. The bed sheets were dirty and there was insufficient space to leave our bags. The room was not properly ventilated and got quite hot in the middle of winter. We were not given enough towels, and were refused more on request. The breakfast was stale and unappetising. There were loud guests in the other room who took over the common space and left their personal belongings including medication and toiletries all over the kitchen table and in the bathroom. They left cups unwashed and rubbish out. The shower nozzle was broken and the owner refused to fix it during our stay. It looked as though it had been that way for a while. You had to pay for maps and no tourist information was provided by the owner. We were very unimpressed and would never stay here again. After subsequent travels around Europe, we still count this as our worst accommodation experience to date.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Cons: Mosquito infested room! My boyfriend and I stayed at B&B Ai Tre Ponti (at Rio Terà dei Pensieri) for one night, and the next day his arm was ravaged by MANY mosquito bites! I would post a picture of his arm, but I'm afraid it could literally put this place out of business. Also, the rooms feel sticky and dingy, especially the bathrooms. We stayed here one night for last-minute emergency reasons, but next time, I would rather do a hostel if it's an emergency. Mosquitoes leave me alone so I was ok, but if you are targeted (like my boyfriend) I warn you: do NOT sleep here.

Pros: Friendly staff; Voucher for free continental breakfast at cafe across the street.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Agree with many of the other reviews- lots of misleading advertising.
our room DID have Air conditioning nor did we have a problem with mosquitos (as we kept our windows closed), but we did not have a canal view, nor were we told about the shared bathroom. (which was fine, just one other couple, - but it's not the kind of surprsie you want)

Our email confirmation listed the credit cards they accept, and then they said cash only when we went to pay, fine, but required another bank fee for another cash withdrawl.

they make it very clear they want you to be independent... if this is your style you will love it. A full kitchen, if you want to cook, but the bare basics included for breakfast. (bread/pie, jam/butter) You will have to make coffee/tea yourself if you want it. The desk is not always covered, seemed rather unpredictable.

it was pretty clean and quiet.
**no wifi**
sounds like this place is hit or miss based on which apartment you are assigned.

Location is great though- walkable to bus/train with luggage, which is hard to say for most of venice. And then also walkable to the rest of Venice.

I would stay here again if I had to but I would probably start by looking for another place first in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tovarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Horrible place. No air conditioning, no fan, rooms are hot, full of flies and mosquitoes. Shared bathrooms are horrible. The 'Concierge' is incredibly rude and unfriendly.

On their website they blatantly lie:

- Office hours are not from 10:30am to 10pm. They are advertised on their door til only 8pm yet when we checked out the concierge stated he was closing at 4:30pm for no rational reason. We were not able to leave our baggage there for our night time flight. We ended up paying 10 Euros to leave our baggage at the bus station for the day. When we walked past the 'Hotel' at around 8:20pm to go to the bus station, the 'Concierge' was still in the building!?!?

- The rooms do not have canal or garden views as stated on the website. We had a view of the brick wall of the building next door.

- The 'Concierge' does not provide any tourist advice or book any tours as stated on their website. When you get there they actually have a sign saying 'No Tourist Information' or something along those lines.

- There is no 'buffet' breakfast. The breakfast is self serve and you have the choice from two identical loaves of white bread and some milk in the fridge.

- There is no air conditioning in the room and no fan either. Room was hot, full of flies and mosquitoes making it impossible to sleep.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Q: Best room? A: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_the_rec0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 385 in Venice
1,019 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alloggi Marinella
Alloggi Marinella
#151 of 457 in Venice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' Doge
Ca' Doge
#120 of 457 in Venice
240 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#226 of 457 in Venice
99 reviews
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#159 of 457 in Venice
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Tre Ponti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Tre Ponti

Property: Ai Tre Ponti
Address: Rio Tera Dei Pensieri Santa Croce 359/B, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ai Tre Ponti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Tre Ponti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing