We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a family of 4 or 5”
Review of Domus Cavanis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Cavanis
Ranked #267 of 385 Hotels in Venice
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value for a family of 4 or 5”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Our family of 4 had shared some very small rooms in other cities. This was a HUGE room with a big bed plus a crazy couch that made out into a triple bunk bed. There was nothing fancy about the building, but we couldn't get over how much space we had. It was clean and had air conditioning. I was thrilled by the price, location and space. We ate breakfast with people paying WAY more in the main hotel. Breakfast was more elaborate than what you usually get in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    93
    75
    29
    32
See reviews for
35
133
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

This place was the pits!! The staff we rude and unhelpful. When asked to give directions to local amenities the answer was always no. The rooms of the Domus Cavanis are dingy and unpleasent. The details given by the Hotel state that there is a bar, however when we asked for a drink at 9.30 in the evening we were told that the bar was closed!!!! Again staff were rude when asked if there were any bar's nearby. They also state that they have satalite television however its all dubed in Itialian. Venice itself is dirty and covered in graffiti. The overall experience was terrible.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank Nellie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

can not stress enough how much i hated the place from start to finish!! the staff in reception were very very very rude!!very unhelpfull, ignorant , snotty!!! on the net the hotel advertises a Bar, true they do have a bar displaying what drinks you could have if they would open the bar!! but you guessed it they dont open the bar! as for overlooking a pretty gargen!! bull!the garden is the same as the rest of venice, run down and shabby!! pots with dead plants in them and a dirty table and chairs set flung in the corner!! breakfast was horrible, consisted of small rock hard bread rolls cheap ham , cheese and salami, staff again were horrible and rude!the ceral was indiscribable and the fruit salad was a joke!! rooms were clean enough and must say the housekeeping staff were very pleasent!! (should move them to front of house) all i can say is dont go!! i know it is cheap but a smile is free , except in venice where they woukld prob charge 3.50 for the pleasure!! if you already havent booked your trip to venice! Dont! cannot stress how horrilbe it is!! yopu may imagine it to be beautifuly and romantic but the reality is very very different! the whole city is run down and covered in graffitti!!the water is dirty! you have to pay for the pleasure of even entering a church! the dodges palace is a joke!! you will be terriosied by birds constantly!! the shopping in none existant!! shopping centres off the island are crap!! everything was crap!! and a special note for anyone wanting to go in JANUARY...... DONT most places are closed until feb! and anyone wanting to have a laugh and a few drinks, DONT GO!! impossible to find a pub and most places shut down at around 8 or nine and the you have to spend the rest of the night stitting in your crap room watching the italian shopping network because the satalite TV they advertise consists of the same five channels over and over again!!

for the sake of your sanity dont go!!!

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — the reception staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank i_hate_venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

and unfortunately that how the staff treat you. This building is separate from the Belle Arte and the rooms are pretty sparse, but do overlook a nice venetian court yard. Breakfast was pretty ordinary (and I'd had a few European breakfasts by the time I got to Venice) - my view is somewhat coloured by missing baggage and being sick. In all seriousness though, for the prices you pay in Venice this was very clean and pretty good value for money and if I was going back to venice I'd stay there again, except that I would like to try a different part of the city. To quote the Lonely Planet guidebook - few places are as breathtakingly beautiful, or as teeth grindingly frustrating as venice. STAY AWAY DURING SUMMER the place is swarming with tourists (like me) if I go back to venice it will be off season.

  • Liked — the location and the courtyard
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away from venice in the summer months - place is swarming with americans
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank sandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour in May 2006. It is located across the way from the Hotel Belle Arti (this is where you check in and have breakfast) in the Dorsoduro neighborhood. During my stay, the Domus was not attended by any in-building staff, even though there was a reception area, giving the place an eerie, deserted feel. The rooms were very plain and the amenities not super great (horrible shower) - sort of like a Motel 6 in the states. Breakfast was adequate but not stellar. On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location, just steps from two vaporetto stops (Zattere and Accademia). Given the high price of hotels in Venice, the location outweighs the cons.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#227 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#179 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#181 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#153 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
San Marco
Alcyone Hotel
Alcyone Hotel
#264 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#224 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Cavanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Cavanis

Property: Domus Cavanis
Address: Rio Tera Antonio Foscarini Dorsoduro 895, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Cavanis 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Domus Cavanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Cavanis Venice
Domus Cavanis Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing