We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Value!”
Review of La Villeggiatura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Villeggiatura
Ranked #43 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location & Value!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned from our trip with our two children. La Villeggiatura was the perfect choice for our family. Barbara and Sunil made us feel at home and were very helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We considered staying in some of the fancier hotels, but couldn't justify it in a city like Venice with no elevators anywhere. La Villeggiatura is a very charming place that provides very good value in a perfect location. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineg754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    62
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
154
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were very happy with our choice: small, cozy, place with lots of privacy in a perfect location! We were looking for the place to stay in Venice for quite some time as we wanted nice place and available at the end of Carnival and still reasonable price. I am very happy that we found Villeggiatura. Barbara was very helpful with all our wishes & questions and prepared with advises. Her recommendations were great starting from sightseeing and ending with restaurants.
B & B is in a Venetian house and it's nice to have your key and come back after a day to your "home" in Venice. The reviews which were criticizing the entrance- I really don't understand was missing there: I would say it's simple, pleasant as you don't feel so touristy entering the house where Venetians live around.
The location- again personal opinion but can't imagine better location to stay in Venice than surroundings of Rialto (Well maybe just having the view to Grand Canal from my room :)).
The room was very spacious and warm also very clean.
Breakfast is simple- but was good for us. I would still suggest maybe some variety of patissery and bread from day to day, especially that even small shops around they have delicious biscuits, patissery and bread. For example we really appreciated Panettone during breakfast on our stay in Rome. But otherwise you will find at Villeggiatura: coffe, some fruits, yogurts, 1 croissant per person and some small breads.
To sum up it's really nice place to stay in Venice and we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasaPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful B+B in a good location.

La Villeggiatura is located on a lovely quiet street concealed behind a large door. Coming and going via this hidden door made us feel like a local instead of a tourist going in to their hotel.
The B+B is located up a two flights of stairs.
I had booked the Casanova room over the phone, but a few days before travelling I found out I would be staying in the Doge room (which is the other deluxe room in the property.) I was initially disappointed but the Doge room was very big and had lovely old ornate pieces of large furniture such as couch and dresser which added to the beauty of the room.

The bathroom was excellent, and there is free wifi in the B+B. I cant understand why you would choose one of Venices very expensive hotels as when I was booking our two nights in Venice no hotel came close to this luxury for the same money.

The breakfast was very nice with lovely Italian coffee made for us.

We found the B+B's location excellent for getting the boat to Murano and strolling to the main tourist areas. Barbara who manages the B+B was very helpful, she booked our time to visit St Marcs Basilica and showed us some non touristy restaurants to the north of the B+B away from the tourists. These were the best value and best meals we had in Venice, as we had felt fleeced in a few places south of the Rialto bridge.

La Villeggiatura was still pricey compared to any normal B+B, but this is Venice and La Villeggiatura is a luxurious B+B so you compare its price to Venice hotels, and it beats them hands down.

You may get a little annoyed crossing the Rialto bridge for the umpteenth time but its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Lazio, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I spent Christmas in Venice and found La Villeggiatura perfect for our needs. It is a small hotel (six rooms) that exudes comfort and intimacy. Our suite was roomy and warm. The staff, Barbara and Sunil, were readily available and gave us our privacy. I will always remember the little, red Christmas tree they put in our room as a wonderful added touch. We will absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any would be fine, I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I went with my fiancé at this magnificent B&B in Venice.
The location of this structure is probably in the most central part of Venice.
Nearby the rooms you have the beautiful Rialto Market and the Grand Canal.
As soon as we got to La Villeggiatura, Barbara (the receptionist) showed us the beautiful rooms, and somebody helped us bring our luggage in the room.
Afterwards Barbara offered us a cup of coffee and gave us a map of Venice and suggested us where to go for lunch an dinner (very good venician restaurants not at all turistic) during our stay and how to go to Murano, Burano and also told us to go the Guggenheim museum and reserved us special tickets for San Marco's Church!

Our room had a beautiful bathroom with many different top quality products, and was very clean.
Breakfast was very good and overall all the service was fantastic!
Every person in that structure is very polite and helpful.

I have been to many hotels all over the world but if I could recommend one with a great quality/price ratio I would definitely recommend La Villeggiatura.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterElser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This B&B was exactly as advertised and deserving of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Unless you are a high-maintenance traveler (in which case you should probably be looking at big hotels, not B&B's), do not be scared off by discussion of the courtyard and stairs.

Location: Very close to the Rialto and fruit/fish markets, and a pleasant easy walk to St.Mark's Square. This was our first trip to Venice and we were a little worried about staying somewhere which looked like it was not super central, but we learned Venice is so small; the location was absolutely fine and convenient. We had no trouble finding the place using the directions from the website, and they give you a good city map when you arrive, so we never had problems finding it.

Exterior: About the courtyard: this is a B&B in an original building in a historic city, so yes, the entrance involves walking up an old courtyard past entrances to apartments. There is no grand lobby. But to us, it felt like accessing a secret door just off the street, going through a living building where people actually live, to a charming B&B at the top. The courtyard is communal for the building, so there were bins for garbage and recycling, but they were neat and there was no odor or loose trash at all. About the stairs: Staff were eager to help with bags although we packed light and didn't need help. There is the simple fact that there are 3 flights of stairs, so it certainly doesn't qualify as wheelchair accessible. However, for most people who will be walking through the city and navigating all the bridges and uneven terrain, it should not be a problem. We didn't even think twice about it.

Staff: The hotel manager, Barbara, may come off to some as a little brusque, but to me overall seemed uber-efficient and went out of her way to help make our whole visit pleasant. She sat down with us when we first arrived to go over our plans and see if we needed any help. Even when she wasn't on site, she made herself available by cellphone in case we got lost or needed recommendations. The other staff person, Sunil, was also very pleasant and helpful, and he is always onsite for emergencies. Overall he and the housekeeper were helpful, but not obtrusive. They let us leave our bags the day after checkout because we had a late train out, which was also super helpful.

Interior: Ours looked exactly like the photo on the website, and bathrooms were *clean.* Noise level was minimal. We heard no street noise; we could hear the noise of like, the adjacent shower, toilet flushing and the family in the adjacent room using the bathroom, but only from our bathroom. It wouldn't have woken us up. The tradeoff with the quietness is probably that there was no view to speak of, just adjacent homes, but we only used the room to sleep. The common breakfast area is bright and clean.

Breakfast: cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruit, hot drinks to order, juices. It seemed like a perfectly fine selection to us.

We met lots of other Americans who were there having found it on TA, and from the stickers on one of their windows they appear to get lots of mentions from similar sites in other European countries like France. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promethium P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a family of seven (7) with Grandma & Grandpa and school aged children. We were so very comfortable in our rooms! We found it very quiet and restful with the bustling Venice activity happening just outside. Great hospitality, great location, and wonderful breakfasts.

Barbara was so very knowledgable on all topics. She is there to assist with all questions and gives excellent advice. Even before you arrive, be sure to ask questions regarding arrival transportation as well as departure. There are difficult ways of getting to the La Villeggiatura and easy ways. Don't insist on figuring it out on your own.

There are many steps to get to the top level of the building where the La Villeggiatura is located. I loved the exercise (as well as walking everywhere around Venice!) but for older folks, it should be a consideration. My 75 year-old parents just took it slow and were fine. The comfortable beds made the walk up all worth it.

Thank you Barbara for everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#109 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#5 of 457 in Venice
678 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#23 of 457 in Venice
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#24 of 457 in Venice
583 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Poste Vecie
Locanda Poste Vecie
#92 of 457 in Venice
342 reviews
San Polo
Corte 1321
Corte 1321
#45 of 457 in Venice
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villeggiatura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villeggiatura

Property: La Villeggiatura
Address: Calle Dei Boteri San Polo 1569, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villeggiatura 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Villeggiatura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villeggiatura Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing