We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a wide berth , not worth the headache...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casanova ai Tolentini
Ranked #188 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After traveling all day arriving at 3pm was then told to come back at 4 , your room not ready .. Given wrong directions to Casanova b& b , the mattress in room 103 you can see and feel every spring , needs throwing out , no phone or clock or iron in room or access to any , not to mention the hassle with their WI-FI ... Would not recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turners4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolentini, Proprietario at Casanova ai Tolentini, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you spent in writing it.
what you wrote was not totally true, our check in time is from the 3 pm, it means that we give to our guest more time for the check out than the normal 0.30/11.00 am, this is a specific choice due to the usual time travelling our guests have, our matress are in memory foam, sorry, no spring at all.
We are sorry if you didn't appreciate our B&B but in spite of what you wrote it seem more a personal wrong choice than other reason. What we always use to say, it's a private B&B not an Hotel....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Casanova ai Tolentini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 302 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Room was lovely, simple and stylish. Apartment in a brilliant spot, on a canal. Spoiled for choice with bars and restaurants all around. Check in at hotel florida then a bit of a walk but once there it is a perfect base for sightseeing. Twenty minutes walk from Saint Marks Square. Breakfast at bakery two doors down, basic but adequate and always served by friendly welcoming staff. great to be able to sit by the canal in the morning sunshine sipping coffee watching the boats go by(also seats inside). Only issue was with the hot water boiler which we noticed one evening getting ready to go out. They should really have come to fix it straight away, but came next morning. It could have been a big problem if we had been going somewhere special like the opera which luckily we had done the previous night. Overall, a great location at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the canal if you can as the view is fantastic. Our room was at the side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is not a B&B as advertised - breakfast is not included. It is however available for 5 Euros, and is good value, at the Hotel Florida, to which this B&B is linked, some 6 minutes walk away. The Casanova itself has only 4 rooms hidden away behind an anonymous (except for its number) brown door. Our room was spacious, looked out over a typical venetion alleyway and was quiet. We enjoyed our stay even though it wasn't what we had originally expected. An early morning stroll before breakfast became a pleasureable part of the day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

As this was our first time in Venice, and travelling with 2 children, we were keen to find accommodation within a short walking distance of the car hire return centre. After looking for weeks we settled on the b&b Tollentini as this was close to where we wanted to be, the only drawback is that you have to check in at the Hotel Florida (located near the railway station) collect your key from there and navigate to this hotel, not sure if they can offer any other alternative in the future however this would be appreciated by all the guests. The hotel does not offer canal views so look elsewhere if this is your desire but it does offer free wifi which the kids loved and a good choice of eateries around this location to keep you full! Also close to the "Glass bridge" and the Vaporetto (public water transport) boarding station. Sleeping was very easy because you are not located in the midst of tourists (whilst being this ourselves) and the windows offered great solace during the night. A good shower each morning and good beds provided for my rating.

Room Tip: We were located in room 21 and found this to be of good quality and at the end of the corridor so th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 8Aussietravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this B&B. The location was perfect in a beautiful spot which was nice and quiet.

Our room was small but pleasant although the bed was quite hard and we had a separate private bathroom. It was really the bathroom which let the accommodation down. There was black mould growing everywhere due to poor ventilation, this made the room smell and feel quite dirty. We avoided leaving anything in the room and used it as little as possible.

Breakfast was served in the cafe just around the corner which was nice with a lovely canalside setting.

On the plus side the location was great, close to everything and we loved the little food and drink bar recommended by a previous TA reviewer where you can grab a small glass of Chardonay and a ham roll for less than €2!

As keys have to be collected from the Hotel Florida, 10 mins away, I wouldn't recommend taking lots if heavy bags but for us with just hand luggage it was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-J1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent few days in Venise in this B&B ans were delighted about the room, where it was and about how we were welcomed by the staff there.
For sure, we would take the same room if we had to come back.

Superbe endroit! Je le conseille vivement!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in the quadruple room and were quite surprised how clean, spacious, and modern it looked. The location is also quite good - very close to the station and about 20 minutes away from Rialto. During our stay, it was quite cold and rainy in Venice, but the apartment was heated really well.

The only negative that I would mention is the check-in process which took quite a long time. We arrived to Venice at 12:30PM and were told at Hotel Florida reception that the room would be ready about 2PM. However, it was not ready until 4PM. As the weather was terrible, we were sort of stranded for couple of hours.

Other than that, we would recommend this affordable and homely place in Venice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Residence Palazzo Odoni
#115 of 384 in Venice
439 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#208 of 384 in Venice
254 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#214 of 384 in Venice
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#14 of 471 in Venice
609 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Il Veliero Romantico
Il Veliero Romantico
#32 of 225 in Venice
37 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#15 of 471 in Venice
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova ai Tolentini

Address: Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $76 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova ai Tolentini is the Bed and Breakfast where you will find a perfect combination of comfort and discretion in an exclusive home-like environment, we offer the perfect atmosphere to appreciate the magic of the most romantic city in the world.Venice was home to adventurer and irresistible seducer Giacomo Casanova and a city where artists and poets from all over the world left their hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casanova ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Ai Tolentini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing