We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Avoid if you want a bed, shambles.”
Review of Ca' Riccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ca' Riccio
Ranked #91 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked this hotel through booking.com in March 2012. I confirmed my booking and estimated time of arrival on 27th August 2012 and the hotel owner Lidia assured me all was well and they were looking forward to my stay. They sent a comprehensive map and instructions of how to find the hotel (these were very accurate and helpful). 3 days before my arrival the entire cost of the room was charged to my credit card. 2 days prior to arrival the hotel sent a generic email asking for time of arrival. I duly responded again.
We arrived on Wednesday 12th September in the pouring rain at the time we estimated in the previous correspondence. Despite buzzing countless times and phoning the given phone number we were still standing out on the street 50 minutes later getting wet.
Eventually we were let in by a young couple who were returning from a night out. They were sympathetic to our plight as they had been sent to a friend of the hotel owners on their first night due to a mix up with their booking.
Inside the hotel there wasn't any staff in sight. Luckily we found a list of 'emergency' numbers. The first 4 didn't answer.(thankfully it wasn't a proper emergency). We finally got through to giampolo. He arrived and checked us into a room. No apology was given.

The next morning we were told we had to move rooms. We were moved into a smaller room. Thankfully that was the end of the bad service. However, we never saw any of the hotel owners or received an apology from them. We were told by a member of breakfast staff that the hotel would cover the cost of the city tax (8euros that would barely cover the cost of the numerous phone calls we were forced to make)

The rooms are clean and of reasonable size.
Breakfast is on the poor side.
Hotel owners were redundant our entire stay.
The only staff available were domestic staff who would happily brush past you without acknowledging your presence.
Location is great, only 5 minutes from Rialto Bridge.

On check out another single traveller arrived with her booking.com reservation confirmation in hand. The domestic staff looked through her diary and guess what....... No booking.

IF YOU BOOK THIS HOTEL YOU ARE RISKING ARRIVING IN VENICE WITHOUT A ROOM. CONFIRMING YOUR BOOKING WILL MAKE NO DIFFERENCE WHATSOEVER. THIS HAS BEEN MENTIONED IN THE OTHER 1 OR 2 STAR REVIEWS. WE WITNESSED IT 3 TIMES IN 3 DAYS. IT LIKELY HAPPENS MUCH MORE THAN THE REVIEWS SUGGEST.

A PESSIMIST MAY SUGGEST ITS A SCAM TO GIVE BUSINESS TO THE FRIENDS HOUSE. AN OPTIMIST MAY CONCLUDE THE HOTEL OWNERS ARE JUST PLAIN INCOMPETENT AND DISINTERESTED.

DON'T HESITATE, GO ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheUK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baffoamico, Proprietario at Ca' Riccio, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Mr. Stefan Karanec kind, we are very sorry for your bad review.

you had canceled the reservation and rebooked.
176504773 2012-01-29 11:20:15 STEFAN KARANEC
KARANEC, STEFAN mercoledì, 12 Settembre 2012 sabato, 15 Settembre 2012 Cancelled € 370


for this reason that evening Marco, who is expected to go home.
We were having dinner and my husband Giamapolo, he is dressed just to go out and come to the door.
He apologized, but he does not know English and may not have understood.
However, we apologize again for the inconvenience you have had.
unfortunately happen of mistakes in our work, as in any other.
I do not understand your complaints regarding the breakfast, because we all usually do compliments on this.
our staff and nice and friendly, but does not invade the privacy of the client and responds only if it is
asked
Unfortunately we have no way to remedy personally since I do not intend to return to Ca'Riccio a next time.
a thousand excuses yet
Lidia Lorenzato in Riccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

The room is nicely decorated that makes you feel at home. The staffs are friendly and serves us juice when arrived on a hot day. Their breakfast was the best of the three places we stayed in Italy, such as cooked scramble eggs, ham, bacons, cheese, toasts, coffee, tea, juice, dessert, yoghurt, cereals, freash fruits and dessert. The location is close to the Rialto area and handy to ferry station. The price is reasonably cheap too, with daily room clean and private bathroom. The only downside is that they don't have an elevator, where they situated on the 3rd or 4th floor. I would recommend this place to anyone who's going to Venice :)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked an apartment through their website for 115 euros (breakfast included), and it turned out to be the hotel's honeymoon suite. It was absolutely perfect: a lovely room under the classic Venitian rafters with an excellent bed, a sitting area with couches, and a luxury bathroom with a jacuzzi.
We were afraid there was some kind of mistake at that price point, but nope. Staff was helpful and even walked out to a nearby square to meet us when we got lost looking for the place on our first day. Although it's a little tricky to find on your first day in Venice, the location makes it nice and quiet -- removed from the crowds but still just a 20 minute walk to St. Marks. We can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drobnost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the apartment Rachelle so have no information on the B&B but the apartment was very nice, just down a short side street from the water and vaporetto stop Fondamente Nove which made getting around everywhere by water bus an easy and excellent value. There was easy access to restaurants and supermarkets in walking distance (one at the far end of Fondamente Nove, just past Ospidale which is the hospital stop, makes medical access an easy walk if need be) The apartment has all that a one bedroom would have with a gas stove, nice bathroom and comfortable bed in the bedroom. The living room sofa is a double convertible but that mattress needs to be replaced so plan on putting the lightest guests on it. We were left on our own to enjoy the city and I never needed to contact the B&B but they are an easy walk from the apartment. Venice is amazing but there are indeed many mosquitos so do not leave your windows open as screens are not in evidence anywhere in Venice. We were all females travelling and always felt safe in Venice and the building and apartment were secure, the apartment is on the first floor and an easy walk up. Be assured this apartment is a great find, enjoy Venice, we loved it!

Room Tip: In any situation we would opt for the separate apartment or vacation rental, more privacy and more a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We didn't realize that ca riccio had a hotel too, because we booked their apartment! It was relatively cheap, I think 360 euros for 2 nights for 2-bedroom apartment with small kitchen and a/c. We echo that it was easy to meet the staff, easy to find with directions given by the hotel, five to ten minute walk from fondamente nouve vaporetto stop. Note: if you are staying in an apartment, just ask them the address of the apartment because we walked to ca riccio's office and then ended up walking back toward where we came from for like 5 minutes. I say this because if you are a group or if you are traveling with older people, they can wait at the apartment entrance while one person goes to retrieve the keys and concierge.

The air conditioning unit is in the main hallway, so if you leave it on during the day and close the shutters during the day while you are out it is quite comfortable for sleeping.

Close walking distance to most attractions in venice. I liked that it was in a less touristy part of town, that way we got breakfast at the local bakeries (breakfast EXcluded in the apartment).

In the apartment, other than same day cleaning it is like a hotel in the there are soaps, linens, hair dryer, etc.

The reasons we didn't rank it as excellent: when we arrived around 4pm, matthia gave us an extremely cursory overview of the apartment. He didn't even know that the was a/c in the apartment and had to contact someone else to know how to turn it on. We ended up fine thanks to our incessant questions. Also, we felt it a bit pricey, but again, this is the problem with Venice in general.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granadindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights recently during our trip to Europe. The hotel is in a great location not far from the Rialto stop on the vaporetto and walking distance from all of the main sites in Venice (we only took the vaporetto once because it was easier, cheaper, and more interesting to walk everywhere). The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was relatively hearty (meat, cheese, eggs, juice, tea, coffee, bread, yogurt, fruit, cereal) in a charming breakfast room. The bedroom itself was small, with about a foot and a half on each side of the bed. We only brought one medium suitcase and one carry-on bag total and found it difficult to find space to open our luggage! The bed was not very comfortable, but it was okay. The room was quiet, as it was overlooking a inner courtyard rather than canals or streets. Our TV didn't work, but the WiFi was reliable. The safe in our room was broken (actually, there were two that were both broken), and the hotel didn't do anything to help with that. The shower had good water pressure. All in all, for the cost and location, this is a good deal if you are just looking for a place to sleep at the end of the day in Venice.

Room Tip: Room #3 was quiet but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuparosa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

9.5/10. The only thing lacking was a lift, and after walking all day my elderly parents were challenged by the stairs. Still an amazing value and location. 15-20 minutes from the sites and a perfect retreat in the Cannaregio burrow away from the stream of cruise ship crowds. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the value of a quite afternoon nap in Venice is not to be overlooked. The rooms are small but nice and the price seals the deal. When we go back I will be booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Plan to get lost in the neighborhoods it will happen. It will probably be one of the better meals an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkgsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#62 of 476 in Venice
186 reviews
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#123 of 476 in Venice
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 476 in Venice
990 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#145 of 476 in Venice
145 reviews
Castello
Dimora Dogale
Dimora Dogale
#148 of 476 in Venice
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Riccio

Address: Cannaregio, 5394/A | Rio Terà Dei Biri O Del Parsemolo, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $85 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Riccio 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'Riccio is situated in the heart of Venice, 5 minute walk to the Rialto bridge and its markets, the palce Ca D'Oro facing the Grand Canal and the splendid Basillca dei SS.Giovanni e Paolo and a small distance you will come to St Marks Square. The Cannaregio area reveals other hidden treasures of Vencie, like churches, theatres, and musems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ca' Riccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Riccio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing