We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life on the Lido after Death in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lido

Lido
Book In Advance
More Info
$666.15*
and up
Private Tour: Churches and Cloisters of Venice
Ranked #39 of 612 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Life on the Lido after Death in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I first visited the Lido in February 1982 as a student engrossed in the magic of the Visconti / Dirk Bogarde film ' Death in Venice '. This Cannes 25 th anniversary Golden Palm prize winning costume drama makes Downton Abbey look dull and dowdy by comparison. The photography and costumes are breathtaking the acting excellent and the storyline original and unusual. The Hotel des Baines and Lido are central to the films action. I have visited the Lido many times since and lunched and had lovely ice cool drinks at the Hotel des Baines but never stayed the night - iI have also had long informative chats with successive managers about Venice attractions (one excellent one pointed out to me was Ca Rezzonica - Academy Vaporetti)). My only criticism is that some of the lovely old sky blue bathing huts have been replaced by pre-fab modern ones. The Lido is a must for Venice lovers and the film Death in Venice is also a must for the same people it is widely available on DVD from all film websites.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank justin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    552
    195
    51
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“small town feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

You know how you hear that you either love or loathe Venice? Well, we fell in love with it. Love. Love. Love. We did stay in Venice, right in the heart of- but took a boat to see what Lido was all about. Needless to say, we spent the whole day there. We have already made reservations to stay on Lido in the spring. Lido is an island, and has an exotic small town feel. There are little streets lined with gelaterias, restaurants, shops, bike rentals. We rent bikes and ride all over the island. There is a beautiful beach to relax on. You can chill out on the sand or rent a little cabana. Take a swim in the Adriatic Sea! And the taxi boat is a short ride over to Venice. I should mention that we travel with our children (a teenager and a toddler) so Lido is perfect for us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyCappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Different Way to Spend An Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had already spent a few days in Venice and then after returning from a cruise - had a day to "kill" before taking a train to Paris so decided a beach day was in order.

Easy boat "bus" ride to Lido and then a 10 minute walk to the beach. Great restaurants along the way and a nice diversion....beach was clean and lots of amenities (i.e. showers, food, etc.). Nice afternoon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank izerdiver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take a trip to Lido”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights on Lido, but I wish it was just a day trip! The beach was very nice except you have to pay to sit on it! Coming from Australia where all the beaches belong to people it was a big shock! There is of course a city beach, packed...not sure if it's free, did not go that far! We spent our time sitting on the rocky jetty which was free to sit on.. yey!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alicjam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
250 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This really is a must see and such a contrast to Venice itself. We only spent a few hours here but would definitely come back - we hired a bike for the 3 of us (buggy type bike) - it was awesome if not a little frightening allowing a maverick teenage son to steer!

The beaches were lovely and the bar was very welcoming (esp after the bike trip!!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StacksnTressels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing