We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bike Rental: Lido on Bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lido

Lido
Book In Advance
More Info
$666.15*
and up
Private Tour: Churches and Cloisters of Venice
Ranked #39 of 612 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bike Rental: Lido on Bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lido on Bike is a bike rental company that is located half a block from the Vaporetto stop. The experience to bike on Lido is amazing. Please take half a day or a whole day if you stop to have a picnic and bike all around the island of Lido. It is the best experience of visiting the island. You will not regret.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IchinenLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    552
    195
    51
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lido is just an amazing place to stay. It is very close to the main island, but away from all the tourist noise. A must do is to hire a bicycle and go around in its coastal avenue along the SW to NE direction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lido was very pretty. Venice is super busy with tourists. Getting away to Lido was a nice little break from the hustle and bustle! We rented bikes and rode all over the island. We had a nice quiet time in this pretty little island!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lush lido!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went to the Lido mid september for 7 nights, got to say its a lovely place to base your stay in venice.

its tranquil and serene, with the lagoon on one side and adriatic sea and lovely beach the other side, the weather was so nice 5/7 days mid 70`s we got one thunderstorm and one cloudy sunny day the rest were what i would say were perfect.

we virtually had the beach to ourselves at times, you saw the odd trickle of tourists walking along the shore during the day, i really could not believe there were not more people enjoying the sea and beach, i understand just after the film festival finishes which was around the 14th i think, it quietens right down, we were not bothered as it was like having a private beach to ourselves virtually most of the time.

we used the beach morning/afternoon, then over to the amazing awesome venice by vaparetto for the 15 minute crossing late afternoon till in to the evening.

i think its fabulous to combine the two especially if you have kids or go with your partner

plenty of places to eat on lido, nice resteraunts and for me no more expensive than any city in the uk! venice can be a touch more expensive, the pizza slices are fantastic at various outlets1.50/2.50 euro but really nice, be careful they normally add 3 euro service charge though, make sure as well price of all drinks we got charged 4.50 euro for a glass of fizzy orange which was outragous, that was on our first day in the pizza resteraunt facing right across the street from the vaparetto stop on lido, gelatos galore of course and yummy they are as well you only really need one scoop 1.20 to 1.50 euro.

its so easy to get around as well, the bus and vaparetto to venice mainland, murano etc on lido are to the minute on time.

the walk along the lagoon on a nice day is truly lovely.

the main street, santa elisabetta, has everything you could need, it leads straight to the beach about ten mins but it dosnt really seem that long cos its a really nice walk

malamocco is down the island as is alberoni further on, and the bus takes you straight there, all travel passes for vaparetto can be used on the buses in lido also.

honestly go enjoy the lido and venice, combine the two for what i would call the perfect beach/sight seeing holiday.

we still had loads more to see in venice even after seven days, but its so special that we did not ever get bored.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank beefman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tg Mures
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good hotel ... i liked very much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

In 2007 i was in Lido and i was staying in Stokholm Hotel (***). This Hotel is close to the sea and we had a nice room with sea side view. The hotel was clean and friendly.
We had problems with the heating in our room because it was very cold in that period of time (february).
I didn't liked the meal because it wasn't so good, but i am not gourmand and wasn't a big problem for me.

So, i recomand this hotel for location, good conditions and sile and for destiantion (the seaside - is great , large and beautiful).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana_mures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing