We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable hotel in an excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #134 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived very late at night and stayed two nights in the third floor apartment. We followed the directions given to us as to how to get there and no problem. Vaporettos run all night long, so that was reassuring. The gentlemen who greeted us that night, wasn't the most friendly, but was effiecient in getting us to our room when we were tired. The apartment was very unique. It would be great for a longer stay as it included a kitchen and a small dining room. There were 3 bedrooms and one bathroom, which worked perfectly for us (2 couples). And the price was great! The rooms have antique furniture, bare floors, and high ceilings and is VERY CLEAN. No TVs in the apartment, but we were only in the apartment to sleep, so that didn't bother us. It would be nice to have WiFi available in the rooms, although it is available in the lobby with comfortable seating (I knew this ahead of time). The bathroom has a shower stall, sink, bidet, and toilet. Each bedroom has comfortable beds (not too firm, and not soft) and was spacious with a window allowing for a view of the Grand Canal. In the morning, the produce market is held on the square in front of the hotel, but wasn't noisy in our rooms at all.

The hotel is centrally located in Venice. I like that it wasn't right on a busy square, so that it was quiet. The gentlemen working the desk in the daytime was very friendly and helpful, and answered all of my e-mails.

I would definitely stay here again. Must reserve way ahead, however!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    202
    52
    22
    2
See reviews for
193
219
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The building was first build in 1300 so it is not a modern hotel by any means. Our room was very large, recently renovated, and very pleasant. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and make us comfortable. As I mentioned , the building is very old. There are no lifts(elevators), with lots of steep stairs. This is not a place for people with mobility issues.

The lobby in is on the first floor, but keep in mind that the ground floor is 0 in Italy. So at check in you will have to climb at least one flight of stairs. The entrance is off a narrow alley and is not portentous with a small sign marking it. The morning fish markets create much odor and the surrounding area is pretty noisy up until about 1 am. If you are looking for quiet, lots of amenities, this may not be for you. But if you like experiencing the environment and culture this is a great place with many antiques, smells, sounds, etc. The WiFi was good but could only be accessed on the lobby floor and possibly the hallways. Not in your room.

The hotel is very close to the waterbus which makes it convenient coming an going as there are not vehicles or taxis except water ones. The byways are narrow and crowded by mid day. Lots of shops and cafes.

I suggest you read up well on Venice. It us not a modern city or even a recreated one. It is what it is. I liked it and would return.

Room Tip: Request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Best thing about this place is its location. One of the staff members was also very gracious in helping us figure out which bus to take to the airport. Our room did not have a TV which I thought was mandatory. Also the "free wi-fi" is only in the lobby of the hotel. (Our room was several floors up). This was especially frustrating when our flight was cancelled and we had to run back and forth between the wi-fi access and telephone in our room. The rooms are large but dark and cave-like. Overall, the hotel was very, very basic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great hotel in an excellent location, (close to the Rialto Bridge) very reasonably priced. Roberto was a helpful and friendly host. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts, especially the coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - great hosts in Roberto & Pietro great restaurant recommendations and bookings great location as others have noted - stayed in rooms 23/24 on the top floor which were 2 great ajoining rooms behind a joint locable door - definately a keeper!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly-1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The facility charms you; the personnel treat gently treat you with familial care. The rooms are small but lovely--1 block from the Rialto bridge, near vege market. Great breakfast is included. Rick Steve stays there, and I seewhy!

Room Tip: reserve well in advance rooms fill quiickly here and throughout Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room had a view of the Grand Canal through an archway. The room was very large with two day beds. Roberto was a wonderful host and source of information. We would definitely return. Breakfast was included in the price. It was simple, but sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mafischl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#95 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#54 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Property: Pensione Guerrato
Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#83 Family Hotel in Venice
#114 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing